Gonna Climb A Literal Mountain This Summer in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • March 18, 2019, 4:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had another pretty good weekend! I’m trying my darndest to take advantage of them now that the weather is finally turning for the better.

Friday night I had my first (of two) Wag walks. Both walks this weekend were for the same dog - one Friday night for 30 mins at 9pm, and the second was for Saturday morning at 8am for 60 mins. Basically, the dog’s owners were away and needed someone to take their super duper friendly dog out for an evening and morning potty break with some exercise thrown in.

I was so happy when I showed up Friday night at 9pm and wasn’t murdered. I was hesitant to accept the walk because I gave myself a “no walks after dark” rule, but I figured with it being st. patrick’s day weekend, it was probably more of a case of the owners being out of town. Which it was. The dog was a super loving pit bull, walked well on the leash, and I basically wanted to spend MORE time with it. The owners enjoyed the pictures and videos of the walks that I sent them through the app and gave me SUPER generous tips on both walks as well as a 5 star rating for each walk. I also got my first “Excellent Report Card” app achievement. Didn’t even know that existed until I got it. Now I’m looking at my past walks like “what could I have done better, or just did I just score some super happy human beings in these owners?”

Then on Saturday after the second walk with the loving Wag client, I took my own dog to a local state park and we bummed around awhile. Then later in the evening I decided to check out a “minor league” soccer game in Tacoma. They are called the Tacoma Defiance and are the Seattle Sounder’s (professional MLS team) #2 team that they borrow players from as needed. They lost, but I did have fun. Ticketmaster (this was also my first Ticketmaster purchase EVER! I’VE only waited til I was 30 yrs old!) put me next to some fun dudes who kept the game entertaining, until they left early :/ I meandered into a season ticketholder’s area, and although I am not a season ticketholder, they gave me a wristband for free beer. I had two. The dude even checked my ticket, but I’m not sure if he didn’t care that I wasn’t a season ticketholder or if he just didn’t know that the ticket i had wasn’t a season ticket. I had fun though. Next up I want to check out a Sounders game! I hear the atmosphere at those games is amazing!

Sunday (yesterday), I took the dog for a hike at a local-ish mountain in the foothills of the Olympics. We checked out a few different trails on the way to the top because I’ve done the direct route before, but not some of the side trails. We spent about 4 hours wandering around:

54525329_10161669539490637_4975895216448864256_n(1)
View from the top

55726243_10161669539390637_792970504666349568_n
We found snow!

53891075_10161669539465637_8376615111279771648_n
And a dam/pond! It’s hard to tell but there’s an “upper” pond there with water flowing down to where my dog is standing

54233752_10161669539705637_2025210584827428864_n
There was even water flowing down parts of the trail!

This morning I signed up to hike Mt St Helens on September 26!!!!!!! I’ve been waiting since last summer for this day to come and was SO worried I wouldn’t be able to do it. In order to climb Mt St Helens in the summer, you have to have a permit. Permits go on sale for one day (because they always sell out in one day) and you have to be SUPER quick. They went on sale at 7am this morning and I had completely forgotten until I got to work. I logged in at 8:15 and they literally only had like 5 available dates left that you could pick from. They only sell 100 permits/per day. I am sooooooo happy I got one! You have no idea how happy I am. This was a big goal of mine that I’ve kept hushed up in the event I didn’t get a permit. AHHH SO EXCITED!


Last updated March 18, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.