Skin Deep (Warning: I'm out of Selfie Control) in Current Events

  • Sept. 3, 2019, 1:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think that I am about to break a world record for the most amount of selfies in one Prosebox entry

I have a fantasy about me becoming a writer. I have a lot of great stories that I want to tell. I have a lot of things that I want to say. In my mind writing was going to be my side hustle. The rest of my fantasies require me to be in front of a lens. Once upon a time, there was a young queen named Tom. He applied to a modelling agency because everybody told him that he should. The agency wanted him to do acting gigs and they offered to pay for a couple of lessons because they were excited about his look. He got crazy insecure about his long painful battle with cystic acne and so he turned down that offer. He convinced himself that he would fix his face first. They didn’t bring it up at the go-see, his skin, but he was so sure that they would have had a conversation about it if he was to get hired by the agency. That was a conversation that he didn’t want to have. He was somewhat, in denial. He used makeup to cover it up and that was like a face mask for him. He didn’t want the world to see the real him.

The modelling gig is not at all what people think it is anyway. I would have just accumulated debt all over the world. Honestly, I probably would have been hired for plenty of gigs because of the brand that the agency wanted to give me. “First nations models are in high demand but your people are usually… well you know.” However, the acting could have been fun. I still have that fantasy in the back of my mind somewhere. I won my battle against cystic acne since then but it won the war. I’m left with a lot of acne scars. A lot of first nations men, especially in my family, have horrible horrible acne scars and mine are not at that level, thank god. I assume it is because they never quit dairy as I have. The scarring is still bad though. Up until the end of 2018, I was getting Pixelated Laser Treatments and Impulse Laser Treatments to help with the scarring. I’ve told this story on here a million times but I heard about another procedure called Subcision in which they use a needle to scrape under the skin to break up the scar tissue. I went and had a consultation for that procedure and the woman I spoke with destroyed my self-esteem to absolute filth.

She basically said that my expectations are the problem, I will never get rid of these scars. Treatments only help reduce their appearance and the best treatments are not available to me because of my ethnicity, I could end up with the wrong pigmentation. Man, I am still trying to recover that blow. I stopped getting the Pixel and IPL because the situation is just hopeless, apparently. I since then bought a Dermaroll and a PMD kit just to feel like I am doing something about it. Between the treatments and products that I have purchased, I do have some pretty decent results. When the lighting is good, there are some scars that I can’t even see but I live in some pretty bad lighting. Opening up the camera on my phone is the absolute worse. The angle and lighting are just… I cringe every single time. I don’t look at mirrors, I never look at photos that my friends take with me. All the photos I post of me are, of course, photoshopped to filth. I don’t want to call this an obsession but I am constantly studying the quality of people’s skin. When I watch TV & movies my self-esteem always loses some HP. I’m like “wow, I’m so jealous. Look at the texture of their skin. I could never be in that lighting. I should wear a paper bag. It’s not fair that people can just walk around and not have to think about how awful their face is to look at.” All the while I am aware of how beauty standards are set impossibly high and that we all have insecurities.

I feel like I am living with a deformity. I can’t be intimate with somebody because I can’t stomach the thought of somebody touching my face. Meeting people who only see me online is another nightmare, I can’t help but be aware that I look nothing like my photos. I’m always conscious of it. Always. When people stare at me in public, I assume that they are starring at my scars. Maybe they are, maybe they aren’t. It’s so awful that I am so concerned about my appearance but I can’t help it. I’ve put so many dreams on hold because of a lame belief that I will be good enough one day. A belief that was crushed by that woman who told me that my expectations are the problem. She’s absolutely right but I don’t know how to accept that. A couple of years ago I had a dream about becoming an “influencer”. I wanted to start a YouTube channel, grow my Instagram etc. I wanted to document my hair growth journey, my minoxidil journey, my skin journey, my fitness journey, my self-help journey etc… blah. I just don’t have the self-esteem for looking at myself but I feel that I could, I dunno, inspire people who look like me, think like me, who can relate to me etc. I don’t know anybody out there like me. I wish that I could just throw caution to the wind and just do it. I suppose that I am the story that I want to tell? I really am self-centred and conceded I guess. I suppose that this entry got away from me a bit. I started to talk about my dream to write stories to… this sad topic.

I’ve been pretty vulnerable in the last few entries I feel. So while I’m at it, I’ll share an obscene amount of selfies. My “image journery”?? I don’t know what to call this series of unfortunate events.
.
.
.
.
Here Goes

Here I am inventing the selfie in 2004. I was 17-21 and these were my selfies from my Myspace days. I hooked my webcam up to my bathroom mirror and I used my foot to use my laptop as a pedal to snap the shot. Then I used Microsoft Paint to edit them lol
alt text

Here I am in my early to mid twenties “modelling” and making people want to buy shit and stuff… just kidding. My friend was learning how to be a photographer and makeup artist and we occasionally took headshots and played around with my wardrobe.

alt text

Smartphones changed the game. Here I am in my mid to late twenties. I played around once in a while and I had some fun with taking selfies. Everybody was doing it. Some editing apps were available so I got a little less afraid of the camera.

alt text

When I turned 30 I decided to reinvent my image. I wanted to become “more masculine” and now I don’t know how to break out of it. It’s so toxic. I also attempted to grow my Instagram but nobody liked anything that wasn’t a selfie. Not my paintings, photography, poetry or recipes lol. I became another social media-obsessed millennial and that became crazy toxic for me. I’ve never hated myself so much in my life. I removed all of my content & I deactivated everything on October 4th 2018 and broke free. I want to return one day when it is safe to do so. I have a minimal presence on Instagram and Snapchat now. Baby steps lol. Some of these actually never made it to social media and are actually only a few weeks old. Sometimes I just want to feel my oats.

alt text

I know that I look like I am obsessed with myself when I clump 15 years worth of these pictures together. Editing these images was super not healthy. Making myself look unreal, I can’t even look in a mirror. I have to have a few drinks to even sit through editing them. I have been struggling with my image and identity for decades now.

