I Could Have Easily Written That in meh...

  • March 21, 2019, 11:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

(Note: This is just a retelling of a situation that I was in that I’ve read about recently. When I say been there done that…)

Many, many times I said I wouldn’t fall for it. I said I would give it up, give him up. The cycle was tiresome. Yet, I found myself in his clutches. Again.

I was done. I stated so. We had a disagreement. I bowed out of this situation. I was done.

I was left alone. Little to no contact. The little contact because we have children together. I was cold and stand offish. Not buying into the small talk. Stuff like that. Weeks went by. I’m feeling better. Out of sight, out of mind. I’m not lonely. I was tired of being used anyway.

Phone rings in the middle of the night. “Can we talk?” About what? “We need to talk. Can you come over?” In my head, I already know the routine. I know the script. We talk, he kisses me, I pull away, I cry, he kisses me, I give in. Great sex. Feel hopeful the next day. Feel stupid the day after that when things go back to how they have been AND I see him with the new chick he just said he didn’t care for anymore. I could do something stupid like make her aware that we slept together recently, but what does that prove? That I can have him anytime I want or he can have me? There is a difference.

So do I stay or should I go?

Like a dummy I went. All that stuff happened again. All the same insecurities happened again. All the depression happened again. Then one day, I saw his promises for the empty mason jars they were and I smashed every last one of them.

I walked away from them and never looked back.
So when you’re serious about walking away, you will walk away.


Last updated March 21, 2019


Telstar March 21, 2019

Sounds reasonable to me.……...

Sister Telstar ⋅ March 22, 2019

Self preservation has to intervene at some point.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.