This is me in My life....I can't make this shit up!

  • June 4, 2019, 2:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My first entry in a new diary. I had used DE (Tenderheartjenny) since I was 17 years old. It chronicled the end of my high school years, my relationships, my choice to enlist in the Navy, sporadically throughout my enlistment, and through the most difficult time in my life. That community helped me over come some difficult hurdles and celebrate milestones. It has been so long since I wrote. Life just got busy and I stopped making time.
As for my life right now; I’m happy. I have an incredible relationship with a man I love and adore. Cameron is 11 now and getting ready to start middle school. I have a career that causes most of the stress in my life, possibly exploring a change there (more on that later), and friends that are wonderful. I have to admit I’m very blessed and content right now. I guess since this is my first entry here I’ll elaborate on a few things.
I met Brian in 2013. For me it was love at first sight. We had a rough first year, mostly because he has been married and divorced twice and was scared when we didn’t argue, talked differences out, and I helped around the house. Eventually though we had a very serious talk and agreed that neither of us need to marry again and want to be with each other for life. Since then we’ve been great. I adore him. He’s my rock. With him I can do anything. Okay, enough mush.
Cameron is 11 and just finished Elementary school. I most definitely cried like a baby during graduation. I kept thinking that this was the child who wasn’t supposed to survive his first night of life, or the first week, or the first year, now here he is a “normal” (for all intents and purposes) child, graduating elementary school. And this child has talent!!
As a hobby we volunteer at the local community theatre. Cam is already a veteran of the stage with 5 or 6 shows on his resume! He’s learning to sing as well. He wants to do band next year. Brian has been on stage since before I was born (I guess I should add that he is 16 years older than me). He has also done movies and sitcoms. A few years ago he convinced me to help on stage crew.for a show, then next thing I know I get a small part, and then a larger part, then I’m stage Managing productions, and now I’m lead in a show that has one more weekend. The next two shows I am Assistant Directing and Stage Managing. Crazy busy schedules, and I’m starting to feel a bit burned out, but that’s why I’m going to write more. I need to get it out!
Believe it or not, the theatre isn’t where I’m most stressed. It’s work. I work with chronically mentally ill clients. Im a social worker. Actually I’m the assistant Program manager of the social workers now. I got promoted almost a year ago and I feel like I’m drowning there! I’ve recently had an interview to work with Alzheimers patients and their families. If it’s meant to be I’ll change paths. Only time will tell at this point.
That’s about where I am right now. As time goes on I’ll fill in all the spaces I’ve left. For now I’ve got to get something quick to eat and get to the theatre.


DE_karabeara June 04, 2019

Hey there! Glad you found your way over here and we can all regroup after losing the special place that was DE.

JennyAmi DE_karabeara ⋅ June 04, 2019

It's a shame to see DE close down, but I feel like it's given some of us a chance to reconnect and motivation to write again!

Shannonly June 04, 2019

Wow! You certainly are very busy--and this is fascinating! Can't wait to hear more.

Rista June 05, 2019

Hi! I've read your DE diary here and there over the years, but never consistently. This new place is pretty spiffy!

JennyAmi Rista ⋅ June 05, 2019

I agree! I like the sense of community and the warm welcome we've received!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.