Toxic Masculinity. in Phoenix

  • April 25, 2019, 5:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yep. That’s been my downfall. I’ve always been attracted to the wrong brand of masculinity.

Repeating the same actions and expecting different results over and over again is the definition of insanity.

I was insane. Fucking insane. Literally out of my mind with mental illness so powerful, so consuming, that I was attracted to the very thing that was my downfall. Every. Single. Fucking. Time.

I am no longer insane. I have seen what real masculinity looks like. Oh, you guys. It’s so beautiful. It’s a warm blanket, it’s the sun on your face, it’s a cool breeze on a warm day. It’s healthy and good for you and doesn’t require conditions or compromise of yourself.

Oh, it’s just damn nice.

Also, I have a date on Sunday with a guy I have never met. Started talking to him a couple of weeks ago, we were supposed to meet, he cancelled, and I thought that was the end of it. He texted me tonight and asked me out again, so what the hell, I’m game.

But if I detect even a hint of toxicity, I’m out of there. It’ll be in a public place where I have many friends on staff, so it’s all good. What’s the worst that can happen? I get a drink out of the deal and my friends won’t let me get stupid. I hope. I’ll have to call a pre-game meeting or something to let everyone know not to let me get stupid.


Deleted user April 25, 2019

Though you may not see it, my masculinity is in all ways perfect.

JenJenSleepyHead April 25, 2019

It’s quite eye opening once you see the difference between toxic and real masculinity, isn’t it?!

Have fun on your date!

Superposition April 28, 2019

The date is tonight, isn't it? I hope it's fun! I hope he's cool. I can see it all now though, even if he's not THE ONE or even A one, he's going to be a level up from the norm...I dunno, no matter what happens, I think this is going to be something great.

🌈 JustWillow 🦄 Superposition ⋅ April 28, 2019

He cancelled AGAIN! But, it's family related, and family is always first in my book, so I'll perhaps consider another date in a future.

Also, he is not the man I've written about here. This date is just a guy I met through a dating app. He was the only one who didn't message me a bunch of "Hey beautiful" superficial shit. He actually started a conversation with me. And he's kinda cute in his pics, so... Also, I have nothing at all to lose at this point. I'm pretty open to just about anything as long as it carries a healthy energy.

Superposition 🌈 JustWillow 🦄 ⋅ April 29, 2019

But if that mother fucker cancels again, kick him to the curb, family or not.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.