SoOoO Much to Say Part 1 in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • May 30, 2019, 2:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Alright y’all… between the Memorial Day Weekend and Work keeping me busy… this is kind of all being done at once. SO… I separated it out into various portions to hopefully make it easier to read. The best way to read this is Chronologically so… in the following order.

SoOoO Much to Say Part 1
SoOoO Much to Say Part 2
SoOoO Much to Say Part 3
SoOoO Much to Say Part 4
SoOoO Much to Say Part 5
SoOoO Much to Say Part 6
SoOoO Much to Say Part 7

BEGIN Part One

(1) I have been keeping up with reading all y’all but not noting much since I’ve been reading on my phone.
(2) Speaking of my phone; this weekend I took notes on my phone for what to write in here so buckle up!
(3) I’m not sure exactly how much time I’ll have to write today, Tuesday. After a three day weekend, Tuesday was supposed to be heavy and terrifying with how much work was expected. And yet? It appears that almost all of that work falls to my boss. Of the 30 hearings that are scheduled for Tuesday, only 5 of them are mine. And of those five? Four of them are basically finished and simply require me to appear, agree with what I’ve already filed, and wait for the judge to officially say, “Hrm. Yes.” on the record. Even the one hearing that I do have to make sure I’m there for due to no paperwork filed? That is mostly going to be checking with Defense, verifying that the pre-negotiated deal is still acceptable, stating to the Court what that deal is, and that’s it. Meanwhile, the boss’ case load is not nearly as… agreeable. The funny thing is, in other jobs I’d be freaking out about that. Why is that the case? Am I not pulling my own weight? Am I doing something wrong? But here? Actually, I don’t feel that way. I feel more like, “Dude… you handle the emotionally complex cases, he handles the evidence-based complex cases. His cases may stack and take extra time because he isn’t relying so heavily on witnesses but physical evidence. You? You’ve got witnesses. Many who simply… refuse to testify. So… yeah. When your case dissolves, there isn’t a lot of rehabilitating you can do. If his case dissolves, there is a lot of rehabilitating he can do. And that’s the way it should be. The Elected Official should always look like he can perform miracles with evidence.” Plus… I’m able to help him cover his hearings. I’ll likely be in court for most of the day anyway just making sure his stuff is taken care of. And after all, isn’t that the ASSIST part of Assistant!

So now… to my weekend notes!

alt text
Yeaaaaah. Helping the boss took a lot of time. Plus, I had to file an impromptu Child in Need of Assistance claim. So… shit got stupid busy!

So now… to my weekend notes!
alt text

OMG. As a sustained matter? I’ve pretty much been in court from 9 a.m. this morning until 4:00 p.m. this afternoon. BTW… court has no air conditioning right now. So while it is an acceptable 70-ish with wind and cloud cover outside… it is hot and muggy in the court… especially for a Cave Dwelling Bat like me that prefers dry cool climate… especially while wearing a suit and tie.

So now… to my weekend notes!

I already mentioned Friday in my latest entry. Unsurprisingly, I was correct in my estimation. I awoke around 6 a.m. and thought… y’know what? Yeah. I should go downstairs and have some friggin’ me time. MBFITWW is asleep, my Wife is asleep, my dog is asleep… time to go downstairs, play an hour of video games, maybe watch some adult content and just… have some replenishing alone time. So I grab my cell phone and I start to walk downstairs. I walk into the Basement Main Room and flip on the switch and… MBFITWW is asleep on the couch. What? We have two guest rooms, both that are available to him. We have the guest room upstairs, which is where he had set his things… and if he wanted to be in the basement, we have the guest room down there, too. There’s no reason for him to be on the couch, under a single Couch Blanket, using Corner Pillows. But… uhm… to each their own? So I quickly turned off the light and went back upstairs. Somewhat dumbly thinking, “Okay. Now what? No video games. No alone time but for if I want to sit in the living room watching TV. I guess… I don’t know. I could try to go back to sleep maybe?”

When I woke up again, I was still the first person awake. Put food in the dog’s bowl and water in the dog’s bowl. Then MBFITWW and I decided on an anime to watch.

