Mumunmununsdays in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • April 8, 2019, 1:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Boy, I hate Mumunmununsdays. Wish I could just roll out of bed and grab some enchiladas.

SO… after MBFITWW left last night the dog calmed down a bit. I think Wife’s absence plus the presence of a stranger was just… really weird for her. But these things are important. She’s got to realize that while we’ll try to keep her comfortable, happy, and taken care of… humans aren’t servants to Dog Interests. Humans come and go and do things that are not exclusively tailored to Dog Interests.

Though… not that such was a big message this weekend. Typically, MBFITWW and I can barge through a lot of Anime when we’re hanging out. This time? All we could get through was Date Alive and Season 2 of Dagashi Kashi.

Friend left around 8 or 9. I watched the Dog while Wife took a shower and did some house stuff. Then around 10:30 I took a shower. Around 11, I went to the basement to play video games and try to watch a little Adult Content. But with today being a work day, I was upstairs and in bed by midnight. Only to wake up at 6:30 to put water and food in the dog bowl… water and food the dog did not touch.... then take the dog out… so she could poop a single poop and pee less than 2 ounces. Brought her back in, put her back in her bed, left for work. Arrived at work exactly on time. Work is going to be 9 Juvenile Court Hearings almost immediately followed by me leaving work to book it to my A-PAP appointment so that I can get a machine calibrated for my head in an effort to keep me breathing in my sleep.

After that, I’m not entirely convinced on what I should do. I know I should work out. Let Wife watch the dog, go work out… get my miles in. But at the same time… Solo Dog Watching Duty Requests have to be used economically. If I have Wife watch the Dog while I’m working out, then I’ll have to watch the dog for the rest of the evening… meaning no time by myself to do things like video games or Adult Content. But it would ultimately be in my best interest to work out, I suppose. Other than today, work promises to be fairly manageable this week. I should take that as a sign to clean my office. We’ll see if I’m smart enough to do that.

I suppose the two biggest things for the coming week are Thursday and Friday. Thursday: Comedian and In Laws staying with us. That should be good for three reasons. (1) More socialization opportunities for the dog; (2) a decent test of our Couples’ Guest Room set up downstairs; (3) a date opportunity for Wife and I… who haven’t done much together just the two of us in… maybe more than a month. Friday: Veterinary Visit. This will be good and bad for the whole family. Good because all of Wife’s concerns about the dog can be discussed. Eating enough, eating the lawn, biting the carpet, gaining weight, growing… all those concerns can be fielded by a professional. Bad because of the two shots Puppy will be getting. PARVO is a good important one so that we can safely socialize puppy with other dogs. Rabies will be hard. Rabies is one of the most boom shots for a puppy so… we’ll see how Nala deals with it. We’ll see how Wife deals with it for that matter as Wife is a true Trypanophobic. Then this weekend, in a rare and almost unheard of twist in events… we have nothing planned.

Also, just a heads up to folks: Wish I were noting more/better. Today, due to my own schedule, I am reading but I’ve not a lot of time or brain power for insightful, intelligent, or compassionate notes. Sorry!
alt text

I have never shied away from admitting I can be a snob. I am a snob. There are specific things in life where I accept, confess, and take accountability for being snobby. And, perhaps this is a version of me that is an asshole… but I don’t intend to apologize for my snobbery.

For example… if a college graduate… someone who graduated college spells like a 3 year old? I’m going to be snobby about that. If you are a college graduate but when you hand write something you wrote “coledge gradyuwait” I’m going to heavily look down on you… and the institution that deigned to give you a degree. Because truthfully… I don’t expect everyone in the world to have the same level of intelligence or education. I don’t. But if you (1) are older than 20 and (2) claim to have an education.... there is a minimum expectation there. And I’m going to be snobby about it.

One area where I may need to be a bit more forgiving… is mythology snobbery. That being said… for fuck sake on some of these issues. I don’t expect people to have studied mythology to the same extent as I. I was doing comparative analysis of European Vampires to Asian Vampires when I was still in Elementary School. A large portion of my College Degree involved studying mythology. So if the word Lamashtu isn’t familiar to you… I’m not going to jump down your throat. I might jump down your throat… or certainly WANT to jump down your throat… if you take a limited run teeny-bopper bullshit story and demand/expect a mythology that is hundreds of years old to conform to THAT.
For instance… people asking “Why don’t Vampires in Buffy sparkle? Vampires are supposed to sparkle in daylight.” FUCK YOU GO AWAY!
For instance… people asking “All these vampire/human stories are so dumb. The vampire can just claim the human and their life spans would be joined together!” What? What? You saw True Blood and decided that that is what Vampires are supposed to be?

That kind of stuff… pisses me off probably FAR more than it should. I mean most people would just roll their eyes and say something like, “It’s fiction, get over it!” But… that is where my snobbery comes in. Academics argue that Vampire Lore could be as old as around 700 B.C. But yeah… almost 3 thousand years of historical mythology should be completely shrugged off because “omg, true blood was like so hot!” Just.... bothers me. Seriously… I get if you’re a fan of something. I do. But honestly?!?

