MAKING THE BED in Postcards 4

  • May 15, 2019, 1:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

An early bedroom layouut.

In a September 2017, a New York Times article by Katherine Rosman caught the magic of making your bed.

“When Adm. William H. McRaven was stationed in Afghanistan, his days were filled with chaos and unpredictability. “We could have soldiers dying and the horror of civilian casualties,” he said.

“His hedge against the stress of chaos and bloody warfare? The morning ritual of pulling the corners of his bedsheets at a 45-degree angle and tucking them tightly.

“You need an anchor point for your day, and sometimes that anchor is as a simple as making your bed,” said Mr. McRaven, now the chancellor of the University of Texas and the author of “Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life … and Maybe the World.”

“It will give you a small sense of pride, and it will encourage you to do another task and another.”

It’s true. And each day is made up of tasks. I often made the bed when we lived in the big house. Since we moved here, I rarely make my bed. I suppose I should be ashamed. I really appreciate the orderliness of a just made bed. That certainly feels better than that vague sense of guilt when you don’t make the bed.

I’ll think about it. Think about doing it again, and I’ll let you know. Do you make your bed every day?
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Great minds think alike. Suggesting that I go to the store on my scooter. He’s working hard too.

  • Myself: There a couple of angled corners on the way to the store. I thought I might fall over last time.

  • Photo: Mine: 2013.

  • Reading: E. Moon.

  • Gratitude’s: That I finally found a bed picture different than the first one.


GypsyWynd May 15, 2019

I pull up the sheet that covers my bed to protect it from muddy paw prints. That constitutes making my bed.
When I was a kid, my mom insisted on my having a bedspread, and I had to make the bed every motning. I hated bedspreads. No one saw my bedroom, and the bedspread served no useful purpose that I could see, especially since I wasn't supposed to lay on top of it.

Marg May 15, 2019

I do indeed although nowadays that's a much easier affair with duvets of course. I sometimes leave it crumpled if Bailey is sleeping peacefully on it but the minute he moves off I'm there straightening it up! And when I used flat sheets I had to have mitred corners like I'd been taught in my nursing course - nothing less would do :)

aunty EM May 15, 2019

Yes. I have a need to make the bed every morning... I didn't when I was a teenager, but have for over a century....

Ragdolls May 15, 2019

Just making the bed makes even a messy room look better. Grew up having to make the bed every morning. Now I often pull the sheet and blanket up over the pillows while the bedspread remains fan-folded at the foot of the bed. Smooth and neat...Just not complete.

NorthernSeeker May 16, 2019

I sometimes make the bed. There is very often one of us in it napping.

Deleted user May 17, 2019

I do make my bed . It’s a pain in the butt though. I have a tempurpedic that is adjustable for my back . Sheets make it through the night but have slipped off corners ( primarily at the head ) daily . So every day I have to fix that . I change my pillow cases every couple days. I think they look too wrinkled , and that gets tedious, but I am not happy with the bed otherwise . I wash all of it every week and the duvet and pillows monthly . Now that I think about it ; beds are a lot of work ! :-)

woman in the moon May 16, 2022

You have always had the most delicious interiors on the internet. I love every single shot. Plus your one photo per entry/per day is a discipline beyond habitual joy. I want to think you for being here and for having been here. And for being here in whatever future the gods see fit to give us.
I came to bedmaking late in life. I need to look up that soldier's book. It's all about discipline.
Come to think about it - discipline is not my strong suit. But I acknowledge its power and its rewards.
Love to you, through all these years.

Zipster May 30, 2022

No, to my shame I don't. JH made it the other day and I loved the orderliness of it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.