Discussion - this is not the right place but anyway... in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 27, 2019, 1:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What’s the difference between liberal and progressive?

Thanks in advance.


NorthernSeeker July 27, 2019

I think liberal is a philosophy (which can be static and not help anybody) and progressive is action taken to improve the lot of people. I would be interested in reading others' unattributed comments later if you have the desire for another entry.

How are you

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 27, 2019

LIfe is very complicated. Not necessarily bad, but difficult. I intended to write a confessional entry but I can't seem to get around to it. Awaiting the muse, maybe.

Beret July 27, 2019

I do not know. However, I often say how I admire the Dutch because they are progressive. They are forward thinking. At least from my viewpoint. This past Sunday when I was down the ocean someone had the tv on and 60 Minutes was on. They were interviewing people from the Netherlands who are dealing with rising sea levels and the potential of more dire weather events in regard to flooding, etc. Then they switched over to the mayor of Hoboken where recovery is still taking place from Hurricane Sandy (?). The mayor said this is insane. FEMA is paying people for their losses but they have to rebuild. In the same place. Why? Why not be more like the Dutch and get people out of the flood zones, etc. It's not only climatic issues where I think the Dutch are progressive. Other things as well.

Not that any of this answers your question. Perhaps one can be progressive and conservative too?

Just Annie July 28, 2019

I cheated: The answer, in my opinion, is no - there is a fundamental difference when it comes to core economic issues. It seems to me that traditional “liberals” in our current parlance are those who focus on using taxpayer money to help better society. A “progressive” are those who focus on using government power to make large institutions play by a set of rules.

But I also cite my sources: https://www.huffpost.com/entry/whats-the-difference-betw_b_9140 What's the Difference Between a Liberal and a Progressive? by David Sirota.

noko July 28, 2019

This is more about the liberal side of things but I found this discussion interesting...https://www.stitcher.com/podcast/vox/the-ezra-klein-show/e/62203392

Neogy Titwhistle July 29, 2019

Conservatives are fearful. Liberals are hopeful.

MageB July 29, 2019

Political.

Park Row Fallout July 29, 2019

It is a nuanced perspective that some would say gets less and less important over time. I always saw it as "liberal" was advocating for "wider acceptance" i.e. a Liberal would focus on policies that made LGBTQA societies more accepted. I always saw it as "progressive" was advocating for "specific future-based policy" i.e. a Progressive would focus on policies about Climate Change.

woman in the moon Park Row Fallout ⋅ July 29, 2019

Funny thing, there is a third term - populist. I am sort of tired of the whole thing. People do not tend to vote for their own benefit - or who knows? I suppose if you think you are voting for your own good, you are?

Serin August 03, 2019

Depends. If that's the spectrum, then progressive is a modifier to conservative. As in "We're not going to resist all change, just most of it." Really, that's how I treat "progressive" as a general political cast. Bernie is a progressive liberal, he wants to push the change further.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.