Becoming Dust and Sand in Poetry

  • May 5, 2019, 10:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m just another tortured soul
Living in forgotten memories
I stare into the mirror of eyes
Reflecting the lies
I’ve seen all my life
Fast forward and rewind
I’m on the television screen
Watching myself die

I disguise my scars
So you don’t see my pain
I keep it in
Struggling with my name
Society claws at my heart
Eats my parts
Silently addicted to death
It nibbles and chews my soul
I’ve lost my way
Gave everything away
To understand who I am today

Erase me from existence
I no longer want a name
Tell me
What is real?
In a false society
That shadows my eyes
Trying to implement their design

I’m lost
Inside the characters
That I’ve played
In past lives
In this play
That I portray
I must be
The truth I create
And I don’t know
If anyone will ever understand
Even when
I turn to dust and sand


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.