Garlic Festival! in just testing

  • Sept. 2, 2013, 2:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This weekend I've mainly been riding with Will in his big rig to keep him company.

Sometimes I get annoyed at that cause I don't get to do anything I might need on a weekend cause he wants me to ride with him. But on the other hand I love that he asks me to come and wants my company. He's out on the road most of the week and we don't get much face to face time.

Sunday, surprisingly, they didn't give him any work and so we hurried off to the Garlic festival in the Poconos. Driving around PA in his big rig we had seen the signs. We had been last year and wanted to go this year but it depended on if he worked or not. Luckily he didn't and we went and just bought whatever we wanted and had a great time.

I know I complain about how broke I am, and I am. But me & Will have a saving account of about $2500 which is leftover wedding gift money. We add a little if we have any extra money to it and try not to touch it cause it's really it was our 'cruise' money - to save up for a second cruise, then it was our 'baby' money cause you never know what a baby is going to need. Now, I guess it's back to a 'cruise' fund but I dunno. It's just a lump of money for whatever expensive event that comes up.

But we haven't done anything or gone anywhere in a long time and neither of us had any free money to do this Garlic thing so we dipped into our fund and enjoyed ourselves.

It was $10 each to get in and then we ate EVERYTHING. He had garlic crab cakes, we has chocolate covered garlic, garlic cookies, roasted garlic bulbs - and then there were the free samples of dips and oils, etc. There was also a parade, a kids magic show and a petting zoo. Plus since it was like 90 mins away there was gas to pay for. And we bought whatever garlicy treat we felt like to take home. And there was so much other stuff, like garlic ice cream, garlic shaved ice, garlic popcorn, garlic corn, garlic zeppole. We love garlic so it was heaven. I hope we get to go back.

Then we visited with his parents. He doesn't get to see his parents a lot either with the job and so he makes time when he can.

His parents both weren't subtle about the baby hints. His father out right asked when he could expect a baby. His mom told me about how she loves the cousin's baby that she baby sitting but she can't wait for ours.

They said this to me, not to Will cause he's the one that doesn't want a kid and doesn't like to be pressured so they've given up on him. And it makes me feel bad because I've never told them that we may not have one.

I have told his sister - I dunno if she told them - that because of my new job and money being tight, we may have to wait a while before we try and basically she didn't care as long as we eventually had a plan to try cause she wants to be an auntie.

She means well, they all do - and this is the first time in EVER that I've considered going childless so they don't know where my mind is at so they're all baby crazy right now.

At his parents house the drama that was going on is that his sister waited until basically a few days before the start of school to get started on her son's book reports. There are 2. But they aren't normal book reports, you have to make comic strips out of the books. She said the 1st one took them 6 hours. They had to go to multiple libraries to find the books and then work out how the comic strip would be.

After all that work she told her son that he could play video games for an hour [as a break] and then they'd get into the 2nd one. Well he bullied he was into getting a 2 hour video game break and then we she finally was putting her foot down about shutting off the game and getting back to work on the 2nd report he had an attitude about it.

And I was thinking, he was so cuddly and quiet at 3. Now he's a whiny 8 yr old and his mom has to help him with his homework every night. Ugh. Do I wanna come home from work and help with homework. No. But who does - it's just part of having a kid. But a part I'm sure I'd be doing alone cause Will's never home.

I wonder if his parents could ever be happy for us, or think our life is successful if we don't have kids? I mean, they're facing bankruptcy

even his parents want to file bankruptcy but they took our loans in Will's name a few years ago and now can't pursue bankruptcy or it would ruin his finances if he ever wants a house, etc. They didn't use his older sister's name because by that point her credit was already ruined

So they're facing bankruptcy, they're always worried about money. If me and Will got a nice home and could afford to go on vacations and wear clothes without holes - would they see that as successful? Or would nothing we do in life equal having a baby?

I kinda think they're highest point of happiness revolves around babies.

Will I regret waiting on a baby if Will's mom dies before she gets to see it. Yes. Even Will would regret that. And he doesn't even want a kid. But....we'll just have to see. I'm not saying never a baby but I definitely need more time to prepare and hopefully her health holds out for many more years. That's all I can say right now.

Now I'm wondering what in the house I can put my garlic jelly on!


shneaker September 02, 2013

emiril the chef was known for his garlic. he tried out for a rice krispies commercial but didn't get the part. Kelloggs didn't think they could market snap crackle BAAAAMMMM

Deleted user September 02, 2013

my sis and her husband are like you and yours, and aren't entirely sure they want children, either. and they are quite happy. :0)

precious butterflies September 03, 2013

I love garlic! I have never heard of a festival like that, but OMG, I am so jealous! LOL Glad ya'll had a good time.

I think Will's parents mean well and until you two are completely SURE there will be NO kids, I don't think you should "break" their spirits. I would just smile & say, "Maybe one day. We'll have to wait and see."

Don't have kids because they WANT you to and don't base your decision by them. They just mean well and babies can bring families together.

I'm completely biased, but I love babies. Kids are a different story, but mine are turning out alright, so far. lol BUT they do take a LOT out of you. Just, at the end of the day, I wouldn't have it any other way.

<3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.