Acceptance in Current Events

  • June 20, 2019, 12:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was very adamant about making sure that I see my mother today. I don’t know why but I just wanted to see her. We have been trying to schedule me an appointment to do her hair but she has been very busy. I wanted to vent a bit about my sister Miranda and her choices. Especially the choice to stick with her man and move to the city next to ours (read the two entries before the previous one to get caught up if you should need or want to know what’s going on). Also, I made my mother some blueberry, lemon energy bites and some frozen yogurt breakfast bars. She says that she has issues with fibre and I know how to fix that. Nobody is more regular than me.

So anyway! My mother is not stupid and she knew what I was up to and I am so glad that I went. I barely got to vent because she explained to me why she is supporting my sister’s decision. Justin, her boyfriend, moved back to Brandon because that is where his support system is. His mother came to the city as soon as she could to get the hospital to take him in. She works at a rehab centre and knows exactly what to say to get them to take him seriously. I was not aware that it is hard for addicts to get help from a hospital. She lied and told the staff that he had a seizure. They took him in and that is when they discovered that his liver was dying and that his spleen was ready to burst from his abuse of alcohol. He would have been dead in just a couple of weeks had he not been taken into detox.

So anyway, my mother and his mother have been in constant contact since last Friday. Justin’s family is filthy rich and have all the experience in the world with this and are taking care of it. Justin was sober for 7 years after all. They are taking care of their son and also going to look after my sister. They are getting her into a program as well where she will be getting counselling to understand addiction and how to live with somebody who is an addict and how to get control of her own life again. This situation is nothing at all what I thought it was. His parents are finding an apartment for them to rent and they are going to furnish the place for them as well. They are also on the lookout for positions at daycares for my sister out there as well. Miranda put in her notice at her current job and the CEO of the company that owns the building that her daycare centre is at is writing a letter of recommendation for her and also every level of management is offering her a reference. That is pretty dope. She could sue the place for harassment if she wanted to, her boss has been harassing her in a desperate attempt to get my sister to quit before my sister took over her position but my sister just wants to move on with her life right now.

While I was at my mother’s Justin called her saying that he can’t get a hold of my sister to warn her that the humane society was going to collect their pets this evening. The situation is that she has no cellphone service, no wifi or even electricity at her house. While he is in Brandon my sister is going to move into my mother’s tomorrow so she can work out her notice. I figured that I would race to see my sister after I did my mother’s hair and give her a heads up and help her pack and whatever. When I pulled up I didn’t hear the dog come for me so I knew that it was too late. She didn’t answer the door either so I let myself in. She was just sobbing until she heard my voice. Then she screamed bloody murder. Then she dove into my arms. She was so happy that she didn’t have to be alone at that moment. She thought that she had one more day with her two cats and her dog.

We talked, I ordered her some pizza so that she could have a hot meal. She had an extension cord running to her neighbour’s house that kept their fridge going at least. She also had one lamp and her TV going. Justin had spent all their money and then some and now my sister has nothing. Turns out that my sister is going to do her landlord’s dirty and just abandon the place tomorrow. Dirty, furnished and all. She had packed all the belongings that they are going to take to Brandon and everything else is not their problem. I used to live with them so I remember their landlord’s. A sweet old couple from eastern Europe that doesn’t deserve what is about to happen to them. I also remember those neighbours that are powering their fridge and TV, a family from West Africa that got approved for citizenship right before I moved. Their oldest son was a fuckboy but the rest of them were nice humans. Their landlords are swinging by tomorrow at 7 to talk to her about the house but there will be nobody living there. It will just be an empty dump. I can’t even imagine what that is going to feel like for them. My mind will try to imagine that anyway. ugh. We’re going to have her moved out before they show up. She refuses to call in sick tomorrow so we will be trying to make this disappearing act happen between five and seven.

Originally I was not a part of their plan to move. I actually kind of complicated things as I am now trying to get some of their furniture moved to my house, for my roommates. My mother was saying that we all call her and tell her about what is going on in our lives but Miranda does not do that. Now that Justin’s addiction is no longer a secret Miranda is wide open about everything. She’s so happy about all the support that she is getting from us. She is also so happy about all the support that she is getting from Justin’s family too. They have a lot of debt to pay and a lot of things to square up on but they’re just trying to get themselves into a position to do so first. That’s what their move is about. She has a court date to get her car back this Friday and then she is taking Justin’s son to go see him next week while she is on holiday. That’s right, she put in her notice and one week of that is a paid holiday. That threat of a lawsuit is real son.

Anyways, I am hoping that I actually get some sleep tonight now.
ta


Last updated June 20, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.