probably gonna be a long entry in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Aug. 30, 2019, 2:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

and its probably more for myself than anything else.

Not sure how I feel about this week. Cue word vomit through fingertips:

On Tuesday morning my never-present boss invited one of my coworkers out for breakfast. We’ll call him K. K is the coworker who just kind of come and goes as he wants, worked for the company previously before but got fired (and then rehired). Anywho, bossman invited K out for breakfast and told him that he had 2 weeks to find another job because he was letting him go. NONE of us saw it coming. As far as we knew, he was pretty buddy/buddy with Bossman, which is why he got away with coming and going whenever he pleased. Bossman played it off as “his mother’s decision” (his mom is the CEO) and he was merely doing the dirty work. He said it was NOT based off performance. Whatevs.

Y’all already know how I’ve been feeling about my job recently so no need to repeat that for the 2843573947538th time. But when K came back from breakfast and broke the news to me and my 2 other coworkers, the already-low morale got even lower. Turns out they had already hired someone to take his position, but none of us were privy to that info. The new person will be working in Albuquerque, which is where we’re headquartered. Our Washington office is just a satellite office for the accounting department only. This is the first time an accounting position will be working in the Albuquerque office and not in the Washington office. So now me and my two other coworkers are slightly paranoid that they are going to slowly transition the accounting department to the Albuquerque office.

My other coworker (we’ll call him M) is flying down to Albuquerque next week to train the new guy. I’m thanking my lucky stars its not me. M is more than well aware that me and my other remaining coworker (we’ll call her A) are not happy with the way things have been going lately, how we feel like management is a shithole and we deserve more than our shitty COLA bumps ($0.69/hr) and feel we deserve a legit raise base off performance and how we’re pretty much the only ones holding the company together anymore because all of the family members currently making 6 figure salaries don’t do shit and arent aware of anything because the only time they lift a finger is when they are buying exorbitant personal purchases on company credit cards (which we see because we are the accounting department). M is accurately aware that A and my hearts aren’t really into this company any more and that if he wants us to stay something needs to change. M is pretty loyal to the company and if he wants to continue to work here, he needs me and A and right now both of us have one foot out the door.

M said that while he is in Albuquerque training the new guy, he plans to have a “come to jesus” talk with our CEO (Bossman’s mom) and her right-hand vice president. Based off how well (or not well) that goes next week, I’ll make some decisions about how i feel about next steps.

Anyway, only have 4.5 hours to go until the 3 day weekend. This week has exhausted me.


Last updated August 30, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.