I saw a RuPaul quote yesterday that really spoke to me. When the going gets tough, the tough reinvent themselves. When I asked my friend Jen to teach me how to dye my hair using salon dye, I also asked her for advice about cutting my hair again. She asked if I was ready and my answer was no. I just feel pressured a bit. I am pressuring myself, I feel like a makeover could help me shed my skin so to speak. Let go of the last 5 months of unemployment. Help me get over the job loss from a job that I had for 13 years. A job that defined me for 13 years. It took up so much space in my life and now it’s all gone. I used to always say that if you can’t put your best foot forward put on your best shoe. I think that a little makeover will give me the little kick in my step that I need to help me embrace this next chapter in my life. The chapter I haven’t even started to write because I am so crippled with fear. My life is so small right now and I want to make it so very big. I’m holding myself back. I’m turning into a broken record in these last few weeks but I can’t… stop.

I think I need to find something better to do right now that whine on Prosebox.
ta


Last updated September 03, 2019


woman in the moon September 03, 2019

I just came from an ultra defensive fat woman thread on twitter. I did not comment. Only time I was ever blocked on any media thing was by another fat women who I was just trying to help. So anyway. You look fine to me. I would not be able to show those kind of photos of myself. Oh well. Get a haircut.. say did Ivanka really cut her hair?

TL woman in the moon ⋅ September 03, 2019

Omg t! I want to know what happened on twitter now. I’ve recently started to watch people duke that topic out on YouTube

Whiskie September 04, 2019

Love all the different looks! Filter or no filter- it's all you looking great, how do you get those abs and how long did it take?

TL Whiskie ⋅ September 04, 2019 (edited September 04, 2019)

Edited

That is actually a loaded question. Abs are... I'm not even qualified to explain lol.
First of all, next time that you see an image of a man with perfect abs look at their posture. They are flexing them as hard as they can for that photo. Their hips are jetted forward, they're pushing their shoulders down and forward and you can that they're a little hunched because they are crunching their stomach so hard for that photo. There are tutorials on how to do that online lol
Second of all... it's about 80% diet. Body fat has to be crazy low, which is my natural setting. I'm not bragging, I wouldn't survive a famine. When it comes to the workout, there are so many different routes and there are so many muscles to workout. V-Shred and Athlean X on YouTube can break it all down for you. I've been working mine out for... a decade with next to no results. Then I learned that I have been overworking them, also I was not performing my exercises properly.
Third of all, my results in those photos are... barely up to par. I am flexing so hard it hurts and I lucked out with the lighting. My results have been coming in faster and faster since I improved the quality of the workout and reduced it to only 3 ab sessions a week. I have not taken any photos of those results as of yet. It's been 3 weeks?
Fourth of all... you should totes talk to a fitness trainer. A proper one. One that isn't trying to sell you anything. Social media influencers are... something else. The men all want the shredded phyique with the cut abs and the woman all want the thick booty. What nobody is telling you is that they are in a caloric deficit and taking suppliments that prevent their bodies from metabolizing muscle and there are some pretty unsettling side effects to having those physiques. From women not getting their periods, men not having a labido and how easy it is to develop an eating disorder as these people have to constantly count calories. Celebrities slip into these physiques with the help of steroids and personal trainers but they always stop after their movie roles. It's an obscene amount of work. Their bodies, gorgeous as they are, aren't exactly... "natural".
Fifth of all... I probably got a lot of information wrong and I would be shot by anybody in the fitness industry lol

I forgot to mention genetics. Some people can just produce muscles and have low body fat naturally and not have to put in a lot of work. Age could play a role there too.

Whiskie TL ⋅ September 05, 2019

I have noticed if I flex I can see mine, but if I don't, it's flabby...now that you explained it maybe I'm in not such a bad shape after all!

TL Whiskie ⋅ September 06, 2019

I'll never know XD

Swanny September 04, 2019

Changing chapters in your book is painful and scary but often so necessary. Great to see your self awareness on embracing the need even though its complicated. Go with the flow, everything has a funny way of working out.

Also, your photos are breathtaking. So lovely to see your evolution and personal growth. There's a maturity to your masculine photos.

TL Swanny ⋅ September 04, 2019

I feel like I am pretty mature in a "more woke than most men" kind of way... until I laugh when somebody says wiener.

KissOfLife! September 10, 2019

Bravo for being brave and sharing these, edited with Microsoft paint or not. I could barely get the paintbrush to work on that program so you're damn impressive editing a whole album or three 😆
You went from emo-twink to hot-jock to masc-dom-top. God-damn labels and stereotypes, they're all you, gurrlfriend!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.