Up before the sun in In My World

  • Aug. 14, 2019, 4:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finally fell asleep some time after 1 this morning and then I woke up some time before my alarm at 4:45. I’m so tired but your sleepy whimper and adjustment to pull me closer make it a little less terrible. Despite my restlessness that followed you just let me finish moving around and you adjust to me again. I started to move away from you because I was over heating but instead I just pushed all the blanket to you. When you moved it, your side felt so hot against my back. You must have been getting too warm too but it was still nice.

That said we were on the road around 5:25. It’s almost 5:40 now and the sun still isn’t up. I kinda like these up-to-early mornings. Everything is quiet but the music.

Anybody by Dead Sara just came on and it always reminds me of when we were moving. Things were crazy in both our lives but it felt like a thread of connection. Understanding. “I’m lost, you’re lost but you know we’re not lonely.” “Come on and touch me, do I belong to anybody?”


5 things:

5.) The lit end of your cigarette (you’re more holding it than smoking at this point.), headlights in the side mirror, USB and the wrong time: 10:04P, my thumbs hovering over my lit phone keyboard waiting for the next thing to type, dark gray-blue sky (its cloudy despite the sun not being out yet)

4.) Hunger pangs: a reminder to start packing food the night before work, my elbows pressed gently against the door and the middle compartment, overwhelming tired but not in an I-can-sleep-right-now kind of way, itchy spot on the back of my head (scratched but still dully itchy)

3.) You singing along with She Loves You by the Gaslight Anthem, dumb black car sleeping by us like a dumbass, my ears crackling from yawning

2.) You but diluted by all the different smells of your car, stale cigarette air but it’s almost gone

1.) Grandmas well water. I cant place it because it’s water but it always tastes the same.


I will retype last night’s failed entry sometime when I can today or if not then tomorrow. It was honestly going to be a me only entry but I still think its incredibly frustrating that autosave only works when you have a title. I won’t be forgetting that again.


My head hurts now and I’ve yawned about 35 times in a row. Ugh. At least the sky is a little lighter now. I love watching the sun rise.


I wish prosebox had an import pictures directly option. I have no way of getting a hyperlink without posting them somewhere else and I just don’t want to do that.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.