Unpopular Opinion in Current Events

  • May 12, 2019, 11:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know why I am so enthralled by this James Charles vs Gage Gomez and the James Charles vs Tati drama. Maybe I just like watching narcissists fall from grace? I am hoping that you guys have more self-respect than me and that you don’t know who these people are. I’ll give a quick backstory. Tati and James are social media influencers and both of them are very involved in the beauty industry. Tati was James’ mentor and she helped him build his empire. He betrayed her by promoting her competitor’s products on his Instagram. It’s a long story as to why this was a big deal. She since then spilt the tea on YouTube. Laid it all out and read him to filth. To add insult to injury she brought up the way he treats straight men. He embarrassed her frequently in front of her family and friends. It disturbs her how he constantly tries to manipulate them into sexual acts. He is very open about it on Social Media. Now, James is still involved in some drama with a straight man named Gage Gomez. Basically, Gage is straight but got caught up with James and then was bi-curious so he and James got involved in an off and on situationship online which blew up at Coachella when they met in person for the second time. James feels let on and Gage feels taken advantage of. Gage felt pressured to go and see how things would turn out with James. He wanted to explore his feelings. Turns out that he did not have romantic feelings for James and James did not like the way that turned out for him so he made subtweets about it and his fans started harassing Gage. James was gaslighting Gage and turned him into a clout chasing con artist tease and refused to clear his name. James then threatened Gage when Gage said that he was going to post a video to tell his side of the story. When I read those text messages I saw exactly how manipulative James Charles really was. Yes, James was hurting in those text messages but you can see how he was constantly trying to trap Gage into saying something that he wasn’t. James was clearly trying to get his receipts together.

Anyways, I think that situation registered with me so much because of my situation with Roarke. Roarke is straight and we both had very strong feelings for each other and that whole mess was confusing and painful for both of us and we both got hurt. I knew where I stood with Roarke and I did play the victim in that situation very well but I wasn’t that innocent. Neither was he though, believe you me. That is a long story right there but all the bad stuff that happened to me in my life after that situation I accepted as Karma. Anyways, Gage was bi-curious and then he discovered that he did not have romantic feelings for James. That’s how bi-curious works right? James did not like how that played out and he felt that he was entitled to Gage because James paid for that whole week at Coachella. Gage is now being accused of leading James on to get more clout but there is just no evidence of that whatsoever. Gage had no presence on social media during Coachella. Bottom line, none of this is my business and it affects me in no way but I can’t get enough of it.

There was a lot of James Charles stans in my life and whenever they brought him up to me my reaction was always the same. “He’s so gross.” People assumed that I was femphobic but I’m not. I understand that some people need to over-sexualize everything and I can live with that but I don’t like being around people that do not know how to turn it off. It makes me uncomfortable, I don’t need to hear about somebody’s sex life when I didn’t ask to hear about somebody’s sex life. Blogs and stuff don’t bother me. It’s people in real life that I just met or a friend or family member. My ex-friend Mel was so bad for that. Like whenever she told me about her sexcapades I would have to picture it and she was not somebody that I wanted to picture naked. Yes, I might be a prude but I don’t slut shame or dislike anybody for anything or anyone they do because we’re all allowed to make our own choices. However, how is one to feel when a friend hands you their phone and says “oh, don’t worry I wiped off the pussy juice after sexting this morning”? #EpicCringe.

There really is no moral to this entry. Just an unpopular opinion I suppose. I don’t like when people can’t help themselves from being pervy. Sorry about it. There is a time and place for it. Like, would you want your friend talking about sucking cock at a dinner table at your wedding? As for the fetish James has for straight men… gross. I get it. I get the appeal but a fetish about converting them actually affects another person, negatively. I’ve left many parties embarrassed from the way my straight male friends were treated by gay men. Luckily my friends handled those situations with grace and treated the gay men with dignity, kind of the same way Shawn Mendes handled the thirsty comments from James Charles but I still can’t help but feel embarrassed. “I know he’s straight. I’m just flirting, it’s all just good fun,” they say as my friends are getting felt up… mmhmmm. I understand that there is a bit of a double standard here and that I should end this entry here while my foot is in my mouth. Also, I am using a lot of millennial terms here and I probably lost half of you by now anyway lol.


Last updated May 12, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.