Yeah, Yeah, I Know... in Day by Day

  • March 19, 2019, 8:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…I never call, I never write, it’s a wonder you still read! It may be a while before I write again. Mr. Laptop is freezing on me. It took all day to get online. Nothing but buffering. I knew it was going so I did a complete backup of everything on my computer to a thumb drive and my son will come over and wipe the hard drive clean. When that will happen depends on his schedule. In the meantime I am not shutting it down.

We watched the bombogenesis work its way through the Midwest and were relieved when the winds calmed down. Our winter has been very warm. I run the a/c almost as much as I do in summer! This does not bode well for hurricane season. I’m expecting an active one. For now, I am enjoying what will probably be our last cold front, which has pushed us back into the mid-70s.

Both sides of my husband’s family are down en masse. We had breakfast with his Dad’s side and brunch/family reunion with his Mom’s side yesterday afternoon. Breakfast I can control because that was at the restaurant but the potluck in the afternoon? How could I pass up pickled stuffed eggs and other cholesterol heavy foods? My cholesterol (the bad stuff…I think LDL) is a bit high but my good LDL (HDL?) is super high so she’s okay with where I’m at. Doc also said I have the liver of a 20 year old. fluffs hair…Back on track…so with all the relatives in town, what little time I had is now gone.

The boys are good. My eldest has been working on a carburetor in our garage because he’s headed for the foothills of the Himalayas to participate in a fundraiser (I forget which organization) that involves a team (of 3) competition of racing retired rickshaws on a course that will take them through villages. They will be responsible for their own lodging, food and repairs. Apparently, this sounded fun to him. I made him swear that he would come back alive.

My youngest has lots of jobs going but is dealing with slow payers. I adore his partner. He’s tall and handsome and into Japanese pottery. He loves “dancing around the kitchen” with me, which is his description of cooking with me.

As for me, it’s just all things non-profit. Writing has dropped off, as has my desire to do much cooking. With just the two of us, we tend to veggies more than meats and starches.

I haven’t talked to my sister in law (my brother’s widow) in a while. I see occasional meltdowns from her on facebook but she is socializing and getting out and about. She’s reconnected with many of her friends from her past, so I think that’s good. My brother swept her off her feet and now that’s gone, without warning or permission. It will take her a lot of years to get over that, but I think she will, as long as her mother continues to hold her own in the ALF.

We leave for Oslo at the end of next month. We fly to the arctic circle the next night and stay there for 3 nights and hope to see Northern Lights. I also hope to go on a reindeer sled ride (or dogsled) to find the Lights and learn about the Sami culture. There are also a couple of interesting museums. After that we fly to Bergen for a couple of nights to do the touristy thing and visit the sweater factory. We split up after that with youngest and his partner driving back to Oslo and the rest of us taking a scenic train ride back to Oslo. Tickets and reservations are made, still need to book hotels in Oslo as well as car rentals.

Trump and company continue to anger, astound, and alarm. I may decide to stay in Norway!


GypsyWynd March 19, 2019

Busy as usual, I see. How does hubby like retirement?
Your Norway trip sound stupendous.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ March 19, 2019

Hubby has only semi-retired. His sister is down right now, so he's distracted, but after she goes home and we're back from vacation, I expect he's going to crawl up the walls.

Marg March 20, 2019

Your trip sounds wonderful - how magical to see the Northern Lights in itself but to do it that way - wow!
The liver of a 20 year old is not to be sniffed at - congratulations! :)

ConnieK Marg ⋅ March 20, 2019

I told the doc I might start drinking! LOL! (I only drink socially...alcohol gives me headaches now...even a few sips)

Marg ConnieK ⋅ March 20, 2019

Haha - yes I’m the same - I don’t miss it though.

ConnieK Marg ⋅ March 20, 2019

I don't miss it, either, but I do wish I didn't get headaches when I do.

Shattered March 20, 2019

I would LOVE to see the northern lights. And a reindeer sleigh ride sounds fun.

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ March 20, 2019

I'll tell you all about it when I get back but don't wait as long as I did. Get that trip in! :)

a mote, floating March 20, 2019

Great news on the liver and the HDL!
That rickshaw race sounds challenging and fun! And Norway is coming up fast.
Our local pharmacist lives an hour-plus drive south of here. Said temperature where he is runs 10 degrees warmer than in this area. This winter was the first where we did not have a hard freeze and I didn't have to wrap the outdoor faucets. It was the second consecutive winter in which I did not need to use the space heater in my studio (which runs cooler in winter/hotter in summer than the rest of the house).

ConnieK a mote, floating ⋅ March 20, 2019

We ddn't even get a frost, never mind a freeze! I wonder if GypsyWynd has seen the garden plants covered with old sheets yet? :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.