Hooooooo Bou in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • July 22, 2019, 2:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel tempted to write a preface or a soliloquy or something more artful but at present I haven’t the time.

Weekend was… acceptable. I noticed some strong, real, definite changes in Wife. But all of those changes were in things like taking care of the house, the yard, or the dog. So I left the weekend of the opinion that “I do have an excellent partner in maintaining our life. But there is no ‘I love you,’ there is no hugs and kisses, there is no sex. And I have to ask myself am I okay with a life that ‘works well’ but doesn’t have any passion, love, or intimacy. And I don’t think I am.” So that’s where I am on that.

We’ve got Dog Training tonight. That is going to be… painful. Possibly even a waste of money. Because we haven’t used the Electro-Collar much as Nala hit a place in her growth where the collar is either TOO TIGHT or NOT EFFECTIVE. For the most part, Nala listens to us fine in commands that the trainer has taught her. But she doesn’t do “Come” yet… which can be a problem. She doesn’t do “drop” yet… which can be a problem. And the poor thing is an absolutely aggressive chewer… which isn’t so much a training thing, but it is a behavior I was hoping would go away after Nala calmed down some. Then again, she is only 7/8 months old.

Today shouldn’t be that crazy of a day but… mornings are always a little madcap as I have the entire day in front of me and am looking over the list of things to do. I always get it done and it really isn’t any BIG issue but… Monday Morning contemplating the entirety of the week… it can feel stressful. Manufactured, but stressful. And somehow… it made me forgetful! Like… I’ll take responsibility for my own fuck up here; but I forgot to feed the dog this morning. Typically, I’m the Clock Watcher. Wife is late to everything anyway and I’m the one that has to live by a schedule to get to work… so I’m the one that puts water in Nala’s dish and puts food in her bowl. 7 am and 7 pm. But this morning, I was grabbing things and showering and dressing and worried about the nightmare construction that is making the commute ever more of a pain and I walked out the door and… realized I hadn’t fed the dog. Crap.

ARTICLE I READ THIS MORNING

Another ARTICLE I READ THIS MORNING
(This article could be seen as controversial; but I do have to say the following: (1) In acting, “the line” is harder to identify. When the overtly gay actor throws his arm around my shoulder… is that an aggressive come-on or a friendly gesture? If I am in a skit with sexual harassment, is that ITSELF sexual harassment or does my consenting to be in the skit modify? (2) We should always be suspicious of Enemy Media. Not “the media is the enemy” but ANY media with a bias, when attempting to hurt someone of the “opposing side” should be viewed skeptically until facts are AT LEAST mentioned.

Another ARTICLE I READ THIS MORNING

And here’s a fun Cracked Article that likes to tell me why everything I’m doing is bad for my health:
(5) Showing Up To Work When You’re Sick Is Stupid And Counterproductive
Oh, you silly bastard. Do you really believe that most or ANY American can take time off of work EVERY time they’re sick?! Oh, silly silly health focus
(4) Multitasking While Eating Screws Up Your Diet
Oh, then just go fuck yourself! Some of us wouldn’t be able to EAT if we weren’t also multi-tasking!
(3) Hunching Over Screens Ruins Your Neck
It’s funny. This one was going to screw Attorneys anyway, but now the rest of you are part of this too! Muahahaha. We’re all doomed, lol
(2) Keeping Your Wallet In Your Back Pocket Screws With Your Back
Honestly, one of the many reasons I prefer life with a suit jacket. Wallet and Phone? Inside jacket pockets. Makes things easier. Now, in social attire… that wallet is in a back pocket, and that does suck.
(1) Don’t Use Your Phone While Pooping
I’d say I’m free and clear on this one as I rarely poop (it’s an issue) but I have noticed myself using my phone more in the bathroom.

alt text
I’ve.... never experienced this but I read about it all the time. Are there people really doing this? Putting the milk in first? SERIOUSLY?!
alt text
Guilty of sharing this logic even if I am occasionally guilty of this behavior.
alt text
I’m not this bad yet but could easily get there. Like… I don’t get it or appreciate it. Instead of watching rich, spoiled people live their lives (making more money because you as a viewer are helping to subsidize their lifestyle) you could have your OWN life… even if that life was reading a book, playing a video game, or taking a walk… it’d be better for your soul than watching another three hours of Scott Disick being a major part of your waking life.
alt text
Luckily, I’m not here yet. My parents have flags as do friends and neighbors. HoWEVER, I did have this moment the other day as a shirtless white dude was driving his motorcycle with a US Flag on a Pole attached to that motorcycle. There was no parade. There was no festival. Just “shirtless biker” who chose “America Flag” as the only Bike Decoration. Yeah, I judged that guy to be a Right Wing Alt-Right Trump Supporting possible White Nationalist.
alt text
I totally get how nightmare a child can be especially when they’re tired or want something that they can’t have. But there are legitimately toddlers who are getting up to 10 hours of screen time per day. That shit is unacceptable.
alt text
Same. Like… I get it that sometimes your dog gets tired but the people who practically NEVER let their dogs down… stop it. That is a dog. It wants to run, walk, play… it is not an accessory it is a living thing!
alt text
I have to admit my snobbery like this as well. Now, JUST BECAUSE a movie is in black and white that does not make that a good movie. But just because a movie IS in black and white, that does not make that a bad movie, either!

Some pintrest suggestions I got:

alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text

And now… to eat food, attempt to decipher a garbled voice mail (made harder to hear with the construction noise) and look through my mountains of paperwork in an effort to find one small report. Then Thank You Letters; Calling the Pharmacy; Picking up dreaded fast food because of the On The Run Nature that we get with Dog Training; a long drive; dog training; a long drive back… and we do tomorrow in its own festive way.

alt text
alt text
alt text
So, if I can take a minute to be a bit of a douche here? I see this picture (above) and think How is a woman like this real?! and then I think, “This is more than genetics. She cannot POSSIBLY have a job. She’s got to be some heiress who was given ALL of life’s best. But the truth is… I don’t know that. Even looking her up, all I know is that she is Colombian YouTube star posting fitness and beauty videos as Silvy Araujo.
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text

So, I seriously honestly tried to find some funny stuff but it looks like this weekend was mostly just.... less with the quality humor?


Anaiss July 22, 2019

Maybe this is none of my business (well, no "maybe" about it) but I couldn't help observing, in the vacation pictures you posted of your wife, I never saw a smile. Not once. If I saw that collection of pictures and didn't know anything else about her, I'd think she looks like an unhappy person who I wish would put down the phone and engage in life around her.

Park Row Fallout Anaiss ⋅ July 22, 2019

That is an extremely fair estimate of her. She's not a happy person. She's typically fearful, shy, not one to make friends or explore the world around her.

Rhapsody in Purple July 28, 2019

I’m trying hard to not judge people on how they spend their leisure time. I don’t watch kardashians but I can understand why people might be drawn in. There are limited female narratives happening on tv. Especially when they started. They are problematic but some people enjoy watching them. Some people might ask why you spend time playing video games when you could use that time living a real life. Some people might ask why waste time reading books when you could be living your real life. We all need a break and for some it’s reality tv.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.