One bird of prey and seven crows in My new life, a book

  • Feb. 24, 2014, 4:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

While cycling the countryroad near my house I noticed a treetop with a bird of prey. He was surrounded by crows. At first I found it odd, surprised that the crows weren't afraid. Then realised crows aren't the kind of birds easily scared. They flew off when I neared and at last the bird of prey did too. I saw one crow was pestering him, flying just below. The bird of prey followed the treetops along the road, getting down a few times before I was too near again. I could watch him closely. Wonderfull!

Physically I am doing quite well, taking in mind that yesterday it was only 5 months since my operation. I am on a new daily routine. Starting with a bike ride for a quarter of an hour, where I saw the birds and after turning the corner two rabits playing on the road. They had so much fun before they noticed me. It was not that early because getting ready takes more time nowadays. I made a circular tour, I had to bring my bucket to the dairy farm for a fill with old-fashioned creamy milk. I felt save enough to ride the busier road through the village.

My mental health is mostly okay. There is a huge feeling of thankfulness I am alife. Last month I got checked for the first time. You are glowing with health my surgeon commented. My tumormarker showed the lowest in four years, 1.0 Yet I know I cannot say I am cured, it is NED now. I read that term on an American weblog about cancer. It means no evidence of disease. That is exactly what it is at the moment. The fight to get on my feet again is partly over. I don't have to fight so hard anymore for each and every new step I take. Yet there the process to accept my new body, my restrictions and while most days I don't give it a thought, at times it gets at me. I visited a psychologist. She thought I might suffer from the traumatical years of my illness.

If you are ill I think there is only one way to survive and that is to continue be positive. It may sound bad but it helped to think of all the friends that passed away. I told myself, no reason to complain as those 7 other people did not make it. They died of their cancer while you are still there, only partly damaged.

I realise I talked about my routine which is more than a bike ride. I take a rest first, writing an entry is restful. Then I do a bit of gardening, it feels like Spring here but I know we will get rain and wind, frost... not such a big chance. Resting again, a bit of housholt stuff. Walking, maybe to the seaside today. More resting and more house cores. And if possible some extra gardening. Oh yes, in between my exercises, strenghening the muscles in belly and pelvis.

It does sound busy, lol. I wish there was a spell check here.


crystal butterfly February 24, 2014

I have heard that cancer feeds on negative. It would take a lot to get me back into shape to ride a bike.

Fishermanswife crystal butterfly ⋅ February 24, 2014

You may do other things instead. Everyone choses his challenge!

Tick Tock Tick February 26, 2014

Your tempered report is very honest and realistic. I appreciate that. You are wise to have sought help adjusting to the major trauma your body has faced and the changes in your lifestyle. In October our niece had a second surgery for a benign brain tumor. Her neurosurgeon expected it to be an uncomplicated surgery, but quite the opposite occurred and all these months later she continues with daily therapy. Her thinking, thankfully, is fine but she has balance and vision problems. She also has Bell's Palsy now and perhaps it's permanent. The expected exhaustion remains causing her life to be lived between naps. I tell you this because I know it is not all easy and one can get one "down." / Hearing your observations of the bird of prey hounded by crows and the playful rabbits and the various chores you do, make me smile, since those are things I take pleasure in, too. / The NED is the prize we who have had cancer all seek. May you remain perpetually in NED!! / It seems you must have an ileostomy. One of my co-workers had one and he shared with me the effect it had on his daily routine. / Are you comfortable and without pain now? / I am so very thankful to hear from you. It is apparent your life force is strong. My sincere best wishes for one happy day after another!

Fishermanswife Tick Tock Tick ⋅ February 28, 2014

How difficult for your niece to accept that..

I have a colostomy and an urostomy, if these are the right words. Indeed, my daily routine has changed, had to change, but mostly I don't have pain if I take in mind to be careful with what I eat. Thanks for wishing me well.

Marg March 04, 2014

So lovely to read - you've come a long way in such a short time which I feel is much to do with your positive attitude and obvious strength! Tom must be absolutely delighted :)

Deleted user March 24, 2014

Fantastic progress. I also think your positive mindset is a very big advantage to you...along with your determination.

I have some small deformaties after the arthritis and I have had to accept these permanent changes in my body - it's small compared to your adjustments but gives a small insight into your situation. I'm grateful for the function I have, I could have been a lot worse.

Fishermanswife Deleted user ⋅ March 25, 2014

I totally agree. Count your blessings!

bill_gardner April 08, 2014

Really glad to hear NED, and hope you continue to improve, getting stronger everyday. I am back to walk/jog, and seeing if the heart rate stays low enough for me to contemplate officiating football again this year (soccer in our country). KEep strong, and pleasant, positive thoughts

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.