Days that end in Eventh in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • March 7, 2019, 6:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is a strange sort of “nothing day” in that there is a lot of “nothing” on the official calendar but I certainly expect some stuff to bog up the day.

We already had a meeting this morning wherein we were told we may have to work from home for a few days next month. Sarcastic: Perish the thought. However, it started a conversation between the employees who’ve been here longer than Boss and I that I had suspected. Apparently, “work from home” was the most abused concept in this office for YEARS. And I get it. Technically, if all I cared to do was work by e-mail and go to court… I honestly wouldn’t have to be in the office at all. Ever. But then there is a lot that you miss that way. Like what we EXPECT from this morning!

(1) Adult who is considered “Mentally Low Functioning” is being sexually abused. We need to get her to talk to us and/or police officers as these charges stem from her simply “chatting with her mental health advocate, not realizing she was describing a crime.”
(2) A girl who was 15 years old was being molested by her coach. She ran away. She’s come back, now an adult, and wants to press charges. Loads of worries and problems with that and it is such a significant and sensitive matter that it would really require face to face interaction.
(3) I have a She Said/She Said assault case this afternoon that needs to be tried.
(4) I have a Felony Jury Case at the end of the month to prepare.

All of these things are better accomplished from the office. So… yeah. From a “play video games, watch TV, sleep in every morning” selfish perspective, I can see “Work from Home” benefits. From a “do my job well, advocate for the people, be a good Public Servant Attorney” service perspective? Get your ass to work!

The title today reminds me of Celebrity Jeopardy Categories and, while not intentional, makes me think I should mention something about Alex Trebek’s health news. I really enjoy that man and I enjoy his show. Funny enough, Alex was not the first host of Jeopardy. A man named Art Fleming hosted the show from 1964 to 1975, then again from 1978 to 1979. The show returned in 1984 and that version was hosted by Alex Trebek. It does not escape my notice that Alex Trebek’s Jeopardy was born the same year that I was. There is a 3% chance that Mr. Trebek will beat his illness. But for now, he’s got good spirits and a lot of support. Here’s hoping he beats the odds!

alt text
I have written before about my feelings regarding Superman and his abysmal representation in the new age. The short explanation for why David Goyer fucks up Superman (and fuck David Goyer) and Zack Snyder fucks up Superman (and fuck Zack Snyder) is because they see Superman and say, “Why can’t he be Batman?” Which is kind of like looking at Dwayne Johnson and asking “Why can’t he be Steve Carrell?” The answer: Just because they do the same thing doesn’t mean they do it the same way; and if you can’t understand that or appreciate that, then you shouldn’t be making the movie.

Dwayne Johnson is comedic. He is charming. He can act.
Steve Carrell is comedic. He is charming. He can act.
I would never cast Dwayne Johnson as “Michael Scott” and I would never case Steve Carrell as Deckard Shaw.
Let Dwayne do Dwayne, Let Steve do Steve.

Much in the same way
Superman is a DC Super Hero. He is important to the DC Universe. He has a secret identity and a hidden lair.
Batman is a DC Super Hero. He is important to the DC Universe. He has a secret identity and a hidden lair.
I would never want Superman stalking the night and using his powers on corrupt cops and human criminals. I would never want Batman trying to fly through the daytime hours and using his gadgets to avert apocalyptic natural disasters.
Let Supes do Supes. Let Bats do Bats.

From Cracked.com article 6 Reasons Famously Bad Movies Totally Sucked by JM McNab:
Man Of Steel – The Filmmakers Spent A Lot Of Time Figuring Out How Superman Could Commit Murder

People expecting the comforting doo-goodery of Superman were a little taken back by Man Of Steel. Instead of chivalry and getting nude in phone booths, audiences got murder, carnage, and Russell Crowe riding a dragon around a planet comprised of prog rock album covers.

What The Hell Happened:

The most divisive moment in the film comes toward the end, when Superman kills his enemy Zod, snapping his neck as if he were a common Steven Seagal henchman.

So where did this controversial idea come from? The movie originated with Christopher Nolan and writer David Goyer while they were working on the Dark Knight trilogy. The pair began talking about how to approach Superman in a “modern context.” Soon Zack Snyder came aboard as director, and he and Goyer really thought that Superman should kill someone. Why? Because, insanely, Snyder was bothered that Superman’s “aversion to killing is unexplained.” Yeah, Christopher Reeve’s Superman never even dabbled in slaughtering criminals, how would he know he wouldn’t enjoy it? Snyder thought they needed a story to explain why Superman doesn’t murder people.

