Happy Birthdays To You in meh...

  • May 28, 2019, 7:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today marks 3 birthdays of people around me.

My niece (oldest sister who passed away, her daughter):
She sent me a text one day and I said who is this? because she had a new number. She said your favorite niece. I said which one? I tell all my favorite nieces they are my favorite. And we still laugh about that to this day.

My step/bonus mother:
I resigned to stop call her my stepmother because it seems cold to me. I know who my mother is. I know she’s not. I also know she’s my dad’s woman. So I now call her bonus mom. I didn’t make it to church on Sunday but I just drove by the house to give her a card. It’s going to be all crumpled up, but it’s the love that counts.

Then There’s Him:
On Facebook, I put on his page “Happy Birthday, Step Cousin…”
He almost immediately texted me and said, “Ole Targaryen ass Birthday Greeting!!”
(If you follow Game of Thrones, you may know what that means; if not, Jon Sno -alleged bastard of one family-, in the end had sex with Daenerys Targaryen, who, as it turns out, is his aunt and he wasn’t a bastard after all. But he was an auntie screwer; Further context, both of our bonus mother’s are sisters.) So we exchanged a few words, that culminated in him basically saying he’d do it again. I ignored that and sent him a picture I have of Queen Targaryen on her throne in the form of a Funko Pop doll and said she sends her regards. To which he found ecstatically hysterical.

Now that that’s out of the way…

I didn’t eat as much as I wanted to. I didn’t even get beef ribs like I wanted to, but I did eat for Memorial Day. I went to Shelly’s house. She invited twice. The first time, I didn’t really notice but then the last time, I told her I’d show up. My son and I went to see my mo and then we set off down 270 for North County to her house. It was awesome to be around my girl. We talked, watched “If Beale Street Could Talk” and we both didn’t like the ending of it. LOL My son provided his fair share of funnies as well. Even the burnt corn from the grill her mother made. LOL

I was going to stop by my dads, but I realized they didn’t cook. I walked up the stairs and I could see the kitchen was dark even though everyone that lived there was home. All the cars were there. So I called him as I went back to the car and started it up and went home. I did want to talk to him anyway because I didn’t get to see him on Sunday.

The day before, I watched the boys for my daughter. That was fine. After they left and son got home from work I went to my uncle’s house. My cousin, who had been living in Florida for 10 years or so, has come back home. I didn’t know he was back at all. Had been back since February. So his sister gave me his number after she had said he wanted to see me and my son. My son was his little friend back in the day despite the 16 year age difference. So I told him we’d be coming over. And we got there and came around the back. I saw him and spoke. He, like everyone else, was in total shock and awe about how tall and grown up my son is now. Now, cousin is tall. Has always been tall and lanky. My son is taller than him now and I’ve got pictures of him hugging my son. It was hilarious. It was such a hug/love fest between those two. More so coming from my cousin who just couldn’t believe his eyes and such. It was funny. I started to go over on Memorial Day because I saw his sister’s car in the driveway, but I was trying to get to my dad’s. I didn’t want to go over there and eat up what they had because it wasn’t a whole lot, as they were cooking some when we were there on Sunday.

ONE MORE THING…

So, before we left on Sunday, my neighbor started in with his loud tv again. I consulted with a friend at work and he said that there really is no way to do anything non-invasive to soundproof my wall. So Sunday, since I’ve been in involuntary heathen mode anyway, before I went to my uncle’s house, I turned on my keyboard’s preset music. I left it on regular level volume, put it in my bathroom which can also act as an amplifier, closed the door and left the house. I didn’t get back home until about…close to midnight. when I got home, I could hear a cricket fart after I turned off the keyboard.

Monday, I had to clean out the basement as much as I could. So with all the flooding going on, well, it’s basically the heavy rain causing the problems, what has never happened is that the drain in my basement never got overflowed or backed up. I had mattresses and box springs down there, a trash bag for my used laundry items. and just regular junk that needs to go, but I can’t bring myself to go through the stuff and toss it. So I went down on Saturday to do a load of laundry and saw this devastation in the basement. My basement is muddy and mucky and I think some poop came up. As I was cleaning, something smelled horrible and I almost tossed my cookies. At any rate, my son and I got the box springs out and the last thing to go was the mattress. It was disgusting. The mattress was being squeezed and stuff was dripping and I got something on my arm and I “EWW!! EWW!! EWWWWWW!!” like a little girl. LMAO I washed my arm and put hand sanitizer on it and washed that off too.

As we came out of the house, neighbor was already out of his unit. He looked at me. I looked at him. He was headed out of the gate. He asked if I needed that to be left open. I said Yes please. And he did. And I said Thank you. When son and I got back home, he was coming home too. I pull up a bit past the gate so I can back into my parking space. We get in the house. It’s cricket fart quiet again. I turn on my tv and chill a bit and then I could have sworn I heard his tv from upstairs. It got very faint, and then it went quiet.

I don’t want to say I won. I’m not a gloater. Maybe he was having a bad night. But I didn’t have to worry about him though. Thank God for the victories.

Now, off to look up recipes for lentil burgers.

Take care and happiness to you all…

Kindest regards,
Sister


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.