Dog Question in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • April 3, 2019, 12:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, folks…

I know there are people out there that would say “I don’t care if I go bankrupt, my dog is getting whatever he/she needs!!”

I’m not that kind of guy.

However, I am the kind of guy that thinks GOOD DOG TRAINING TRAINS THE DOG AND THE HUMAN. For that kind of training… I’d pay a premium.

SO… there is a one-on-one dog trainer that is willing to work with Wife and I on the Dog. This trainer keeps a schedule, has a plan, and is detail oriented. Something that I certainly want as it is important to well train a new puppy, especially a German Shepherd, especially since Wife is so nervous about “not being good for the dog.”

HOWEVER… our local area veterinarian also has a puppy class that is “drop in/drop out.” That could also be good as it would help Nala socialize with other people, other dogs, and other environments. It would also help Wife socialize with other people who may be in a similar “OMG, new dog stress!” moment.

WHAT I AM THINKING or at least what I prefer:

Step 1: Get Nala vaccinated and Health Cleared to be around other dogs
Step 2: Schedule the One-on-One sessions
Step 3: Attend at least one One on One session, to give Nala a base and Wife some confidence
Step 4: Attend Vet Socialization Class

It could cost upwards of $1,000 (including travel expenses) but if training the dog is what is best for the dog and my wife… money isn’t my concern.

Am I crazy?


Jafael April 03, 2019

A poorly trained dog is years of frustration, the dog's entire lifetime. How many years is Nala expected to live, and how much is that $1,000 across those years? How much is your frustration worth to you? Will you kick yourself later if you don't go for both?

From what I understand dogs really do better with structure. If you can only do one thing on training I'd say go for the one-on-one. You can always get the socialization by going to a dog park, if you have to. Personally, I'd spare no expense in training now, because this is the foundation you are setting up for your entire household for years to come.

Anaiss April 03, 2019

Training will lay the foundation for quality of life for you, your wife and Nala for the rest of Nala's life. I think a combination of One-on-One training and a class would be ideal if possible.

I know not everybody believes in it, but I have pet insurance on both of my dogs to minimize the chance of my ever being in a situation where I have to consider whether to treat my dog based on the expense. That being said, I have a friend who has spent thousands and thousands of dollars keeping her elderly dog alive and I would never do that. Quality of life matters.

Brodie 💗 April 03, 2019

Look into “sit means sit”. This dog training is awesome- pricey but it really works. And no, yo aren’t crazy for spending 1k. Eventually with the dog training, raising the dog will make your life (and wife’s life) much easier. Peice of mind=priceless!

Ginger Snap April 03, 2019

Training (including socialization) is super important. I'd spend a grand, for sure.

Deleted user April 03, 2019

You need to be there as well!

Park Row Fallout Deleted user ⋅ April 03, 2019

Agreed!! The socialization training would typically be most or half over before I could attend but the One on Ones for sure!

Pretend Mulling April 03, 2019 (edited April 03, 2019)

Edited

How about a combination of Steps 2 and 4? If that’s within your price range, I mean. And I agree, good training is worth the price tag.

Comfortably Numb April 03, 2019

If I had been able to afford proper training for my Hannah, she might still be with us. She was a good girl, and never hurt anyone, but the training, especially with certain breeds (German Shepherds, bully breeds, rottweilers etc) helps put more people at ease with them, helps battle the stereotypes and prejudices people have about them. In Hannah's case, it might have made the difference between her being allowed to live with us or not.

In ANY case, it will make your life easier and will make Nala happier. Dogs do best when they know what is expected of them.

Down the rabbit hole... April 03, 2019

Training is important but I don't know that I think it's necessary to do one on one training unless you have a specific problem like resource guarding or something. You definitely need to get her vaccines complete and it's so important to socialize her with other animals, people, and kids now. Also make sure that she's on heartworm prevention. I think one of the best free things you can do once she's vaccinated is to take her to your local pet store and just walk her around and let her meet people and dogs and teach her to sit etc in the store

Catleesi April 04, 2019

I think the one on ones will help improve your wife's confidence with Nala. It might make it easier to go with Nala to the socialization classes. If you have the money I would totally invest and spend the money on the puppy!

-d April 04, 2019

In my opinion, it depends on your level of knowledge and your personal desire to work 1 on 1 with your dog.

In terms of the vet class...Taking your dog as many places as possible, around people, children and other animals is crucial for helping your dog have an amicable temperament. When my dog was a pup, I brought him to dog parks, put him in doggie daycare, and took him for a ton of walks. I discouraged any kind of aggressive play. Play ended when he became over excited. But I didn't need to pay for a class to do that. And my dog is very well adjusted.

In terms of paying for 1 on 1 training, if you don't have the time or energy to train your dog yourself or if you aren't sure what to do, I'd suggest training. It's easy to accidentally teach your dog bad habits and having someone to guide you is useful. However...you can do it yourself if you put a bit of research in.

Filiola April 05, 2019

It’s a good investment if you follow through afterwards. That’s when the hard work starts. Otherwise it’s all pointless.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.