Nolan argued against having Superman ending a guy’s life in the final moments of their adventure movie. But Snyder and Goyer were so goddamn insistent on that idea, so they worked hard to cobble a scenario where Superman had to kill Zod in order to save a family. Eventually, Nolan relented. Meaning that Superman’s killing was more justified, but also he probably traumatized at least one small child. Though if it hadn’t been for Nolan, it seems Superman may have simply murdered Zod for the fun of it.

(CK again: OR as I said from moment ONE about that film… the writers never understood Clark Kent or how growing up in rural Kansas would shape the man he would become. Not surprising from Goyer who understands nothing and has spent the last 31 years in California and Snyder who grew up on the East Coast. Also why Jon Kent, a man who historically was self-sacrificing and noble, would tell his son to let people die in the movie. It always comes back around to this and I wish I could force filmmakers to sign a statement saying it… To understand Superman, you must understand that he was FIRST Clark Kent and then Superman. To understand Batman, you must understand that Bruce Wayne died with his parents, Batman is what took his place. In other words, Superman is Clark Kent’s secret identity, Bruce Wayne is Batman’s secret identity. If you don’t understand that, you don’t understand the characters!
alt text

After that bit of a rant, I find myself contemplating “What if” on how life would be different if my job were simply to write scripts and/or discuss comic books all day. lol. I have friends that do that. I have friends that work in Enterprise Rent-a-Car, podcast about Comic Books and Video Games all the time, and don’t worry about money because they expect family money to take care of them their whole lives. Even if I thought I’d get any family money, I’d never live like that. Fuck. I have a “potential inheritance of millions” but (and I’ll tell you this honestly) I know I’m not going to see dime one. NOT because I’m a bad kid. NOT because my relatives hate me. But because (1) they are massively philanthropic; (2) they, rightly, believe that the inheritance of knowledge and ethics is a legacy not an inheritance of money and privilege; (3) they wouldn’t see any point to ‘pass the money down’ if they could ‘pass the money out’. In other words… while I could sit around and pretend I’m assured a ‘healthy’ inheritance… the truth is, all of the Family Money is going to go to Charities and Foundations and Endowments and Scholarships… it’s all going to be handed out to people who never had a chance. Because that is the kind of people my family has. I grew up knowing I had advantages others didn’t… and I appreciated the hell out of those advantages (which is funny, whenever I would thank my Father for those advantages, he was quick to say ‘I think you’ll find this experience not so unique’.... but it was. How many kids spend their childhoods watching live theater, going to the symphony, and hanging out in Country Clubs?) But I also knew that the Family Money was on my dad’s brother’s side. That is where “the lot was held.” And my uncle and his wife? Upon their death, they will bequeath a portion of their wealth to their children in order to properly assist in the care and growth of the grand babies… and the remainder will go towards helping the Missouri State environment, helping their Unitarian Church, and helping inner city kids in St. Louis. AND I’ve always been infinitely okay with that!! I actually wish MORE people did that. If you’re wealthy.... use it to go on trips with your family, improve the world around you as you’re alive, use your gifts to improve the world and experiences of those you love. And upon your death? Continue that tradition. Bequeath those gifts to improve the world and experiences of those you love. These people who just hoard wealth and pass it down so that the wealth can be more hoarded and passed down.... where is the joy? Where is the civic spirit? Where is the point? People forget that money, truly, has no value but for how it is used. Why is it that a person with no money can act like the sudden influx of $1,000 is like winning the lottery while someone who hoards money can act like the sudden influx of $1,000,000 is like being inconvenienced? Because the person with the $1,000 has plans for that money.... that money will do something for them and might free them from a debt or but them some needed medicine or allow them to buy food for the month. Whereas the other guy? The guy that doesn’t spend money simply sees a massive influx of cash as “something more to take care of.” Sorry… that became a massive tangent not focused on what I was talking about!!!

