You had an interesting day and a really interesting life, you're lucky. About your needs and desires with your wife, have you sat down and discussed with your wife about how you would like her to reciprocate the needs, the desires and the wants that you have as well? I mean, yes, she's going through a tough time but she's in a marriage, and in a marriage, when the wife is having a tough time and needs support, the husband is there for her, but then the same goes with the husband, when the husband needs support, the wife should be there for him.

Not to get too deep here, but this is how cheating and/or divorces start. It starts when one person in a marriage isn't getting their needs and/or desires met by their spouse, so that one person goes out there and cheats, to fulfil what she's/he's not getting at home and then later comes divorce.

So my suggestion? Find some time when you and her are settled in for the day and talk to her, saying, "hey, I know you're having a tough time, going back to school and all and I'm here for you, as your husband - whenever, where ever, but I need you to be that way for me too because there are a lot of needs and desires that I have, that I feel are being overlooked.

And if she's your loving wife, she'll rationally understand what you're saying and where you're coming from and then both she and you can come up with ideas as to how both of your needs, wants and desires can be met within your marriage.

Also, you should let her know that when she wants you to "check-in" but "not stick around", that's causing you a bit of despair because that means that you don't hardly get to see her. She needs to know this because you are right, her wanting you to check in but not stick around, that doesn't sound healthy within a marriage. That's a surefire way to have a marriage to go downhill.

I know because I've seen many marriages end in divorce because of needs and desires not being met, and because of husbands and/or wives not seeing each other - so as a result, they feel like they're not even married and then - as I stated before - cheating comes in, and then divorce....So, that's just my two cents.