High School DxD Hero… or basically High School DxD Season 4. Now… it is true that many people can not get past the… extreme sexual component of High School DxD. I don’t blame them. The main character’s entire goal in existence is to be the Harem King and his special combat moves are so breast centeric as to honestly be ridiculous. Like… he has a form of telepathy where he is directly communicating with his opponents breasts to discover what the breasts’ owner is thinking. Did I mention ridiculous? AAaanndd yes… many, most, of the breasts are drawn ridiculously. You can’t have a small waist and size EEE tits. There aren’t enough demonic magiks in the multiverse to make the physics work on that. BUT I really honestly mean it friends… if you can get past that, the series is really good! The Magic Demonic Storyline is great. Angels versus Fallen Angels versus Devils versus Norse Pantheon versus Humans? Yes please… every day of the week, thank you!! An immense deep culture that includes Children’s Entertainment for Devils and Ranking Games to discover most powerful Devil family? Yes! Too many shows lack World Building and this actually has some good world building!! A wide set of varying characters with their own motivations, strengths, weaknesses, personalities, hopes, and dreams? YES. You’ve got The King of the group: A female from a royal house that doesn’t want to be forced into marriage “for the good of the realm.” The Queen of the group: A female that is part fallen angel and part devil; she wears the garb of a priestess but serves Hell. The First Bishop? An adorable but incredibly shy and anxious vampire boy that wears girls’ clothing as it aides his anxiety. The Second Bishop? An honest to goodness Saint who wished to serve God but was betrayed by the Fallen Angels and became a Devil instead. The First Knight? A young child was tormented by the Church in order to create a Holy Weapon; his vengeance was to survive their cruelty and dedicate himself to a Devil family where he could be a Holy Weapon fighting against the Church. The Second Knight? A young Angel who was also tormented by the Church to become a Holy Weapon; when she discovered that the True God had been killed in the Second War of Heaven, she lost her faith and was accepted as a Devil, “if that is what she wanted to do.” The First Rook? A yokai (or demon/monster) type that is actually a cute kitty… but she’s also the tsundere because she was going to be executed for her sister’s crimes until Lucifer protected her. The Second Rook? Odin’s bodyguard! After Odin and Loki fight, Odin (cuz… like Zuess, he’s kind of a dick) simply abandons her on earth… giving her no home, no place to be, no purpose, and now crippling abandonment issues… she is made a Devil, upon her choice, so that she would “have somewhere to be.” And all eight Pawns? Are put into one boy, the main character of the story… aka The Harem King aka Perv aka Issei aka The Welsh Dragon aka The Grabbin’ Dragon. SO… what I’m trying to say is.... yeah. Lots of boobies, titties, ridiculous over the top stuff all around… but still an honest to goodness GOOD SHOW underneath all of that… hyperlecherous stuff.

An excellent example of this? On every front? I could be wrong on the episode title but I think it is “A Maiden’s Heart is Complicated.” In that episode, Rias Gremery (The King figure as She is the most powerful in her peerage) is coming to understand more how she genuinely feels about Issei and wants to know, honestly, how he feels for her. THIS is another great storyline as far as The Harem King and Overt Lechery. Because… if there is a woman that is honestly special to you… but you act like you just want to chase any woman with tits… what do you think that woman is going to think?! And that’s where we are with this episode. Issei has no ability to pick up on how Rias is feeling. Every time she asks, “How do you see me?” He comes up with a dumb response that he doesn’t understand is dumb. Because he says he sees her as the leader of their group. Not “as a woman” or “as a friend” or even “as the woman I love”. He always starts with “as the leader” and, of course, she’s hurt by this. The Devil who was always ever “HER TITLE” finds herself in love and the object of her affection answers, “How do you see me?” with “A TITLE!” Of course she’s upset. But he doesn’t get it. So that’s the episode conflict. Towards the end of the episode, Issei is alone contemplating his thoughts and trying to figure out what is going on. Then The Queen walks in and strips, as does The First Rook and The Second Bishop. It looks to be sexy fun times and I imagine a lot of people would roll their eyes and turn the episode off at that. But they’d miss the point. The Queen has a healing power, The First Rook has a healing power, and The Second Bishop has a healing power. YES, they’re naked. But their statements are “We’re here to heal you.” And it seems like a non-sequitor. He isn’t damaged, he hasn’t been in a fight… what do they mean? And as they talk? The true pain of the character Issei is revealed. Not a physical pain but a genuine pain stalking his heart. You see, the first woman Issei ever dated… murdered him. That isn’t a metaphor. She was a Fallen Angel in disguise. She was disguised as a High School Human and Issei was a High School Human. She murdered him. Rias resurrected him as a Devil. And when Issei faced her again? The first woman he ever dated? She was brutal to him. Explaining to him in agonizing detail that she never liked him, nobody could like him, and that she thought their date was boring and painful and could barely wait to kill him by the end of it. That was his dating history. So… of course when this knock out of a woman who he really genuinely cares about is trying to ask him “How do you see me?” He… screws it up. Because he never healed his heart about his limited and fucked up dating history. And if you don’t understand why I was identifying SUPER strongly and holding back my own tears? Than you don’t read enough of me. lol. So yeah… MBFITWW was watching this scene thinking, “Hot! Naked chicks!” Meanwhile, I’m watching it holding back tears thinking, “That’s all we need. Someone to understand that just because we’re guys doesn’t mean we see all relationships with women as surface. Pain is still pain but we’re not allowed to process it, apparently. People that understand… that care… that’s so awesome. I wish I had people I could open up with, cry, heal, and have them just hug me and understand without judgment.”

