long term/debt snowball in Second 1st

  • July 2, 2019, 9:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, got a call yesterday that as of the 15th I’m on long term disability. What does that mean? well the only difference is that instead of getting a check on Friday’s i will get a check once a month. It is the same amount however so that’s good. With this though I told Rocky “We need to tighten up” so....

Even though we’ve “tried” to do the whole Dave Ramsey, debt snowball thing. .... well we have to stop trying and do it. Because in 6 months if I’m still not working we are down to Whatever Rocky can make. We have to get on this. This is not a choice and we need to stop messing around.

I wrote a quick note for Rocky (because he asked) on all our actual debt. I say actual debt because .... well we are renting to own the equipment for the security system but that’s wrapped into our monthly payments for service. I’m talking straight loans here. In the next couple of days I will hunt down a good debt workbook or something. We need to stop doing this all willy nilly. It’s like whenever we have money we need things. So.... we need a better system for telling our money where to go.

I read a journal of someone who is doing amazing with their debt snowball and they have 3 kids they home school! I should be doing at least as good as her with no children or school to pay for..... call it inspiration .... or jealousy either way I want to be getting it that together.

With the long term disability being once a month I think that will help. Rocky’s checks going from once every 2 weeks to once a week..... OH! Yeah wait..... he starts a factory job driving a fork lift THIS FRIDAY! He’s actually on vacation from Wal Mart so he will have vacation pay for these weeks and it won’t feel like he quit a job at all. So his check will cover the weekly things and mine will pay the house note..... but that’s a general idea. Once we get his first check we will need to tell it where to go. In a serious way.

Wouldn’t that be an amazing thing to say “We paid our debt off and I was on disability at the time”… or something like that. Either way we have to be more diligent. PERIOD. Moving to long term really has me worried. Which in turn only reminds me why I’m out in the first place.

Here’s what we are looking at right now:
First: 1,208.60- My student loans #1 (41.08)
2: 2,397.57-My Student loan #2 (82.41)
3: 4,880.87-Pipes out (80.99)
4: 8,071.19-Pipes in (129.50)
5: replace AC Unit
6: Rocky’s student loans which are currently based on income and expect nothing
7: house 137,089.29 which I half expect to have forever.

I think it’s totally do able to have 1-3 taken out in the next 6 months which if we are choking will help to not pay that 200..... .... Now to DO IT! (No I don’t care that I just put all that on the internet. It’s just numbers to anyone else)


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.