us. in Drifter in Zion

  • June 27, 2019, 2:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to move. To a different house. Out of state. I want change. I want something other than here. I want where the sun doesn’t crack my skin, my face doesn’t blare, and we can explore the unknown.

I know it’s a pipe dream. At least for now. You’re climbing the ladder at work (ungrateful bastards), and the current opportunity might foreshadow a career outside of the (redacted) industry.

You want out, I think. And I want that for you.

I love you.

I was thinking about how to describe love, but love - real love, the kind that burns deep and quietly, is hardly describable. There is not a proper word. Not one elegant, fierce, or just enough.

It’s us against the world, and I’m okay with that.

I once resigned myself to spinsterhood, but you unexpectedly popped into my life. Our first date was nothing special. We sat across from each other in a crowded restaurant, making awkward small talk, and you wanted to scare me away with your long hair and grizzle-beard.

I fell in love instead.

And I continue to fall every day.

I fall when the garage door opens, and our little devils scream and giggle and clamor for your attention.

I fall when you hold my hand in the car.

I fall when you laugh.

I fall when when we embrace, skin to skin, alone and quiet and intense.

I fall over and over.

It’s us against the world, dear, and I don’t know if I believe in soulmates, but you’re mine.


Last updated June 27, 2019


•kitkat• June 27, 2019

This describes how I feel about my husband.

DrifterinZion •kitkat• ⋅ June 27, 2019

Yay! I love that.

•kitkat• DrifterinZion ⋅ June 27, 2019

This is my third marriage and it’s the only time I’ve really felt that way about my spouse.

My first husband I married bc I didn’t want to be alone. We lasted 18 months.

My second husband I married bc we had a child together and there was a bit of pressure (from his family) to marry. He ended up being mentally and emotionally abusive. We divorced a few months shy of 8 years of marriage (a few months why of 7 years when we split. Together for 3 days shy of 9 years).

My current, and last husband, is just the most amazing man ever.

Disastrous Beauty June 27, 2019

Awww I love this.

DrifterinZion Disastrous Beauty ⋅ June 27, 2019

Thanks!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.