End Game maybe spoiler alert (that's sexist) in Second 1st

  • April 30, 2019, 6:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Maybe spoilers in this entry though I’m going to be honest I only see 1 of 4 readers of the four that read me consistently actually watching the movie (here’s looking you Woman who loves love) , Then again I imagine she’d be just as happy not seeing it so who knows. For the random reader.... I don’t know that you will care.

So.... I don’t even feel like talking about the story line.... but if you’ve been kinda following along the last 10 years it will very likely make you cry. If only for the knowledge that it’s Stan Lee’s last cameo.

I want to write this our because something I saw and noticed immediately has me a tad outraged. It brought feminism to my movie where I didn’t care for it one bit. There is a grand battle, Captain Marvel shows up and when taking on a significant force Peter Parker says something along the lines of “Think you’ll make it through that?” and other characters start showing up out of thin air doing little time portal jumps to that location or by using their unique power. That is of no issue. The thing is that Peter Parker in a kid at this time (17, 18 ish) and male, Captain Marvel as portrayed in her own movie is a strong woman. She is about to embark on something Peter was unable to do and she has back up. Again not the entire issue. The issue is that even though every marvel character from the 21 movies over the last 10 years is on this battlefield. So is there a way to explain why ever character that comes to her aid is FEMALE?

Sometimes I get it. Girls can do it too, girls can do it better, here are examples of strong females you have to look up to BUT dammit it there weren’t just as many men on the field yet none of them came to her aid? That would not have happened being as she was holding the one thing they were keeping from the bad guy. Strong female doing what a boy can’t? Why? why they play it like that? That’s not feminism that’s sexist.

That is all.


BossElLobba April 30, 2019 (edited April 30, 2019)

Edited

I noticed that too on my second watch through. I personally just kinda chuckled at it because it's a gimmick and subtle enough that I can ignore it. I also wondered where the hell Scarlet Witch went because one second she's tearing Thanos apart (well, his armor at least; she's clearly powerful enough to beat him on her own) and then she's gone for the rest of the fight because Thanos says Rain Fire?! Wut.

No movie is without sin. At least Endgame had less sin than the Battle of Winterfell. Jeezlus that battle made 0 sense. And it broke all the previous battle tones because plot armor was so thick that the 'battle' was dumb instead of epic. They completely failed at building tension because the only people who ever died were cannon fodder. There were only a few cleanly setup 'dramatic' deaths, which rob all of those characters of their value and importance. (I wrote it this way to avoid spoilers, in case you haven't watched it yet and care).

The red wedding was shocking because out of nowhere a dude stabs a pregnant woman's stomach. Cruel! Tirion killing his father was shocking because Tirion is so calm we don't expect him to fire, and then people get introduced to the concept of deadly rage in a person with a sociopathic personality (they get more calm and focused under stress, rather than erratic). It's clear the show's writers can't hold a candle to GRRM. Or if they can, they don't know what battles and death are like in the real world. Imagine if these bozos had written the opening scene to Saving Private Ryan? >.<

JHkerriokey BossElLobba ⋅ May 01, 2019

I am one of few who don't even really care to watch GOT but thanks for the non spoiling lol. Other things that bothered me were Thor being drunk (thought he had the metabolism of a god), Cap's aging (after time travel though he didn't age for 70 years) and I've always hated the sexual tension between Hawk Eye and Nat. He's married dammit lol. All in all though I would totally pay to watch it with another group of friends. I cried starting at when everyone showed up to battle all the way to the end. Stan Lee's last cameo also struck me in the feels. Good movie.

Down the rabbit hole... May 01, 2019

I'm going to see it this afternoon actually lol.

JHkerriokey Down the rabbit hole... ⋅ May 01, 2019

Hope I didn't ruin anything, sorry.

Down the rabbit hole... JHkerriokey ⋅ May 01, 2019

Nah it's not a big deal. I thought that whole all the women scene was stupid too.

JHkerriokey Down the rabbit hole... ⋅ May 02, 2019

She literally could have just comet flown herself over the whole thing!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.