Ready Set Go in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • March 17, 2019, 10:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Speed writing? Because this is going to be quick.

This week promises to be busy, next week promises to be a fucking nightmare so we’ll see how much my writing and reading keep up or don’t.

I am only here NOW because as I was cleaning up the house, tidying and wistfully imagining when I can have guests show up (considering most of my friends are lawyers, and most lawyers do TAX work, things are busy until Mid April)..... I passed the “Queen Guest Room”.... blah… hate that name.
ROOMS IN OUR HOUSE:
Sewing Room: No Bed
Main Bedroom: Wife & I’s room
Office: Twin Bed
Living Room; no bed but couch that can sleep 1
Kitchen/Dinning Room: Obviously, no bed
Storage Room Basement: No bed
Storage Room Basement Large: No bed.
Guest Room(??): Queen Sized Bed and Chaise Lounge that could sleep 1 child.... should I just call it the Guest Room?!?!?!?
The Cave: Sectional that could comfortably sleep 3

Okay… so… I was passing the Guest Room and my thoughts turned to MBFITWW. I love that man. He’s like a brother that doesn’t piss me off. And he isn’t asexual… just discerning and cautious… which is why I’ve NEVER heard about him and a date. Like… he’s gone on one or two dates before.... TOTAL… but I’ve never heard him have a girlfriend.... even in stories of growing up. And he KNOWS if he was asexual or gay, he could confide in me. SERIOUSLY.

But he’s an Over 30 year old Virgin that hasn’t dated much and DOES NOT WANT TO DATE A WOMAN WITH KIDS… plus he’s a Named Senior Partner in a Law Firm but he works in a community with a population under 7,000.
He’s tall but super thin… not remarkably handsome but a good guy… obsessed with anime and video games and comic books… but also REALLY good with his nieces and loves his family.

I know my own love life isn’t ideal. My marriage is rocky, my sex life ridiculously unfulfilling. I get it. But I also know how these things work. If My ABSOLUTE Best Friend In The Whole World hasn’t been on more than 10 dates by the time he is 35? He’s… kind of doomed. I’m worried about him from an “I know he wants to be ‘out there’ and I know, because he’s told me, that he gets lonely.... but I’m not in a great position to help” perspective.

Any ideas, tips, suggestions?

How can I help my friend enter the Dating World?


Foofah March 18, 2019

I may be wrong but I feel that unfortunately, at that age, the likelihood of finding a woman without kids may be slim. I would suggest maybe a profile on a Christian site or Match.com? I have single friends who go to speed dating events and they rave about them but I'm not sure if he'll be able to find something like that in his area.

Park Row Fallout Foofah ⋅ March 18, 2019

Right?! Like... I do completely understand where he's coming from but I've been trying to convince him to at least be open to the idea of dating a woman with kids.

Tempestuous1 March 18, 2019

If you feel comfortable talking to him about it, ask if that's what he wants. I wouldn't try setting him up or doing a dating site if that's not what he wants. I have a friend that has never been married, and has no interest in it. I know she's dated before, but is happy being single and having her dogs.

Park Row Fallout Tempestuous1 ⋅ March 18, 2019

He's really interesting in his way. He's open to it and kind of genuinely wants my help/input but... you've got two lawyers in rural iowa who almost never interact with Available Single Women Without a Criminal Record, lol

woman in the moon March 18, 2019

Silly question - but does he have a dog?
Also is his family nearby?

Park Row Fallout woman in the moon ⋅ March 18, 2019

His family is about an hour away, his Dad has been struggling with Parkinson's lately. He doesn't have a dog but really wants one... but has a hard time justifying getting one because he's typically away from the house from 8 to 6 every weekday.

Purple Dawn March 22, 2019

I'd suggest he take a course or participate in something that might expose him to more women. Something like a reading club in the evenings? I don't know. I can't date either, I'm too much of a fusspot. LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.