Unchained. in Phoenix

  • May 17, 2019, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have lived my entire life in mental and emotional chains. Some self-imposed and others not so much. As a child, I began to believe some pretty negative things about myself. I’ve spent my entire life trying to find a place to fit, you know? I’ve never really felt like I belonged anywhere, or that I was wanted, appreciated, respected, or valued wherever I was. I always felt like an outsider, always awkward and tongue-tied and weird. I was always painfully self-conscious, constantly aware of my body, my weight, my facial expression, my hair, everything about myself - and I always felt all of it was just wrong, off in some way. I was never comfortable in my own skin, or in my own mind.

In the past 7 months or so, I’ve managed to throw off a lot of those chains. I started a job last October where I’m valued and respected. I started cutting toxicity from my life and making new friends. I started opening up about myself more, being less self-conscious, and feeling less like an outsider. I began looking at myself without filters, forcing myself to see the really ugly bits, the hurtful bits, and figuring out ways to repair them.


Last updated May 18, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.