asking without asking, or taking advantage of being asked in Second 1st

  • March 10, 2019, 5:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It must have happened sometime in my generation. Mostly because Destiny is really good at it. I am not, though I have not seen a ton of people my age do it. .... The art of asking without asking. Like, lets say I were to walk up to a friends all excited and say i just sold something and made like $100. Within a half hour or so of conversation maybe that friend would say something like “Know what I would like more than anything right now?” Now keep in mind you like this person. Keep in mind you like when this person is happy. So you want to know genuinely what would make them happy. They say something small and silly like “I would die if I could just get a Big Mac.” So guess what… because you just made that money and you want to see them happy you volunteer a road trip to get a Big Mac. They are happy and maybe even thankful but don’t you look like a sucker.... all that hypothetical. I have told Destiny she does that and we have talked about it. I am to warn her if it happens. I remember when I tried to move to MI without Rocky and lived with her. utilities were about to be shut off cause they hadn’t been paid and she was broke… i was staying with her and had $3000 what was I to do?.... right and then one day she came downstairs and said “i really would like Pizza tonight for dinner”..... and who paid for that?..... I mean I know it’s a ton me.... I think it’s more my issue than hers.... but she knows she does it.

Sammy is sick. … wait let me back up a few nights ago Sammy went to Play in Nashville with a friend. Play is a gay bar, his friend is a married woman who is a fair bit older than him. She got wasted and was making out with some chick so he made out with chicks guy friend. Next morning I notice a nice love bite on his neck.... That night he came home from work REALLY early like.... said he had to be in at 5 and was home at 5:30.

Next morning 4am, Rocky’s getting ready for work. Sammy gets up and asks Rocky “Can you see if I have a fever?” .... .... Rocky tells him “Last I saw the thermometer you had it”. Rocky came into the bedroom gave me a the quick version of the conversation and then went to work.

Sammy got back up at about 6ish and came out to talk to me. “Rocky got mad at me this morning and I don’t even know why”.... then tells me he thinks he has a fever I respond with “Thermometers in the bathroom as far as I know.” He told me he hadn’t slept yet.... smh I don’t know what he was fishing for. i had planned on going out with my brother and I had to leave at 6:45 so I honestly didn’t pay him much mind. He looked in the bathroom.... then his bedroom… and was back in the bathroom again. A few moments later he told me (as if I needed to know) that he had a temp of 101.5. i told him take some NyQuil and go back to bed, then left.

Sammy went and stayed somewhere last night. He came in at about 9ish today and I asked him if he was feeling better. He said yes much better since the fever had broke. Cool, it was rather a quiet morning as he was working on some project on his laptop in the living room. I eventually retired to my Diamond painting at about 10ish.... just after I went into the room he left again. This time he had decided to go to Urgent Care. When he got back he felt the need to tell me he has Strep for the 4th time this year and the DR and the clinic told him he needs to see an ENT and get his tonsils out. First off I don’t know how he still has them if he’s been getting sick like this always.... .like is this the first time he’s had strep so frequently?.... NO.... but now.... get his tonsils out at 19? Right.... all that set up right? what does he want from me seriously....

His mom called… I didn’t hear it ring but I wouldn’t have.... I made it back out to the computer and was sitting here when he walked up to tell me that his mom is bringing soup..... mind you this woman had a mini stroke less than 2 weeks ago and has an immune disorder. WTF! So back to the thing that brought this on.... the asking without asking.

She had said “Is there anything I can do for you?” The correct response is “No mom thanks, I’m just going to get some rest.” to which she should say “Ok honey, just let me know if you need anything”...... NOPE she asked if she could do anything and he told her “bring me some soup”...... There is soup here by the way, after Rocky got home and I told him this 5 cans of soup have been pulled from the cupboard. 1 of them I know he asked for previous times he’s been sick. ALL of them were free to eat. Did he NEED his mom to go get him soup.... absolutely not .... but as a mom would she do anything she thought would help him feel better, absolutely.

How did this happen? When did it become okay to inconvenience those you love just because you want them to prove they love you? For shits and giggles? I’m baffled.... I just don’t get it… just a thing I was thinking about.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.