Relationship Thoughts in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • June 17, 2019, 4:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m now confused about how I feel about this whole dating thing with this particular person. Now that my mind has either sobered up or just gone cold. While he does play softball, he doesn’t seem to do a whole lot of other physical activity. I mentioned we could take my dog for a walk this evening, and he made a comment like “because your dog doesn’t get enough exercise as it is.” And okay, first of all, I don’t know if he meant it the way I read it. Second of all, I work full time and am away from home (including drive time to/from work) from 7:30 am - 5:30/5:45pm, depending on traffic. Sometimes I go to kickboxing immediately after work and get home around 7:30pm. On Tuesdays, I have Australian Rules Football practice in Seattle for 2 hours in the evening. I’m literally home 5-10 minutes after work to give him a potty break before leaving again for the trek to Seattle. On Saturday I had a footy tournament in Tacoma (We annihalted San Fran and then lost to Portland) and then a Reign soccer game in the evening, so I had to drive home in between tournament games to give the dog a walk because I knew I’d be at the soccer game all evening. On Friday I had a friend’s graduation party I attended after work so was also unavailable for dating. On Sunday, I had my two-hand touch football league and was just exhausted by then that I didn’t feel like I was capable of any socializing. And the ONLY thing I felt like doing Sunday night was making up all that away time with my dog and giving him a ridiculously long evening stroll. So like, while I get he probably didn’t mean the dog/attention/exercise comment the exact way I took it, I didn’t appreciate it. SO then I was like “Or we could grab drinks somewhere”, which I was specifically trying to avoid, because I feel like I’ve been consuming A LOT more alcoholic beverages than normal in the past 2 or so weeks and that seems to be our go-to date night idea. To that, he said “Sounds good!”

Maybe I was just blinded by the fact that he has a full time job and a vehicle since that’s where my standards seem to be (But, I should also make it known that I’ve recently been told that my expectations are too high.) But also ALSO, I worked really REALLY FUCKING HARD to get out of an unhealthy marriage, so I feel like I should be allowed to have higher expectations this time around.

He is aware of my sports commitments, that I like to walk my dog, kickbox, go for hikes. I’ve specifically told him that I can’t go from sitting behind a screen at a desk all day to sitting behind a screen at home. I’ve added him on FB so he can’t pretend he doesn’t know how active I force myself to be in my quest for happiness and contentment. I don’t know.


Last updated June 17, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.