P.R.F. Prosebox 8/14/2019 in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • Aug. 14, 2019, 9:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good morning, good afternoon, or good evening; you’re joining us here at P.R.F. Prosebox this entry being put forth on Wednesday, August Fourteenth, Two Thousand Nineteen. I’m still not quite used to this shift. Y’see, our previous Magistrate had court on Wednesday so Wednesday mornings always held that feeling in the air. That feeling of, “Okay, you have stuff to do at certain times. Be prepared.” Now our new Magistrate holds court on Thursdays. And Wednesdays hold nothing. Truthfully, nothing. No court, no hearings, no meetings, no trial prep… nothing. So in my heart, Wednesdays still feel pregnant with expectation of hearings and the like… but then there’s nothing. And considering it is me… I’ve already thoroughly prepped for tomorrow’s hearings. So my calendar is (quite literally) the repeated line “Prepare for August 22” over and over for today. Not that August 22nd is going to be easy mind you but… also, there isn’t a whole lot I can do. Even knowing that the 22nd is going to be busy as hell. Let’s explore why, shall we? Oh… also important to point out… 98% of these CAN NOT go to trial because of budget issues. So I HAVE to try to force pleas even if that is nigh impossible.

Case Reference Number 450: Sexual Crimes Involving Juveniles. Made an offer, haven’t heard back. Almost certainly won’t take the deal.
Case Reference Number 560: Domestic Violence Involving Injury. Defendant has smugly stated the Victim will never testify against him; defendant agrees with Defendant. Trying to determine how dead this case is, then.
Case Reference Number 701: A woman’s windshield was destroyed in an argument and either her daughter or her daughter’s boyfriend did it. Since either could have, our case sucks.
Case Reference Number 581: Teenager illegally giving tattoos. WHY hasn’t this been plead out already?
Case Reference Number 841: Drunk who continues to violate his no contact order.
Case Reference Number 279: Traffic Bullshit, because of course it is
Case Reference Number 801: A woman that destroyed a stranger’s car on a dare(!!)
Case Reference Number 783: A disgruntled boyfriend shouting obscenities and threats at his paramour in the grocery store
Case Reference Number 823: Drug Addict shrieking at her mother threatening to “beat her ass”
Case Reference Number 841: Mentally disturbed individual with a drug problem beat the fuck out of her boyfriend
Case Reference Number 789: Repeat offender on Domestic Violence trashed his girlfriend’s place and was seen hanging out in front of his ex g/f’s house
Case Reference Number 175: Unlawful Driving
Case Reference Number 795: Woman running away from the police during routine traffic stop
Case Reference Number 677: Couple with previously diagnosed mental issues drinking themselves violent until somebody has a sprained arm and is bleeding
Case Reference Number 778: A mom using drugs “didn’t know” where her 1 year old daughter was… because the 1 year old daughter was playing in the street 2 blocks away next to the highway!
Case Reference Number 648: Dude got drunk, punched his wife in the face then strangled her
Case Reference Number 082: Stupid bloody traffic bullshit
Case Reference Number 096: Unlawful driving
Case Reference Number 139: Unlawful driving
Case Reference Number 194: Unlawful driving
Case Reference Number 649: Violent Mentally Ill woman kicking police who were trying to restrain her from engaging in continued violent actions against civilians
Case Reference Number 301: Traffic Ticket Bullshit

ALL

OF

THAT

is scheduled for before noon. THAT WHOLE LIST has to be done by noon on Thursday, August 22nd. And for SEVEN of those cases, if they are not concluded by Noon on Thursday, August 22nd… then they get set for the September Jury Trial list which already has 21 other trials scheduled trying to compete for that ONE trial date. 28 Trials… on a day that can only ever do ONE trial. THIS is why plea deals happen and why they can often be shitty shitty plea deals. Because in some cases? I literally physically CAN’T take it to trial… but if the case isn’t resolved by the YEAR DEADLINE, I have to dismiss the damned thing anyway. And that ladies and gentlemen is how a “Felony Charge of Domestic Violence” can be “plead down to a Simple Assault Conviction.” Because I’ve got a lot of trial work and NO trial dates. So plea deals. I have children that I’d like to protect from getting crucified on the stand. So plea deals. I have victims that are working against me. So plea deals. It would be lovely to say that I could look at a guy that molested kids and confidently say, “You’re going to prison for a long time!” but… that just isn’t the world we have. Literally (because I did this) I basically suggested to a defendant, “Plead guilty to half of what is alleged, we’ll dismiss the other half AND suggest probation.” and the defendant says no. And that causes… issues. Because as a moral person doing the job I was given… I MUST have a bottom line, do not cross, cannot go below. For example… if I have a victim who was hospitalized for a week, I refuse to offer or allow a plea deal that does not expressly state “causing bodily injury”. So I basically say, “Plead to A or B with the injury enhancement” and that’s my bottom line. If the return statement is “I’ll plead to half A with no injury enhancement”… I must say “See you at Court.” But even then? I know “see you at court” is more of a bluff than I’d prefer. Because there are still a ton of ways that “see you at court” means “We’ll continue to negotiate.”

