Escaping the Darkness in Poetry

  • March 18, 2019, 8:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Failure is better than success
For it is what you can learn that
Drives the imagination of success
Close your eyes
And use the power
Of your mind
To clear the disguise

Drugs consume my mortal flesh
I put on a smile
For an overdose of death
I seem tricky and insane
The guises I wear
To show you your name
Are the strings
I use in these games

The knife
Carves my veins
Stitches won’t save
The error of my ways
My blood slowly drips
And I’m relieved
As I release my soul
From being trapped inside mortal flesh

My eyes
Rollback
Rewinding the memories of what was
And I’m searching
But
I’m finding all my angels are dead
Because there is no one
To play my Song of Death
I’m cold and alone
I see the stars unfold the light
As I escape the darkness
That consumed my life


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.