Oh Wow... in meh...

  • March 29, 2019, 10:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not really giving any weight to it, but....

So when I was upset at the Officer Asshat about how he was handling my situation with the plate tags, I took my gripe to Facebook. I sent it as a message, then I put it as a review, as in not recommending SLMPD.

Today, I got a message from the police department saying they sent my message to supervisors for review and they were sorry for the inconvenience.

I am actually shocked.

Ever since serving on a grand jury, well even before then, and because I’m like in love with law/criminal justice type stuff, I’m not as…down?…on the police because they DO have a tough job. I do not agree with the “Blue Line” nor do I agree with unnecessary brutality. I watched a video the other day when 8 officers pretty much surrounded one guy for just video taping. One of the officers that was there was just standing there with his hand on his gun “for safety reasons”. Dude had a phone or video camera and this man is standing here with his hand on his gun. Anyway, I try to give officers the benefit of the doubt, and they are public servants. Don’t treat the public bad. I practically work in customer service and deal with the public. I KNOW it’s trying, but we have to put on the face whether we want to or NOT. Trust some folks have a hard time calling police, so when they do, don’t be a flipping jack ass.

I’ve already resolved that if I EVER get pulled over for anything, I will not move a finger except to roll down my window and they will get in my car and dig for all my information. I’m not touching a thing. You will not get a chance to shoot me. And yes. I’m paranoid about things like that because it can happen.

So I guess this will be my official entry for the day.
I will finish reading, now.
Thank you for your time.

Kindest regards,
Sister


Justme_InaBoat March 29, 2019

Being involved in law enforcement at one point, I think your views or suspicions are worthwhile. Respect should be paramount for an officer when he/she is approaching someone. I think social media/news (I guess they're the same these days) plant a seed for them, as much for the rest of us, that never really gets addressed on their end. I remember riding with a superior that had pretty staunch political views but felt, as a person, it was his responsibility to control himself in light of the situation. He said more often than not, approaching them with respect was extremely disarming for the others involved and they could usually solve the issue.

As for your manner of handling being pulled over. Everything yes. I've done it myself. "My license is in my back pocket, can I get it out?" - "My registration is in my glove box, am I ok to get it for you?" etc. I know what the thought process is and I still won't move until the officer asks for certain things. Which is smart, but unfortunate, as well.

There is a certain segment of society that believe the public should willingly surrender to the police in any situation. It's way more complicated than that. The public has a right to expect being treated with respect by local law enforcement. If you didn't get that then you have every reason to state your mind about the department. I think it was wise of them to reach out to you like they did.

Sister Justme_InaBoat ⋅ March 29, 2019

Thank you for this.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.