Doesn't hurt to try (With an Update) in 2019 Amazing Stories!

Revised: 08/26/2019 9:03 p.m.

  • Aug. 26, 2019, 6:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I’m getting kind of annoyed/angry with myself that I couldn’t advocate for myself while I was at the doctor’s and ask for a prescription for an antidepressant. Someone on here actually had a great suggestion and asked if my doctor’s office has a patient portal that I can communicate with my doctor through, and maybe ask for a prescription through that without having to go back in. It took me about a week to conjure up the courage to even do that, but I finally sent a message this morning. I should hear back one way or the other within 2 business days. Best case scenario is that she sees I was literally in her office within the past two weeks, looks at my anxiety/depression questionnaires and says to herself “that might not be a bad idea, no need for her to make another appointment, let me write her that prescription.” Now, the likelihood of that actually happening? Who knows. But I’ll know within 2 business days.

I had a good 3 day weekend even though the backpacking trip to British Columbia got cancelled. Friday and Saturday I did some nearby-ish day hikes. One was 8 miles, the other was 11 miles. Both had an elevation gain of over 3,000 feet. Sunday I played softball. Its the same organization that ran the two-hand touch football league. So I already knew who half the people on my softball team were, which was super awesome. I got a fat lip though because a ball was thrown right at me, and I just didn’t catch it. Gah. No one thinks to wear a mouthguard for softball because people generally catch balls thrown right at them hahhaha. luckily my brain woke up right after that.

I need to be careful with the hiking thing though. I used to run long distances (half marathons and even a few full marathons) because it initially made me super happy and gave me goals to strive for. But I ended up doing them too much/too often that they eventually were no longer fun, and I even skipped a few that I had signed up for (paid for!) because the interest was just no longer there. On my hike Saturday, it took me quite awhile to convince my brain that I wanted to be hiking. I almost turned around more than a few times within the first 10 minutes of the hike. I kept telling myself “no one would even know that you didn’t go on the hike you drove 1.5 for only to turn right back around” but I also reminded myself that I need to enjoy every nice weather summer day that we have before its gone. Ultimately, I made it to the top:

68903143_10162315102895637_5490955073338998784_n<script async="" charset="utf-8" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js"></script>

McClellan Butte

68755802_10162315103110637_2404909767085522944_n<script async="" charset="utf-8" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js"></script>

I made it up some of the way on the rock scramble at the top, but I realized if I went any higher I might not be able to find my way/footing back down

69237140_10162315103260637_5187834668342312960_n<script async="" charset="utf-8" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js"></script>

I realllllllllllllyyyyyy want to do Camp Muir next. Its the highest point on Mount Rainier you can get to without needing a climber’s permit. It sits at over 10,000 ft and the elevation gain of the actual hike up is over 5,000 ft. I’ve bought microspikes and poles for the occasion because there will be snow. This week we are supposed to have super sunny 80 & 90 degree days, but those days go away once the weekend arrives and then it is supposed to be cloudy and rainy. An 80/90 degree day at ground level would make for PERFECT hiking temps that high up. I would have tried to tackle it this weekend but the forecast was saying overcast and i read too many trip reports where people got lost in clouds until the skies cleared. It was off and on overcast this week, so I don’t regret my day hikes.

I even thought about telling work that I needed today off due to “arriving back late last night from the BC backpacking trip and needing a day to sleep/laundry/recover” and trying to hike it today (weather is AMAZING today), but I know for a fact my energy levels aren’t where they’d need to be in order to make it a successful attempt.

So I’m back at work as I should be. We’ll see what the dr says.

Update
Well I got a response, and it was the one I figured I’d get. It was actually from a different doctor because I guess mine is out until Thursday, and he was covering her inbox. He said I would need to schedule an appointment with her. Damn. Her closest open appointment slot is one month out. I wonder if the answer would have been different if she was the one who read it? Oh well. I’ll tough it out for a little bit because now I’m irrationally irritated that my message wasn’t received/responded by the person I sent it to.


Last updated August 26, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.