In Case You wanna See How It Went Down in meh...

  • May 1, 2019, 1:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Her: It’s a fucking TV show!

Me: And your point? Can people not be moved by movies or tv shows? Or were you being snarky like all the others who declare, “I’ve never watched” it? Or was that sarcasm to make fun of the, “I don’t watch it” crowd?

Her: It’s the obsession and the emotional commitment people make. I tried to watch Nashville, and then thought, “What, I’m going to make space in my mind and schedule for a TV show?” Sorry, nobody likes someone who doesn’t like TV.l Would a heart attack be worth it, to be that emotionally committed to a show? A movie is a one-time thing, it’s over when you leave the theatre. This GOT thing is everywhere, even people who don’t watch can’t escape it. That’s different from the individual experience of reading a popular book or going to a movie. I just can’t fathom why people give over so much of their mental time to a sci-fi soap opera.

Me: Who’s having a heart attack seriously over a show??
Look.
There is nothing wrong with people who don’t watch tv, just like there’s nothing wrong with people who do. No one is ever better than the other because of what they do or not. People have their interests. You fault people for having interests and preferences? Some can say they can’t escape Trump in the news everyday everywhere. My overexposed problem is Beyonce, but don’t give it any weight. She’s everywhere and I look over it. Why do people drink? Do drugs? Escapism, right? Not that everyone has a mundane life that they need to escape from, but something different and not hurting anyone? Come on, now. Now granted, some people go overboard with how they react and share that makes people sick and have to make declarative statements to show, “I’m so much better than this.” Let these people be who they are. It’s enough critics and negativity in this world to blast on than to blast people about their choice to watch a TV show that moves them.
And It’s not Sci Fi. Far from it, but I digress on that point. LOL

MV: The same thing could be said about sports or any other thing that people enjoy doing with their free time. Why is the ‘individual experience of reading a book’ so much more worthwhile than any other entertainment?

Her: Because a book is a private individual experience that doest put teasers and previews and generally saturate the airwaves with it.

Me: People don’t talk about the books they’ve read? Do people not read the same books from time to time and share their experiences about those books? I remember 50 Shades of Grey (the books NOT the movie) caused quite a stir. Steve Harvey wrote a book, Think Like a Man, Act Like a Woman or something like that and, that too, caused quite a stir. The airwaves are saturated with EVERYTHING. The only way to avoid everything is to stay in the house with ear plugs and eye masks and sleep. Otherwise, ignore what you don’t want to deal with. Simple as that.

MV: I don’t really care what saturates the airwaves because I don’t pay any attention to it. GOT this season has been especially fun for me because I get together with my daughter and her friends to watch, and we have a little party every week. Just a good time with lots of laughing and getting to know new people. Can’t say I’ve ever experienced that with a book. To each his/her own.

(My simple statement sparked all this unnecessary foolishness)


Deleted user May 01, 2019

I don't know shit about GOT bcz I don't pay attn. to commercials and posts about it ... maybe this person should try to be less distracted by things that they aren't interested and focus their energy on what they like and something positive... or maybe being a complain-y negative bitch is their thing idk

Sister Deleted user ⋅ May 01, 2019 (edited May 01, 2019)

Edited

From politics and getting put in Facebook jail for insulting Trump supporters, to making sure everyone knows she's an atheist, to environmental issues she does it all. And somehow, Game of Thrones got you fucked all up? For real??

Deleted user May 01, 2019

also pro tip : if this bothers her so much she(?) obvs. ha no real fucking problems in life must be fucking nice

Sister Deleted user ⋅ May 01, 2019

Makes music, sings to old folks, smokes weed. If only I could do that.

Deleted user Sister ⋅ May 01, 2019

ugh ikr ... I've never watched GOT I'll prob. binge it when the series ends completely ... I don't like waiting for things like new seasons lol

Sister May 01, 2019

That I even entertained this drivel...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.