Safe and Sound in Current Events

  • July 4, 2019, 10:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tony has been a bit of a flake and I was telling Leanne that I felt that I deserved better from my friends. Then I mentioned that I felt petty for feeling that way because I’m too grown to be whining about it. Somehow that offended her. Well, Leanne is a petty queen who loves to hold a grudge so I guess that would strike a nerve. Also, she might be right because her whole point was that it is okay to have hurt feelings about people. Am I even making sense right now? This all started because last night I had a mad craving for poutine. Sometimes I will randomly miss something that I used to enjoy before I went vegan so I will find a recipe or a venue that sells it. Poutine is a Canadian salad of cheese curds, fries and gravy lol. It’s disgusting but it was something that I ate after a bar night to sober up. Anyway, Tony blew me off as always when I tried to make plans with her to grab a bite. She is going to regret being this shitty to me because when she decides to call me crying about Bob, again, I am going to hang up. Like, I am half of your friends and you’re blowing me off for a fuckboy with a micropenis?

I can’t stop thinking about Will. He is the son of an old friend of mine, Stacy. His mother was just an acquaintance that lived in my building years ago. She is what we call a welfare mom. Her whole career is to have a kid every five years to stay on assistance. She was very open about that. Anyway, one night she said that she needed my help. She was staying with her mother and her mother’s boyfriend in my building at that time when said boyfriend had a violent outburst one night and they needed to leave him. All that I had to do was take her son away from that situation. Will was only four at the time and also an only child. We bonded that night, we went for a long walk and he was such a chatterbox. He wasn’t stupid, I could tell that he knew what was going on but he felt safe with me. The police got involved and then I drove Stacy, her mother and Will to one of their friend’s houses. Anyways, Stacy, Will and I spent a lot of time together after that. That kid was such a blast. He had such a sassy mouth that everybody blamed me for.

Anyways, Stacy was something else though. Everybody warned me about her, they said that she was a snake and a master manipulator and they turned out to be right. I did not care that much, I kept her around so I could be there for her son. She got pregnant just before Will started school so that she could stay on assistance. It was just after she had her daughter, Bella, that she fell off the face of the Earth with her children. Our social circle felt it was good riddance but I feared for her kids. She’s not good at making good choices. Her mother used to come by my work and give me updates on Stacy and Will. Stacy ended up dating some loser that also had a son. This man, Waylan, is a drug dealer and Stacy magically lost almost 200lbs dating him. Yeah, we all know what’s up. Her mother would always tell me that Will was very well mannered, considerate and caring and that she attributed that to me. A few summers ago this Waylan character, who is abusive, finally turned on Will so Stacy took her kids and left him. She was staying at her mother’s and I finally got to go see them. I was curious about if Will would remember me because he was 8 when I finally got to see him again. He gave me a big hug. His mother got sucked back into that relationship with Waylan by the end of that summer. Stacy’s mom continued to give me updates. He was getting bullied in school and got depressed until they put him into hip-hop dance classes. He is excelling in that, I just got an update last week that he has been doing competitions and has made it to the finals in BC.

Unfortunately, in that update, I learned how Waylan turned Will into a slave in his home. This Waylan character has his mother selling drugs and has Will doing all the cleaning and the cooking. Will is going to BC at the end of this month and of all the things that he could be excited about he is only talking about how the hotel is next to a market that sells fresh fruit. He doesn’t get much of that right now. This sad news came with a good plot twist though. Stacy’s sister has been working on getting custody of Will and Bella. They don’t want to compromise Will’s BC trip so they are waiting until after that dance competition to start that drama. Child Family Services is going to be involved and Will and Bella are going to stay with their aunt. This aunt is actually the one who is taking Will to BC. I’m kind of relieved but I will be thinking about this a lot this month until I know that he is safe and sound again. He’s 10 now btw, I forgot to mention that. He is still well mannered, optimistic and full of life. I believe that this kid is going to go places when he is older.


KissOfLife! July 05, 2019

Poor Will! I always find it amazing when kids can go through so much and still remain strong on the outside.

Whiskie July 06, 2019

Vegan poutine sounds very Interesting

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.