What I was talking about is how it would be great to be one of those people that simply discusses pop culture all day for a living. I think I’d do a good job of it. I’d produce insightful, well thought out items discussing things from Television to Video Games to Movies to Comic Books to Webseries to Podcasts to Manga to Anime… I could do that. But then… I don’t. lol. Because I already don’t have enough time in the day, lol. I mean… I’m years behind in my comic book collection… I currently own 7 video games I haven’t even OPENED yet… I’ve not seen a single episode of The Walking Dead or Game of Thrones… not to mention how I already feel like I don’t get enough sleep and don’t get to try to create/embrace/discover a social life. So… yeah. It is an idea… but an idea it shall remain.
alt text
I’ll pop a little politics in today. But not much. In fact, without reading to verify or corroborate this article, I’ll simply share the article:
Axios: Trump at Center of Worst Scandal in History
Honestly, that might be hyperbole. But then… how much do you know about the Classic New York Mafias? The ideas there were always “construction workers, unions, and building projects in New York.” Where did Trump’s family make their money mostly? “construction workers, unions, and building projects in New York.” So the fact that Donald acts like a mobster and is embroiled in endless scandal should actually be expected. Further, Trump’s Daddy Issues are famously well known. Trump’s father was a cold, harsh man that clearly communicated his disdain for Donald. Therefore, Donald is constantly desperately seeking approval from cold, harsh men of power. Translation: TRUMP PREFERS DICTATORS TO INTELLIGENCE REPORTS BECAUSE DICTATORS REMIND HIM OF HIS FATHER. From that angle? Daddy-Surrogate Putin asks for something? Sure, give it to him… “why wouldn’t I?” Trump says. His intelligence community says, “Sir, Putin is responsible for terrible things and we should treat him like an enemy.” Trump (essentially) says, “I’m not losing my Daddy again! No! Surrogate Daddy says I’m doing a great job so I’m not going to be mean to him!”
alt text
To end on a more fun, more hopeful note:

Answer the following questions with your ideal answers, not the real ones.

First, what would you like your birthday to be?
Actually, I think I would have liked my original Due Date of June 1984. I got impatient and decided I wanted to be born a month earlier.

What would this make your chosen zodiac sign?
Gemini

Are you female, male, asexual, or some other sort of non-binary gender?
Male

What is your chosen name?
Domhnall Parker Martin

Where would you like to have been born?
Yorkshire, England

What color hair do you have?
Black

Long, short, medium hair?
Long

Curly, straight, wavy?
Straight

What color eyes do you have?
Green or a rich blue

What race are you?
Multi-racial; Caucasian and Asian

What complexion is your skin?
Tanner White

How tall do you want to be?
6‘1

What is your ideal body type (thin, athletic, full-figured, hourglass, buff, etc.)?
Thin but chisled

Do you have piercings? If so, how many and where?
No

Do you have tattoos? If so, how many and where?
I have a tattoo on my right rib area and a tattoo on my leg

What languages would you like to be fluent in?
English, Spanish, Japanese, Korean

Would you prefer to have gone through public school, private school, or be home-schooled? Public School up to High School than Private School

How many (if any) siblings would you like to have?
An older brother, an older sister, and a younger sister

If you do choose to have siblings, would you choose to be the eldest, middle, or youngest child?
Uhm… by the above description it would be obvious that I would be 3 of 4

Would you like a quiet childhood or one full of adventures?
A proper mix would be better. Quiet throughout the school months and then family adventures

Do you have pets? If so, what kind?
Yes! A riding horse for Older Sister, two dogs, an aquarium of fish, and a baby bunny for little sister

List five defining characteristics:
Intelligent, Disciplined, Healthy, Driven, Focused

List three talents you would like to have:
Clever (using intelligence in new and industrious ways)
Martial Arts Mastery
Socially Skillful

Describe your personal style:
Simple

Would you be single or in a relationship?
Relationship

Would you choose to go to college?
Yea

If so, what would be your dream college and major?
Oxford School of Medicine, then Standford University for my Post Graduate work in psychology

What’s your dream job?
Therapist who becomes a Comic Book Writer

Would you choose to be super popular, a few but intimate friends, or a loner?
Popular enough that my parties can attract 50 or more guests, but not so popular that if I want to do a simple dinner party, I won’t piss people off by only inviting a few close friends

What would your dream home look like and where would it be located?
A healthy sized ranch-style home just outside of San Diego

What’s your ideal mode of transportation?
Aston Martin Vanquish

You must have one flaw, what is it?
I get a bit moody. Sometimes my large parties will simply end with me turning off the music and going around yelling into rooms, “It’s late, time to go home!” as I turn the lights off.


Pretend Mulling March 08, 2019

“Aston Martin Vanquish”. Have I ever mentioned that, if I became filthy stinkin’ rich, my singular superfluous and completely unjustifiable purchase would be an Aston Martin DB-10?

Also, wrt the money bit: I’ve always said that if I won a Mega Millions or Powerball, I would first pay off all my debt (and buy myself a ludicrous car), and then immediately set up a scholarship fund at my first college that provides full rides to students who otherwise could never afford the $62k tuition. I would really only keep enough for myself to pay my expenses and travel, and not one cent more.

Purple Dawn March 09, 2019

:)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.