Sooooo.... yeah. Between now and the 22nd, I may slowly build more and more steadily into Panic Mode. And even after the 22nd… when it is known how many of those cases will be going to trial on the 5th… I’ll just likely accelerate more and more into panic mode. SOOO, that could make for some interesting reading.
alt text

That being said, I’m compelled to write of two other things today.

First, let’s go with something more irritating then anything else. In the current world of Video Games, there are some games that require “Internet Access Always On.” This means that if there is any interruption to your internet for any reason; the game will essentially boot you out. For an MMO or game involving On-Line interaction or competition; this makes sense. If you played any FPS On-Line games in the late 1990s, the reasons likely stay with you. For others, I’ll try to explain. In the 1990s, ping was a huge issue. Internet providers weren’t as “video game focused” as some of them can be now and the difference in ping would be the likelihood of lag. Imagine yourself playing a First Person Shooter Game (like Halo or Wolfenstein). Now imagine that you unload your magazine into a player who is right in front of you and not moving. After doing so… the player is still standing. Standing still. Having taken no damage. SHIT, LAG! Then suddenly that same player disappears from in front of you, reappears behind you, and now you’re dead from a backstab instant kill move. THAT is why internet gaming required/requires dedicated sufficient internet service. Because that kind of “cheating” is bullshit even when unintentional.

Now, Mortal Kombat 11 is a game that requires Internet Access Always On. In some ways, this makes total sense. If I am fighting one-on-one with another player half-way around the world, lag can be a significant factor that kills enjoyment for everyone. This makes sense that they would want to make sure your internet was strong and constantly on.

PROBLEM 1: The current Mortal Kombat 11 system doesn’t appropriately solve lag issues. There are still multiple players who lag, which is to be expected, but lag in such a way as to give themselves or their opponents a significant advantage. This sucks but there is little that can be done about it.
PROBLEM 2: Some kombatants on-line have discovered how to “force lag” in such a way as to be advantageous to themselves. They have set up a sneaky DDOS attack against the player/server so that they have the advantage and can rise in Competitive Ranks. This sucks and is something that NetherRealm Studios should absolutely work to fix.
PROBLEM 3: The requirement for internet connectivity extends to the Single Player features and functions as well. That means that, without involving any other players, I can be fighting through a “Tower Challenge” that requires me to beat 8 computer controlled characters in a row… then during the 8th fight, if my internet drops AT ALL FOR ANY REASON, my game ends and I’m sent to the Main Menu with all of my progress being erased. In this way- it would be like paying 50 cents for an arcade game, playing through the game until the last boss, having bullies force you to stop playing the game so that your character died and got a Game Over, and then those bullies leaving you… back at the start of the game. This sucks and is something that NetherRealm Studios should absolutely work to fix.

This comes up because this happened to me A LOT last night. I downloaded Nightwolf to test the new DLC character and… over and over and over and over again, Internet disconnected. We experienced the same thing with our phones. We experienced the same thing with our cable. Now, I know, in a logical world with practical application of customer service… we should just be able to call our Internet Provider and have them figure out why we can’t get a continuous uninterrupted internet signal for more than 2 hours at a time. BUT if you live in the real world, at least in the US anyway, you know it is NEVER like that. Cable Companies have been allowed total and complete monopolies and their customer service reflects that. “Not our problem”, “fix it yourself”, and “oh yeah, it just does that sometimes” are all common responses. So, a bit frustrating.
alt text

Second, let’s go with something that may sound downright schizophrenic.

