April 1(ish)- Resolution Check in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • April 2, 2019, 1:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I hope but cannot promise that at the beginning of each month, I will review my Yearly Resolutions and chart where I am. It is another way of keeping me honest, keeping me focused, and hopefully- keeping me on track.

Resolutions

(1) Weight Loss
Beginner Goal: Get under 200 lbs.
Intermediate Goal: Get under 170 lbs
Expert Goal: Get back to 160 or less
Path
Beginner Goal: Requires a 3 lb loss per month
Intermediate Goal: Requires a 5 lb loss per month
Expert Goal: Requires a 7 lb loss per month

JANUARY START: 235 lbs.
FEBRUARY START: 226.4
MARCH START: 223
APRIL START: 222
Total Lost 1 Month: 1 lbs
Total Lost Year to Date: 13 lbs

This requires some writing. Hopefully it doesn’t come as “excuses” but I want to speak to this. My plateau weight is 220. Since law school, no matter what diet or exercise program I’ve tried, I can’t get below 220. For March, I’ll give myself a bit of a break. It was a stressful, busy month with lots of body chemistry issues in the ways of (1) sleep was all fucked up; (2) diet was all fucked up; (3) cortisol levels were all fucked up. SO it is my hope that if I push (push, push, push) I can at least dip below 220, even if only by a pound or three, by the end of April. In short, it has been so long since I was under 220 that if I could remain at a consistent 119, I’d be over the moon!

Also, wanted to discuss this element: Scales & Measures
When I go to the doctor about my apnea, they weigh me. Granted, they weigh me with all of my clothes on, my shoes on, my every day just off the street kind of get up: Jacket, suit coat, button down shirt, tie, trousers, underwear, shoes, plus wallet, cell phone, business cards, pens, etc. That scale typically says 232 to 235 for my weigh in. Like lately. Like when I’m weighing in around 223, that scale has me at 234. So it got me to thinking about the scale I use. I use the digital scale at the gym, located on the second floor, and am wearing a workout shirt, workout shorts, exercise shoes, underwear, and socks. I typically weigh myself immediately after my workout (between 6 and 7). I have not weighed myself fully naked, in the morning, nor at home in a long time. I’m wondering if I should change this. Should I merely do a Sunday Morning Nude At Home Weight Check every week and use that measurement? Or should I still use the gym measurement? Or should I keep track and report both?

(2) Marriage Help
Wife and I get to a point in our marriage where Physical Intimacy exists and is not “the exception” or we begin the process of divorce.

JANUARY START: Counseling Sessions
FEBRUARY START: We’re doing counseling, re-connecting via exercise and board games, doing date nights, and she’s more accepting of kisses and physical closeness. Still no sex, though.
MARCH START: We actually had sex twice last month. That is a good start. But also, we’re seeing some back sliding in other areas. Attempting to create sustainable, consistent change, and healthy lifestyle choices is going to need to be a key focus.
APRIL START Some positives and negatives. In March, knowing how busy I would be… my wife would make Magic Risotto (which can feed one man for three weeks) for me to take with me as lunch. GOOD. She also allowed me a less restrictive alcohol consumption and alone time schedule. GOOD. We almost didn’t have sex the entire month. BAD. We really didn’t do a whole lot together. BAD. But when we did have sex this month, it was spontaneous, extemporaneous, physical, and fun… the most fun in sex we likely have ever had in our marriage. So that’s REALLY GOOD. Then the meltdown over the puppy happened. So that’s shaky.

Ultimately? I’d say we’re starting the month off on a shaky potentially positive footing. The sex was great, but obviously… I’d prefer more than once a month. The dog thing is a concern, but in the way that you would be concerned for a friend at the gym trying to break their weight lifting record. In that… it might be painful for them, but they won’t get stronger any other way.

(3) House Completion
Beginner Goal: Basement Finished
Intermediate Goal: Basement Finished & All Repairs Complete
Expert Goal: Basement Finished & All Repairs Complete & Fence Erected Properly

JANUARY START: Almost finished with Primary Basement Space
FEBRUARY START: All but one or two things finished with Primary Basement Space
MARCH START: Basement space has all furniture (minus dining room chairs) and most electronics properly hooked up. For Basement Completion need CMPtoHDMI converter, Dining Room Chairs.
APRIL START: Basement is, dare I say, entirely finished but for Dining Room Chairs. The entire inside of the house is almost entirely finished but for a few bits and bobs and going through all the required repairs. AND the fence. We get the fence up, the dining room chairs, the 3-Season Room and Back Patio furnitured.... I think our house is “Set Up” :) So… some work to do, but less each month!

(4) KEEP MY JOB and get better at it.

JANUARY Start: Job kept. Slow Season
FEBRUARY Start: Job kept. Things moving faster. Volunteering to help more.
MARCH Start: Job kept. March promises to be busy, full, and challenging.
APRIL Start: Job kept. Jury Trial under my belt (and a mostly win at that!) Hopefully, April won’t be too insane but that I can still learn and improve! :)


Comfortably Numb April 02, 2019

Congrats on the (mostly) a win! :) Looks like you're doing well with other stuff too, although that puppy thing, man....IDK about that one.

Down the rabbit hole... April 02, 2019

I don't prescribe to a particular diet exactly, but I know for me personally, if I want to lose any weight I have to pretty much entirely give up carbs. My general rule is no bread, no potatoes, no pasta. My problem is I love all the carbs... I'm not even a sweets sort of girl... give me all the savory carbs.

Jafael April 02, 2019

I love this progressive update method. I'm big on setting goals, and reviewing progress!

Purple Dawn April 02, 2019

You're doing very well :) Pat yourself on the back once in a while and spoil yourself a bit! Take care,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.