Cersei Lannister in Current Events

  • Aug. 29, 2019, 7:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My brother in law comes home today. That usually generates some self-induced anxiety about my life. I don’t know what it is about him that makes me feel so pressed about my situation. I need that pressure though. I got a lot of great advice from my little Prosebox community and I feel ready to get my life started. Thank you guys so much!

Danielle called me just over a week ago. She was fired. We used to work together, she and I were really close. We talked about everything together, she was totally on my level. Not in a condescending way, she and I just process everything the same annoying ways. She is like a little sister to me. She is the sweetest, kindest and most hardworking employee in the herstory of herstory and they fired her? I knew that they would. She was loyal to me. They set her up to fail and then fired her for failing. Classic Karamjeet. Erin called me on Sunday and she had a lot of questions for me about severance, they just fired her too. Karamjeet got her to do something that was against policy, denied any involvement and then had her terminated. Hetal is in India right now, a newlywed and Karamjeet approved Hetal’s first-ever holiday so that she could get married… then at the last second, she denied that time off and forced Hetal to resign. She told Hetal to reapply when she returns but Hetal knows that Karam turned around and told everybody that he will not be hiring Hetal. I told Hetal to grab her food handlers from the office wall on her last day. Karamjeet had ripped it up the day before. Hetal also noticed that Karamjeet went through all of Hetal’s farewell gifts that day also. I have to make a phone call later, a daycare centre in Ontario called me for a reference on Mandeep. Karamjeet didn’t fire Mandeep, she was a little afraid of Mandeep because Mandeep knows all about Karamjeet’s indiscretions and she didn’t want any of that information to get to her husband. Karamjeet had an affair with Mandeeps nephew, who was barely legal. So anyway, Karam scheduled Mandeep outside of her availability and told her to resign if she could not fulfill her duties. Mandeep was moving to Toronto anyway so she resigned. Jess is the last one standing who knew me. I just spoke with her yesterday, she said that she feels like she is being set up to fail. She knows that she is the next to go and she just wants to leave with that severance. She’s just a sitting duck.

Had I known that Karamjeet was the Cersei Lannister of general managers I would not have invited her to come work with my team. Her store burned down, she reached out to me about hiring her staff and I didn’t want to take any refugees but I invited her to come work with me so that she didn’t have to collect Employment Insurance. It was actually a lot of work and drama to get her to transfer to my store but we made it happen. She spent the whole time saying that she just wanted to help me and mentor me to make the store a better business. She outranked me so that was our arrangement. Mandeep called me when she heard that I hired Karamjeet to tell me that I made a mistake. That Karam will stab me in the back. Mandeep was on medical leave at the time. Hetal told me that she overheard Karamjeet speaking in Punjabi to the other woman that I hired from their store about her plans to take over my store and hire all of her staff. She wanted my salary and consolidated power over everything. I ignored both of them because she was so nice to me. I felt like I was making a friend. Her ways of running a business, however, were nefarious and I did not stand for it. We argued about it all the time and then when I got sick and missed a week of work, she took that time to conspire with my bosses to get me fired. When I came back she told me that she heard about what I did to Larry. I was like, “to Larry? Did they tell you what he was doing TO his employees?” and she was like “so! There is nothing wrong with that. As long as they’re of age. You stabbed your manager in the back. That’s not right.” That’s when I knew that they were all ready to finally fire me for it. I saw all the signs. I waited for it. Deep down I wanted it. I have a million entries saying that I want to get fired. However, when that day came I did not see it coming. We got into an argument one day, we both raised our voices at each other and she stormed out. We made up after that argument. However, every time that I told her that they wanted to fire me, she said “I won’t let that happen! Whenever we talk about you I talk you up.” She wouldn’t even look me in the eye when we all sat down to talk about how much of a monster I am for raising my voice at Karamjeet that one day. I was barely out of the room when I heard them offering her my salary. Hetal told me that right after I left, she had a schedule ready and posted it. It had all of her staff from her store on it. She campaigned immediately and told all of the staff that firing me was the best idea for the store because I was abusive to staff. They didn’t believe her for a second, I was the Jon Snow of managers. She could not get any support so she slowly replaced everybody. Erin told me that Karam finally has an all East Indian cast. Karam told me that she didn’t like hiring white people, they’re awful employees. She preferred Indians because they are so desperate for work that they will worship the ground you walk on. Mandeep told me that Karamjeet does that because they will lie for her and protect her because she punishes everybody who objects to anything she does. She fired Varinder from her last store because Varinder caught her stealing money. She framed Varinder for stealing food and fired her before it could be reported. Varinder is a sweet old Indian lady who wouldn’t hurt a fly or do anything that would compromise her job. So did she steal? I doubt it. I miss Varinder so much.

I know that I keep bringing this all up, it’s just hard to get over it because I didn’t think that this would have affected all of my work friends this way. At the end of the day, I am happy that everybody is finally out of there. That job sucks. In five years if I make all of my dreams come true, Karamjeet will still be there. She can stay there in that hell hole. The other predatory managers will still be diddling their staff but whatever. I don’t care anymore… not true, I do care. I still want to bring it up to the news. There is no protection from them. These managers don’t have to answer to anybody.

Anyways, my brother in law is home now. I had a panic attack last night so I slept in crazy late. It’s like, 1:30 pm and it feels like 10 am for me. I lost so much of my day… and I just drank a huge chunk of scoby again… omg I’m going to be in for a fun ride. It’s been four months of unemployment, I can go about another four if I wanted but… no thank you. I just helped Danielle prepare for a job interview that she has today. Mandeep will get a bomb reference. I helped Erin with her resume and Hetal… does not need my help. She got her license to be a pharmacist so that is the job she will pursue when she comes back to Canada. I keep offering to help Jess with her resume and she just… ignores me unless I talk about RuPaul’s drag race. I know that I can get another shitty job and I was so confident about my resume because I was prepared to just get another crappy job but now my mind wants to try something more elevated. I’m not that confident about my resume now lol. Ugh… I should just log out of Prosebox and come back when I got myself together. All my entries are the same.


Last updated August 29, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.