I Call Myself a Writer in Introduction

  • June 5, 2019, 1:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

For years… No - forever, I have been interested in writing. I started young - maybe even four - learning to print my own name and the alphabet, before I even went into Kindergarten. I wanted to put my signature on my drawings, I remember, and I asked my mother if she would show me how to print my name. I enjoyed being able to do that but didn’t want to stop there, so I asked her to write the alphabet for me. I copied it until I knew every letter, then started trying to make words with them. She would giggle at some of my attempts - wish I remembered some specific phonetic tries - and some she would marvel that I cracked the code.
When I made it to Kindergarten, I was in awe of that curly shit she was using to write her lists, sign checks, etc. So I asked for some help, and she showed me how to write in cursive handwriting. How many of you even know what cursive is or use it today? I hate it that it’s a dying art, the end of an era.
Goddamn technology.
I picked up on the curly shit, and was encouraged by my Kindergarten teacher to immediately stop. She said that my classmates weren’t ready for cursive and when I used it, it was stifling to them, or something like that. I stopped at school, but continued at home, and was writing goofy little stories about my crush on the paperboy and my best friend’s parents’ Shiny New Car in my free time.
In Kindergarten through third grade, you have a lot of free time.
The stories kept coming, and my mother was the proud recipient of such crap as “Bubbles the Puppy” (a dog who didn’t want to take a bath), and ” Barbie’s Bunny” (my friend with the parents with the sweet ride and her pet rabbit). I wrote some real gripping shit, I tell ya.
I kept writing, from journals to short stories, to the four novels-in-progress I’m writing today. When I first discovered online journaling ( I think my first was Open Diary), I was hesitant.
“I could let strangers read my stuff,” I thought. “I could let people I don’t even know judge me, give their opinions on what I have to say,” I said to myself. Then I said, “So what? I’m going to write, and I’m going to meet other people who love to write just as much as I do!” And I did it… I created my first account online, and wrote some entries that I no doubt would be completely embarrassed to read today!
Then OD, for whatever reason that I cannot recall, was no longer a viable online option for me. I think it was something technical, but for the life of me, I don’t remember. A fellow OD journalist told me he was going to be writing at a site called Digital Expressions, and that I should check it out, because the community there was more of what we were looking for - passionate writers, people with stories, people who, well, were a community.
It was home. I’m not even shitting you - from the beginning, DE was HOME.
And I think you know the rest. For years, I laughed with these people, cried with these people,. shared victories and defeats. We lost journaling friends and grieved and mourned and miss these people TO THIS DAY. We’ve made friends for life, met in the flesh, talked for hours on the telephone, sent cards, gifts, and just … well, loved each other the way friends do. It’s a hard thing to say goodbye to a place which birthed so many incredible memories as well as hosted them. But I don’t want to look at this entry - my first of what will be many, hopefully, as a goodbye to our beloved DE. I want to look at this as a new chapter, with some interesting new characters, new plot twists, and a highly anticipated sequel.
So, with that, I would like to say, hey there, I’m VC, and I’m happy to meet ya.


Last updated June 05, 2019


hollow book June 05, 2019

I had a similar experience teaching myself to read and write, and learning cursive but being made to stop since the class wasn't there yet.

Valued Customer hollow book ⋅ June 05, 2019

I find it interesting that they stopped us - I tend to feel more motivated when watching my peers.

Just Molly June 05, 2019

I'm glad we'll be here together. I raise a virtual glass of champagne to toast to new beginnings! Love ya!

Valued Customer Just Molly ⋅ June 05, 2019

Love ya right back, Molly! CLINK

Nazdaze June 05, 2019

I'm do very glad I met you,!

Valued Customer Nazdaze ⋅ June 05, 2019

Ditto x infinity

Shannonly June 05, 2019

I love that house. I will always love that house. This house will eventually reach that feeling, I believe. ♥

Valued Customer Shannonly ⋅ June 05, 2019

That's a very good analogy. I've moved quite a bit in my life, and I notice the new home is always foreign at first, of course, but starts to feel like "mine" after a while. The old home is still home, and always will be, at the same time. It's a nice, comforting, familiar feeling.

Shannonly Valued Customer ⋅ June 06, 2019

We gotta start picking out drapes, then a new living room suite--I'm telling you, it rolls along from there!

Amaryllis June 05, 2019

I'm so excited for the new DE blood. Welcome! You've got a new follower <3

Valued Customer Amaryllis ⋅ June 05, 2019

Thank you! You do as well. :-)

DE_Da_Bartender June 05, 2019

Love the way that was written. Also, how can they not teach cursive?! How do people sign their names now an days? Or do they just not need to?

Valued Customer DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ June 05, 2019

Thank you so much! I thought the same thing... I suppose printing is just as acceptable, though I would not be comfortable with it on my checks. Too easy to forge! Though, checks are also seemingly becoming a thing of the past.

Chelez June 05, 2019

I totally felt you, when you said DE was home. Looking forward to reading you once again.

Valued Customer Chelez ⋅ June 05, 2019

RIght back at ya!

A Pedestrian Wandering June 05, 2019

Welcome to ProseBox. I admire real writers. I didn't start writing until I was in my 40s, I received an Open Diary subscription from my sister (she was Cage Free Hen, o'live and a few other names on OD). I moved to Easy Diary, had a very brief dalliance with Word Press and then Prosebox. I was not born to write, I was born to feel. I frequently need to download my feelings and this is the place.

Valued Customer A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ June 05, 2019

Thank you very much!
I like having a place to leave some thoughts behind to ease my shoulders for a bit. This place has been extremely welcoming. Nice to meet you!

Rista June 05, 2019

I love the curly shit too... It does also make me sad that it's like a secret code to Millennials. I have to write to do list to my youngest stepson in print because he can't read cursive.

Valued Customer Rista ⋅ June 05, 2019

I have "Catholic School Handwriting", which took me years to perfect. Now it is just going to be a hidden talent... LOL

DE_courtney. June 06, 2019

CHEERS!!! I'm so incredibly happy to be back with all of you. More than I can even convey in a comment. <3

Valued Customer DE_courtney. ⋅ June 07, 2019

I had forgotten how special it is to have you all "around" me, and it is so therapeutic!

Valued Customer DE_courtney. ⋅ June 07, 2019

I had forgotten how special it is to have you all "around" me, and it is so therapeutic!

DE---Mr. Stix June 08, 2019

Love you yanked many of these thoughts right out of my cranium. If I had to put a sort of soundtrack to this change in our lives, I would choose "It's So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday.". This change brought sadness to me, especially because I had just returned and was trying to find my sea legs so to speak. On DE, I found myself and more 8mpotantly my voice and a group of people who basically got me and got the thirst to write. I truly loved the site and fell head over heels for some of my fellow authors. Strangers who became my family of and body choice. Good t8mes, good times...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.