I’m not going to watch Buffy The Vampire Slayer and get upset if Nosferatu doesn’t have the same mythology. Hell, I’m more likely to get upset when something like Underworld changes the mythology… they’re the New Kids on Campus… they have more to prove than does something that has been in the Cultural Lexicon for decades! That being said… if you can change something in the mythology in an intelligent, historically clever way? Hell yeah! Like… mirrors. The mirror myth can be said to stem from one of two places depending on if you want your vampires spiritual or not. If Vampires are creatures of demonic, satanic, or spiritual nature.... mirrors don’t reflect vampires because vampires don’t have a soul. If Vampires are monsters, beasts, natural creatures… mirrors don’t reflect vampires because mirrors were historically backed by silver, and Vampires have a unique relationship with silver (weakness). Therefore, if you are doing a ‘Beast’ version of the mythology, they can have reflections because mirrors aren’t (necessarily) backed by silver any more. Just… yeah, it gets me when these Twilight/True Blood kids start expecting, demanding, or complaining that mythology that has existed since before Christ doesn’t conform to their sexy, CW, romance novel expectations of vampirism.
alt text

Another one. Sorry if you’re here looking for super happy joyful celebrations. This is another thing that grinds my gears about The Internet and Online Culture.

An allegedly reputable Game Magazine released an article with the headline “Borderlands 3 Release Date leaks!” I refused to read the article because the headline was such an obvious desperate attempt at clickbait that I was disgusted.

Listen, friends. A leak, by definition, is information shared to the mass public that was not intended to be released to the mass public… or that was not intended to be released to the mass public prior to or at the time of the specific leak. Borderlands 3 announced that they would be announcing the release date on April 3. April 3 has come and gone and the Borderlands 3 Website specifically lists the release date as September 3.

If your magazine discusses a “leak” that information needs to precede the announcement of the information and it should precede the announcement of the announcement.

Example: If I were to inform you that Mortal Kombat 11 comes out on April 23rd… I cannot claim that as a leak. Because that is information that has been announced by the Game Studio and by Video Game Retailers.

Example: If I were to inform you that a Fire Emblem game was being released in July… I cannot claim that as a leak. Because that is information that has been announced by the Game Studio and is listed on Publicly Accessible Video Game Online Calendars.

Example: If I were to tell you that Marvel’s Spider-Man 2 game will be released for 2020 Holiday Season.... if it were true that would be a leak. Does anyone have confirmation of the game? Has the studio announced the existence of the game or a release date? Have retailers announced the existence of the game or a release date?

BORDERLANDS 3 ANNOUNCED THEY WOULD ANNOUNCE THE RELEASE DATE. THEY THEN MADE A VIDEO ANNOUNCING THE RELEASE DATE. THE BORDERLANDS.COM WEBSITE, RETAIL WEBSITES, AND ONLINE VIDEO GAME CALENDARS ALL HAVE THE RELEASE DATE LISTED. Claiming “Release date leaks” at this stage is like interrupting a regularly scheduled broadcast to alert the public that chairs can be used for sitting. Seriously.
alt text

So this part is going to surprise nobody. This part SHOULD surprise nobody. This is not a surprise.

Perhaps the most significant change in my life since getting the dog? It’s impact on my sex life. No, no, no. I’m not sitting here lying to myself saying “March’s 1 sexual experience proved to me that, but for the dog, Wife and I would be having crazy wild fun sex a lot more.” I’m a much more logical person than that. After almost 14 years together; I don’t expect one evening to set a new pattern, a new trend, and sex will become something that we ACTUALLY have more. I still expect that once or twice a month will be “a bit much to hope for” but I do hope that I am pleasantly surprised and we discover a way for “once or twice a month” to be something that we actually get to regularly.

So, I’m not talking about the fact that Dog Ownership negatively impacts the sex life with my wife. There wasn’t much of one to speak of to be negatively impacted. However, there would be occasions where I could view Adult Content and have a solo experience. That has been negatively impacted by having the dog. Solo Events like video games, masturbation, reading a good book… those things have become much more difficult to access. Perhaps that will change once the dog can be more independent. When I don’t have to watch the dog all the time to make sure she’s pooping/peeing outside. When I don’t have the dog glued to my side all the time. Maybe then I can do more than 45 minutes playing a video game… or have the uninterrupted alone time needed to get myself off. I sound like a whining, complaining, child, I suppose. The boy crying for boobies, lol. I would say pay it no mind but we all know better. I’m an individual that would enjoy having more passion and more lust in my life. Within reason. But then, that is likely why I am in the spot I’m in. Within reason. Perhaps staying with Aku could have given me that obsessive passion and needful lust… but I wouldn’t want to deal with THAT level of crazy to get it. Maybe I’ll figure it out some day. That balance between what I want, what I need, what I have, and what I can get. Maybe.

alt text


Anaiss April 08, 2019

There is a diarist here who claims to have several degrees, though it turns out they aren't really from a college or university, they are from technical schools that train you specifically for something like home health care giver, etc. This diarist seems ambitious and intelligent but judging from her writing, it's so hard to imagine she ever got through high school, let alone any "advanced" studies. Her spelling isn't bad, it's her grammar, which is horrible.

I think many of us have a bit of snob in us!

Down the rabbit hole... April 08, 2019

God I think you're way overthinking this whole puppy thing... take the dog downstairs, cuddle up on the couch and play video games or jerk off or whatever...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.