remember when. in Drifter in Zion

  • July 7, 2019, 11:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes I look back at younger me - true believing me, and think, “God, you’re an asshole.”

It wasn’t on purpose. When you think you’re part of God’s chosen, it’s pretty easy to mount a high horse.

On the norm, my friends and I frequented an Internet cafe (those were a thing, back in the days of screeching AOL), and my oh-so-righteous self tsk-tsked them for ordering mochas and coffee. “It’s against the Word of Wisdom,” I’d say, flipping my hair like a regular Susan.

Never mind my group of friends already lived on the fringes of Mormonism, some of them not even members. Screw their heathen hearts and beliefs, amirite? I was a true example of Christ at all times in all places.

And Jesus doesn’t like coffee.


Disastrous Beauty July 08, 2019

Omg this made me laugh. I know your struggle with your faith is a real one, but the way you said all this made me giggle.

It's so interesting looking back at our old selves and seeing them so clearly in hindsight.

DrifterinZion Disastrous Beauty ⋅ July 08, 2019

Ha! I have to have a sense of humor about some of it, or I will go mad.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.