Long Day Starting Rough in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • March 18, 2019, 2:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So… yesterday was St. Patrick’s Day.

I had to start late on that… we worked out and I drank a bunch of water to try to counterbalance the sweat. So when I started drinking, I was drinking Doubles. Now my body hurts from the working out, the drinking, and the sleeping on the couch. Hopefully, I’ll be of a proper mind to respond to notes and do other things here fairly soon (at least before Noon) but the humor? This morning I have hearings that I can TOTALLY accomplish in my pained and somewhat numb-minded state.

The problem is… today is a long day.
Y’see… after work there is a Visitation for VWC’s wife. But I have to leave that early because there is a Sexual Assault Law Enforcement Training tonight that I’m going to attend. So I won’t be back home until after 8 tonight. Grumph. March. March with its.... busy-ness. That doesn’t even count trial prep which has been complicated immensely by VWC’s absence.

Urgh. I’ll be happy when March is over.

As for today? I’ll put my nose to the grindstone. I’ll work hard, do what I can, and keep pushing forward. I may get behind with stuff on Prosebox but… that is to be expected.

(sarcastic) Great. Another three cases just came in. All domestic assaults. All involving blood evidence. All involving victims that “refused to cooperate, sign a written statement, or allow photographs of their injuries.” Tragically… I thought “seeing the worst of humanity” was going to be “seeing the horrible people that get pleasure from hurting others” but instead it has consistently been “seeing victims who would rather fight ME than protect themselves.” So, sure. I’ll be the bad guy. I’ll be “the monster” that required THE LOVE OF YOUR LIFE to go to jail… I’ll take that. It honestly feels like a heavy burden but… I’ll just add it to the pile.


stargazing March 18, 2019

I can imagine it must be so frustrating for all those involved when a domestic abuse victim won't cooperate in the prosecution of their loved one. I can also appreciate that it must be difficult to prosecute someone you love. But I sure hope that if something like that ever happened to me, I'd be willing to throw his ass in jail.

woman in the moon March 18, 2019

Maybe they should not call the cops if they do not want to charge their abusers.

Comfortably Numb March 18, 2019

I could not do the job you do, emotionally speaking. I too have a thirst for justice, but zero to no patience to someone who asks for help then bats it away. Stay strong!

Jafael March 18, 2019

As far as I understand it, domestic abuse victims really do get brain washed by their abusers and simply can't see things in the same way someone else can. It seems to me that you are indeed advocating for what is right, proper, justice, and their safety even if they can't see that. It seems to me the terrible amount of domestic abuse can only reduce when more and more of it IS prosecuted. You fight the good fight, and that is how things do improve over time.

Park Row Fallout Jafael ⋅ March 18, 2019

Thanks. It takes a bit of a toll. It is like a human equivalent of those videos where rescue workers are trying to save a wild animal from somewhere. The animal shouldn't be where it is, the rescuers are trying to help it, but the animal is fighting the rescuers because it is afraid and in pain. So the rescuers do their best to help; but the animal is just fighting them the whole way.

Tempestuous1 March 19, 2019

I think the only way they know how to get out of whatever situation they are in, is to call the cops. They don't actually want the cops to do anything but come "save the day", and then fear takes over again so they don't want to press charges and believe their abuser will learn from yet another useless lesson.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.