alt text

Meanwhile, my wife has decided to not join us. She remained upstairs and watched TLC Television and Horror Films. But mostly? She worried herself sick. You see, our lawn has become considerably overgrown. When we first tried to start our lawnmower, it did not work. So we took it to the place that fixes lawnmowers in town. After two weeks, Wife was worrying about it. I told her to call the business. She finally mustered up the courage to do so in week 3 and they informed her that they only have one guy who works on non-riding lawnmowers and he is there one day a week. As our lawn grew, Wife became more and more wracked with anxiety and guilt about our yard “looking like shit” and our neighbors “being angry with us.” My response to that concern was always, “If you’re worried that our neighbors are upset with us; you can always ask them to borrow a lawnmower!” Another two weeks passed. Wife is now worrying herself into stomach aches over our lawn and yet has not approached any of the neighbors or even called the business back! Classic Her. Worry, Internalize, Allow it to Ruin Every Hour of Every Day… do nothing to resolve the damned issue.

At the start of the Memorial Day Weekend, she finally just asked me to approach the neighbors… which is disappointing in a few ways. First, all of the neighbors have intentionally introduced themselves to her. I don’t know many of them because I spend most of my time at work and several of the neighbors are a little wary of introducing themselves to The Prosecutor. But Wife still allows them to “meet the new neighbors” and so they’ve all made proactive introductions to her. Second, Wife needs to figure out how to do things like “ask people for things”. This is like the damned “can’t find the restroom at the bar” issue all over again. If you have a problem, someone else can give you the answer, ASK THAT PERSON FOR ASSISTANCE. Third, this isn’t an imposition or nuisance. Asking to borrow things from neighbors is an American Tradition. Besides… if our neighbors are really as upset with our lawn as Wife is imagining them to be… asking to borrow a lawnmower would be RESOLVING a nuisance. But no. She’s apparently entirely incapable. So on Friday, I go next door and ring the doorbell. No answer. Not surprised (as it is me). So Saturday, I kept my ears open to hear for the sound of lawn mowers. I hear one get started, decide to finish watching the Anime Episode with my friend, then excuse myself to go outside to approach lawn mowing neighbor. As I get upstairs, I hear the lawnmower turn off. As I get outside, I see the neighbor move the lawnmower to the garage. As I reach his property, I see the neighbor backing out of the driveway in his truck. Damn. So… kind of cock-blocked in my efforts to borrow a lawnmower.
alt text


Filiola May 30, 2019

To be fair, I would have asked my husband to ask the neighbours too haha. Actually, I would have just called a local lawn mowing guy to have it done for me until we got the mower back.

Perpetually Plump Filiola ⋅ May 30, 2019

Or just go buy a new mower. They're really inexpensive....

Park Row Fallout Perpetually Plump ⋅ May 31, 2019

One of the things I had mentioned to my Wife was actually to ask the neighbors if there were any kids in the area that mowed lawns for cash. I mean... honestly, the neighbors talk to each other all the time during the day so I figured it would be an easy thing.... when outside with Nala just look over the fence and say, "Hey Dave, our lawn is bugging me. Do you have any recommendations for a kid or a service to take care of it?" Ah well.

Perpetually Plump Park Row Fallout ⋅ June 01, 2019

Yeah. That's also a really excellent choice. And one I've made when I was between mowers!

Rhapsody in Purple May 31, 2019

I would have hired someone to do it too. That also helps build the local economy.
My mower broke and I started paying someone to do but now my dad sneaks over to deal with it before I can get the mowing person around

Park Row Fallout Rhapsody in Purple ⋅ May 31, 2019

This was one of my ideas as well. I figured (and told Wife) that if borrowing a mower felt too intrusive or like too much of an imposition, she could at least ask if they could recommend a service or a local kid who could mow for us until our mower was repaired.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.