I’m in that weird place again where I hate myself for what I’m attracted to. Liz Katz, Hendo Art, Alodia Gosiengfiao, Scarlett Rose, Danielle Vedovelli, DJ Soda, Sajalyn, Kloe Kane, Kim Hyun-ah, Ari and MiU, and more. I am a fat, white, small-handed, short, uncoordinated, chronic-pain suffering 35 year old Midwesterner. Being attracted to those kinds of women is impractical, stupid, foolish, and self-destructive. Even aside from the fact that they are Professional CosPlay Models in Los Angeles, Boston, Brazil, or Berlin… or professional musicians from South Korea… or Irish Adult Models… even aside from that! Even if they were local girls working (randomly selected) as a Clerk of Court or Grocery Store Girl… even then, I would be aware that being attracted to those kinds of women is impractical, stupid, foolish, and self-destructive. It isn’t even “They are celebrities, they are hot” or “they are hot enough to be celebrities.” Honest to goodness, the type of woman I’m drawn to IRL makes me kind of hate myself. Because it isn’t someone with thinning, graying hair that is 70 pounds overweight. I’m that. If I’m going to be attracted to women “under 180 pounds”, I should damned well do something about my own appearance!! And that is why the hate. The hate comes in multiple ways.
(1) I hate myself for being attracted to a certain type of woman because I know that would really piss off many of my feminist friends I admire
(2) I hate myself for being attracted to a certain type of woman because I know that physical appearance is no indicator of emotional maturity, mental acuity, or comparability.
(3) I hate myself for being attracted to a certain type of woman because I am reminded of my youth when I would absolutely chicken out from asking a woman out and it makes me upset at Present Me and Past Me.
(4) I hate myself for being attracted to a certain type of woman because while it doesn’t conform 100% to the popular concepts of ideal conventional attractiveness… it is still enough (and close enough) that I hate how basic I really am at heart
(5) I hate myself for being attracted to a certain type of woman because I know that, even if I were single, I am not physically the type that woman would likely be attracted to
I hate myself for being attracted to a certain type of woman because it makes me feel bad about myself and sends me into a slight shame spiral where I question (again and again) if there is any way to lose weight and break the 220 Curse if it really is brought about largely by my medication.

This realization, hatred, and “certain type of woman” does NOT make me unattracted to my wife nor does it make me see my wife differently. I still VERY MUCH like her face, her eyes, her smile, her ears, her hair, her legs, and her height. Now, it is true that her own gut has gotten bigger as has mine. It is true that we do not do enough to combat this. However, to that I would suggest the following: My wife (at least for the last 41 weeks) has not had a job and has been allowed to live almost entirely as she pleases doing whatever she wishes or feels compelled to do. In this time, she has not made any solid attempts at learning to cook or helping me create healthier eating options. Also, while I acknowledge that it is BOTH of our faults that we haven’t been back to the gym in over a month… she is consistently the one that opts not to go for a walk with Nala and/or opts not to come with Nala and I when I walk Nala. So… as to my gut… I am responsible. As to her gut, she is responsible. NOW, what she does not believe sadly… despite the current state of her belly (a small single issue in the grander scheme of her beauty), I still find her very attractive. I would still like to have a relationship that included physical intimacy up to and including sexual relations. This should be obvious, but I wanted it stated because there is always the question “Do you find Wife attractive?” Yes. I found her the peak of beauty when we met and, while I am practical enough to admit that she is not as she once was, I will still say that she is attractive and I absolutely adore her face. If that statement seems… shitty… I suppose, then so be it.
alt text

One last thing. When I discuss a news story or a report, I actually do some research on it before I bring it here. The LAST thing I want to do is spread misinformation or get the fires of rage burning without any legitimate tinder. If a story is unconfirmed by sources I trust to do their due diligence and I still share it, I’ll tell you. I say that because that is what I am doing here. The following has been reported on by TMZ, Salon, RawStroy and multiple other Internet Sources BUT HAS NOT BEEN REPORTED ON BY ANY REPUTABLE JOURNALISTIC NEWS SOURCES at the time of this posting. I would in no way be surprised for this to be in some way “close to the truth, but not the truth”. That being said, this does fit the pattern that we’ve seen from the White House and would not surprise me as being true, either.

“Pursuant to recent reports, the Department of Justice was given a report that showed White Supremacists and White Supremacy Organizations were responsible for *ALL (100%) of race-based domestic terrorism incidents in 2018. The Department of Justice, led by either William Barr or Jeff Sessions, then attempted to HIDE THIS REPORT from Congress during the period when Trump was defunding federal programs to combat white supremacist violence.”

