Rocky and hospital in Second 1st

  • April 13, 2019, 7:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Over the last few days we’ve been at the hospital. Rocky had some major pain and I had told him to make an appointment to get it checked out. He hates doctors so he puts things off. He had just gotten home from work Monday and I had made him dinner. I was a tad late so it was about 3:30 when he had finished eating (I had not eaten yet because I cooked then it was time for Justin’s). After he ate He called the doctor. They had an opening at 4:30 so we rushed out. The doctor had asked up why we hadn’t gone straight to the hospital. I told him “I had my gall bladder taken out a little over a year ago before that the pain would come and go. I was hopeful that was the case and we could kind of schedule in a surgery.” He did the press test and directed us to the ER. He asked if we were going to Rutherford County.... where else would we go? He said he’d call ahead.

The ER was packed like it is about that time. Either you go early morning or don’t bother. After dinner is stupid. We waited forever. I called my mom thinking he’s be having surgery and needing someone to come with me for the balance testing Wednesday. Rocky called his mom on the way over to the hospital so while waiting in the ER I got messages.... “What’s the address to the hospital”. Luckily she listened to logic and did not come down there. The ER was full. I texted her every time the doctors came in to tell her what they were doing next and what the results were. smh They kept him overnight. All the blood work looked good, it wasn’t his gall bladder but they found some inflammation that was causing the pain. Unfortunately nothing they could really do about but antibiotics and pain medicine. They wanted to observe him. They did a camera down his throat to his stomach the next day. Found a hiatal hernia. Basically from what I’ve been told it’s a portion of his intestines coming through his diaphram. However, I was not there when they explained it and his mother who is of no use to me. On Tuesday night I asked if she could come sit with him Wednesday because of my testing at Vanderbilt. She did but I got no real updates from her all day. Rocky called me and gave me drunk versions twice while I was on my way up for testing. When he was in the ER I was telling her every tiny thing. When he got pain meds, when his pain lvl went down, when he went back for tests, what the results were and everything anyone said while they were in the room. Seriously, and she thanked me and asked questions and I answered them so matter how dumb they were. Including “He’s not back there yet? with as much pain as he’s in?” Me: “It’s the ER, he has to wait his turn like everyone else, they don’t see it as an immediate danger”. There was a girl who came in who did go directly back but she had dropped to the floor in the entrance to the building. They were being called back to triage while the check in was still getting her info. There is a priority system for these things.

So, we were there till yesterday. They said they can’t do anything else for him. He looks more healthy than when he went in. He acts like he’s in less pain (choosing to be off pain meds longer). She wants him to stay on anti bios till they are gone (2 weeks) and follow up with his PCP. Apparently the inflammation was a lining that had somehow become infected. They don’t know how and anti bios to get rid of it. Thank God we are home now. I got 2 hours sleep in the first 39hrs. Then I had to come home and got 4 before I went back. The next night was before my tests so I came home and got 9 then 2 in the car the last night. Slept 10 in my own bed last night. The night before I had testing and had asked his mom to come the next day- she messaged Sammy and told him he needed to come up there so I can sleep. Sammy has school things and they weren’t going to be doing anything more that night. Sammy messaged me to see if he needed to I told him no Rocky is okay he’s sleeping and nothing else will happen tonight. He will be fine. Then I texted Rocky, because he was actually awake and wanting to read with I left .... but nothing medically was going to happen.

I’ll make another entry about my tests and trip out with my mom.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.