4 months unemployed in Current Events

  • Aug. 25, 2019, 8:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is my four-month anniversary of when I was let go from my previous place of employment. I had that job for thirteen years. That job was almost my whole life for thirteen years. I spent a lot of time hating that place but not knowing how to just quit it. Then it finally just quit me. I knew that my neck was going to be on the line when I reported my operations manager for being a predator. He ended up getting a lot of support from operators of other stores that felt that employees are okay to fraternize and have marital affairs with. “So long as they are legal then it’s all good.” If you stand in the way of somebody’s career progression then they are vulnerable. Their behaviour was not okay. They ask their employees for compromising selfies and then show them off to each other. They’ve had an employee pick them up from an event topless once. This behaviour is just not okay so I reported it. What they did was transfer the predator to the other end of the city. Let things cool down and then fired me over a nine-year-old write-up. Since then they had fired everybody that was loyal to me. Literally sat them down and said that they would gladly accept their resignation if they did not like their decision to terminate me. The reason they terminated me was to transfer that predator back to his original area. He’s already inviting his employees over for movie nights where he gets them drunk and then God knows what.

I just got off the phone with Erin, she called to let me know that they just terminated her on Friday. She had some questions about the whole process. I’m upset that she was not treated with any dignity whatsoever. Her employer, my old boss, was giddy and said that he had been waiting for a reason to fire her. Like… gross. Karamjeet has been helping the operators find any reasons that could be “just cause” to terminate anybody that was my friend. It’s been four months now and I’m still not as over it as I could be. I want to move on, I have been waiting for my friends to stop talking about work and I suppose that I will no longer to hear about it. Jess is the last one standing. She will be fired next I’m sure.

The restaurants are not unionized so nobody is able to help. No Human Rights commission, Labour Board or Employment Standards can help in any way. So I suppose that I just feel… like there is an injustice for what is happening. That I lost a battle here and I don’t know how to accept defeat. I need to find a way to move on and let go but it’s just hard. I want them to pay, I want to hurt them back. I just don’t have any ammo.


Last updated August 25, 2019


elaine2 August 25, 2019

Can you write to the president of the company and say that what is happening is very poor for the corporate image and leaves the company open to lawsuits? In this #metoo time, such behaviour does not need to be swept under the carpet. Sounds like they have some pretty disgusting supervisors.

TL elaine2 ⋅ August 25, 2019

I went to topside. This was all swept under the rug. They were scared of the metoo movement and this was all handled so quietly when I blew it up. I reached one news outlet, no reply. I could reach out to more. I don’t have social media right now but I thought about being that guy

Whiskie August 25, 2019

Have you tried a lawyer for unlawful termination? I did that and they did not charge me til after they got $$$ out of it..they said they got me $10k but due to legal expenses they only paid me $1,000. I thought it was a bit unfair but the $1,000 was better than nothing.

TL Whiskie ⋅ August 25, 2019

I have not. I called employment standards and there was nothing wrongful about it

Whiskie TL ⋅ August 26, 2019

The only reason I got money was because I had moved closer to the job on the basis that it was secure and stable and so I was basically compensated for the moving expenses. I wish I got the full $10k tho, lol.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.