good days & curiosities in 2019

  • March 16, 2019, 12:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

March 14, 2018 - 11:38am

I am feeling good today. šŸ˜

Iā€™m looking good in my dark teal high necked blouse. I have an ugly, but passable, French braid I just put into my hair. The sun is shining so brightly. Iā€™ve had enough of a break from the chaos of work that I finally feel like I can breathe again!

Iā€™m excited for the weekend even if I donā€™t have any plans yet. Itā€™s supposed to be high 70s on St. Patrickā€™s Day Sunday! My plan is to bake this chocolate Guinness cake I found a recipe for in a magazine and probably share it with the neighbours. Iā€™m hoping theyā€™ll be around because that would be a lot of fun.

I think Iā€™m just excited for Spring time in general. The flowers are starting to bloom. The sun is out again [though Iā€™m so grateful for the rain weā€™ve had this year!! and might continue to get next week.]

JR just stopped by the office with a box of what I assumed to be paperwork. Turns out he brought me his company jacket, which heā€™d mentioned to me months ago. Also some neat little gifts from Hawaii - a coffee mug, shot glass, and bottle opener. haha. He must know me pretty well. šŸ˜‰
Itā€™s his birthday today so I told him that I thought we were doing something backwards here. He said itā€™s fine because mineā€™s in like 60 days. haha. And of course I made a jab about how he forgot my birthday last year anyway. šŸ˜› I canā€™t help myself! Heā€™s sick though so I didnā€™t even give him a hug which felt kinda weird but oh well.

Now Iā€™m even more excited about today. haha. Who doesnā€™t love gifts!? šŸ˜ƒ

Plus later tonight Iā€™m supposed to go over to the neighbourā€™s house. Shocker! hah. But itā€™s not really for hang out time though I wonā€™t say no if they offer cerveza. Last night L asked if I can help her with a cover letter. Sheā€™s applying to a job here in town and I guess the cover letter is required. I told her that I honestly donā€™t have any experience with cover letters, but Iā€™m still willing to help with what I can. Iā€™m a great proofreader and I guess my unsolicited advice on her resume the other day went over well. ha. I told her not to pay too much attention to what I have to say, but it might have been earlier that day that my mom also told them I graduated with honors and had my face on a billboard so who knows what sheā€™s thinking about my intelligence. haha šŸ¤·ā€ā™€ļø

Weā€™ll see what we come up with. Iā€™m excellent at online research and I can BS my way through just about anything [including an essay to get my face on a billboard šŸ˜†]

So I just went down a rabbit hole in search of that essay because weā€™ve been mentioning it off/on and I canā€™t for the life of me remember what it is that I wrote. I definitely know that I bs-ed my way through it. Iā€™ve always been good at procrastinating and working well under pressure at the last minute. The words just fly out of me and apparently are good enough to catch someoneā€™s attention. Or my competition was light....or non-existent. haha!

I did eventually find the essay, but I havenā€™t had a chance to read it yet.


3.15.19 - 4:09pm

I tried to restart this entry around 11 this morning and then completely forgot. It really has been such a weird season.

Iā€™m happy itā€™s Friday though. I am ready to go home and veg out for a while. Of course I still have to come in all day tomorrow but itā€™s not so bad. Counting down the weeks - without actually trying to count them down because Iā€™ll get stressed out. hah.

Ugh. I am so not able to focus on this right now. Basically Iā€™ll give a quick spiel about yesterday and move on.

So I went down that rabbit hole. Got distracted when I ran across a folder containing old notifications from coffeeguy. Oh man that was so long ago! But I think about him from time to time. I wonder what heā€™s up to but I havenā€™t gone so far as to search for him. Iā€™m sure it would be easy enough to find him online with the unique last name he has but I donā€™t know. Itā€™s probably not a smart move. I really enjoyed talking to him. I was so young though! And dumb. I wasnā€™t confident in my own skin back then. Didnā€™t know who I was or what I was all about. Itā€™s interesting to see the differences compared to now. I skimmed what little I could see of the messages [some of that stuff was from myspace OMG] and itā€™s funny because we had the same kind of back and forth that I have now with the neighbours and compa. Sometimes I forget how much I miss being able to be myself.

Quick sidenote: The Client came into the office on Tuesday to get some work done. I think Iā€™d just mentioned out loud that morning that I hadnā€™t heard from him and he would text when he needed something. Sure enough. So he showed up while I was on the phone with Tony. We were wrapping up the ā€œworkā€ call. Laughing and joking about Cancun and other random things. Not sure if the Client was listening since he immediately got on his phone but he was weird that day. I hate that I notice these things but he repeated the same story like a hundred times. I felt kind of uncomfortable with him sitting there. Not even sure how to explain it. But I just wanted to focus on the work and get him out.
I mean part of it was because I was tired but just I donā€™t know. Some day Iā€™ll put more thought into it. I remember consciously thinking about how I felt like I couldnā€™t be myself at all. Like I was making my typical sarcastic jokes and they were bombing. Sure I have a pretty funky sense of humor, Iā€™ll admit that. Itā€™s just that I would say something and immediately regret it. Knowing I was with the wrong audience. Thatā€™s definitely not something I can do long term. The guyā€™s cool enough but I honestly donā€™t know how much more time I want to spend with him. Especially when he doesnā€™t let me speak and then if I get a word in he sh*ts on my stories. Ok dude. Iā€™m not sure why he doesnā€™t seem to see that weā€™re so different. Oh and donā€™t even get me started on the fb comments that pop up in my newsfeed from him replying to public threads. Ugh the ignorance/insensitivity/close-minded view of the world. No thanks.

Anyway, I had to mention that real quick. Basically Iā€™m still debating on the idea of getting back in touch with coffeeguy some day. I guess itā€™s my curiosity. Wondering what it would be like to have a conversation with him as an adult. As the girl I am now! I know for sure weā€™d get along. My real problem/hesitation is this weird notion that maybe Iā€™d hurt him by getting back in touch. Iā€™m pretty sure he wanted to date me back then and I avoided like I always do. Itā€™s a bummer but I definitely would not want to hurt him in any way. Boy do I miss that motorcycle though. šŸ˜

Also, when I got to work yesterday morning I saw this boat being pulled by a pickup truck in the parking lot and I immediately remembered that Iā€™d had a dream about the Sheriff that night. [Gosh I think Iā€™ve mentioned everyone with a nickname in this entry haha] I donā€™t remember anything about the dream but it was just that feeling you get. You know the one? Where you just know youā€™ve been close to this person. Theyā€™ve been in your thoughts or whatever. I wish I could remember something about it. Oh well. Apparently the boat triggered the memory of the dream. Iā€™m so curious to find out if heā€™s going to show up again this year. An in-person meeting? Phone calls? Nothing at all??

Maybe I should become the cat lady. Curiosity is totally my kryptonite . šŸ˜‚

Alright. I have so many other things I want to say and Iā€™m semi on a roll now but this entry is long and I probably shouldnā€™t continue it forever. Perhaps Iā€™ll start clicking away on another one while I have the time and motivation. Weā€™ll seeā€¦

rose.
10:16pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.