That’s the report. Of it, what do I know is true? Trump’s Administration and Moscow Mitch did indeed defund and/or disband federal programs to combat white supremacist violence. At the time, Trump maintained that ISIS/ISIL and Immigration were more pressing threats that required the funding and that “domestic terrorism” would end by ending Immigration and ISIS. We do know that the FBI, the NSA, and other domestic intelligence firms repeatedly warned this President and his administration about the Rise of White Nationalism in America and the fact that (as stated before Congress several times) “one of the largest threats to the nation’s security is the current spread of White Nationalism.” We do know that Attorney General Jeff Sessions was considered to be so openly racist that the state of Alabama rejected him from a District Court Judgeship. We do know that Trump and the Republicans knew about this overt racism before, during, and after the confirmation of Jeff Sessions as Attorney General. We do know that Trump doggedly pursued Session’s resignation or termination upon Mr. Session’s recusing himself from an investigation as he was legally and ethically required to do so. So let’s wrap that up real fast. Jeff Sessions was so racist that the Alabama State Courts didn’t want him as a judge… Trump and the GOP were totally okay with that level of Racism running the Department of Justice… and yet Trump doggedly pursued Jeff Sessions’ termination because he was too ethical. That is all stuff we KNOW already. As to Mr. Barr? I don’t know about his racial leanings; but it has been obvious to all that he has fundamentally altered the role of Attorney General. Attorney General, as head of the Department of Justice, is supposed to rigidly uphold the laws of the United States in a non-partisan and non-political manner. Mr. Barr has repeatedly and routinely acted as though he were Mr. Trump’s attorney, friend, protector, and lap dog. And none of this even gets into the repeated racist statements, decisions, bullying, and history of Donald Trump himself.

So… unpacking everything… while we cannot yet say that the initial report is 100% true or 100% properly characterized. Here’s what we can say:
The United States Government repeatedly warned the Trump Administration about the rise of White Nationalism in Domestic Terrorism.
The Trump Administration defunded Domestic Terrorism Responses and Task Forces in an attempt to provide more money for attacking Hispanic Immigrants and Muslim Extremists.
The two people in charge of the DOJ were either Trump’s racist buddy or Trump’s legal lap dog.
Donald Trump, at a campaign rally, referred to himself as a Nationalist.
Donald Trump’s father was arrested alongside members of the KKK.
Donald Trump was sued by the City of New York to force him to allow black people into his properties.
Donald Trump made many comments in the 1980s on the record disparaging black people.
Donald Trump started his Presidential Campaign by calling Mexicans “rapists and murderers.”
After a White Nationalist murdered an Anti-KKK protester, Donald Trump said that there were “good people on both sides”; suggesting that White Nationalists do have a home in the United States and one that the President supported.
Donald Trump tweeted the well-known racist dog whistle “Go back to your own countries” and then basked in the adulation of a “Send her back” chant.
After a White Nationalist murdered 22 people and quoted Donald Trump/Fox News Rhetoric in his manifesto, Donald Trump said the issue was with the Liberal Media and Video Games.

So first and foremost, can we end this ridiculously bullshit argument of whether The President is a racist? HE’S A RACIST. Now, in the world we live in, it has been made to be (and this is pathetically true) “worse to be called a racist than to be a racist.” SO… FINE. If you don’t WANT to call him a racist because that word is triggering for you, fine. Trump is a pro-White, pro-Wealth, anti-Minority figure that wishes to see a world where White Wealthy People have all of the power, influence, and safety. Better? Okay. Because I think it is pretty obvious that he and his policies are routinely aimed at creating/preserving a world for White Wealthy People. So if that makes you feel better, fine. The rest of us will use the nice shorthand that was created for a person like that: RACIST.

Second, has the Trump Administration signaled to White Nationalists, either intentionally or accidentally, that White Nationalism is okay with this President and this Administration? YES. Every time Trump doesn’t call it out, he’s signaling his acceptance. If you don’t like that sentence, go back in time and UNsay the exact same thing about Obama. Because Fox News, the GOP, and every “red blooded American” was saying “Every time Obama doesn’t call out Muslim Extremism as terrorism, he’s signaling his acceptance.”

Third, has the government been attempting to tell the DOJ, the President, and Congress about the threats in domestic terrorism related to White Nationalism? YES. Even this year, several people went before Congress and specifically, expressly stated this.

Fourth, did the Trump Administration seek to de-fund programs and taskforces established to fight White Nationalism? YES, the Domestic Terrorism Taskforce against White Nationalism had not been convened between 2001/2002 and 2014; but in 2014, it went back to work until Trump eliminated it.

So… since that is what we KNOW and can prove without speculation and conjecture… then yes. The current reports certainly seem more than likely… but at present they are merely “reports of something that we can all see easily happening”. It is not, yet, absolute fact.

“Pursuant to recent reports, the Department of Justice was given a report that showed White Supremacists and White Supremacy Organizations were responsible for *ALL (100%) of race-based domestic terrorism incidents in 2018. The Department of Justice, led by either William Barr or Jeff Sessions, then attempted to HIDE THIS REPORT from Congress during the period when Trump was defunding federal programs to combat white supremacist violence.”


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.