I am hoping for a better tomorrow in Poetry

  • June 22, 2019, 3:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I watch the stars
Close their eyes
And fall asleep tonight
As the Moon
Glows bright
Guarding the night
I lay down
Exhausted from my mind
Wondering where
I belong inside
The presence of time

Secrets hide
In the shadows
Of the night
For we have two eyes
But only one way to perceive
The events that drift through life

I’m trapped like an insect
In a spider’s web
I am fighting for my life
Day and night
Wondering how much more
I must bleed
So that I can be set free

Sometimes
I can barely see
What is right
In front of me
Sometimes my ears
Become deaf to the words
The wind whispers to me
Sometimes my heart
Falls a step
Short of love
Sometimes I bleed
My pain for free
And sometimes
My nerves no longer feel
The moments that
Make me a human being

Nothing really matters
This life is
Just an echo
Nothing really matters
We are all equal
In the Eyes of Death
For when I die
I’ll be just like you
Because I’ll be forgotten, too

The desperation of the night
Suffocates everything in sight
The face of today
Changes into tomorrow
Everything unnoticed
Is discarded and thrown away
And your dreams to be
Vanish away from
Your childhood scenery

My veins
Are still cut and opened up
From an addiction
Left unspoken
If only I could
Find a way
To fill my life
With meaning and purpose
I could leave
This world I’m trapped in
In order
To find a world
I can live in
Until then
I spend my days
In silent sorrow
Dry tears
That hide my fears
Praying up at the stars
Hoping for a better
TOMORROW


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.