Recap of Mental Diet Day 4 in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • March 1, 2019, 12:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was much easier than the day before! I received official confirmation from Wag! that I’ve been approved to walk dogs. My background check came back as clean, which was a relief, because ever since my purse (with all of my IDs) was stolen out of my vehicle last Labor Day weekend and a check was forged under my name/through my bank account, I’ve been wondering if someone has been living a life of criminal activity under my name/SSN in other parts of the world. But apparently they have not. At least not yet.

Anyway! So far I’ve booked 2 walks! One of them is today and the other is tomorrow. The one for today I accidentally accepted thinking that it was for a Saturday walk, not a Friday walk. When I went to go see if I could cancel it, I quickly figured out that the only way you can cancel a walk with Wag after you’ve accepted it, is by calling them and explaining yourself. Since its my very first walk and only for 30 minutes and nearby, I decided I could tell work I was taking a late lunch. Legally, they are required to let me do that, and I never take lunch breaks, sooooo....that’s what I’m going to do. And then pay closer attention to accepting walks in the future lol.

The second one is tomorrow at noon. Its super close to my apartment. I was worried that there would be no “market” where I live. So far it looks like there’s opportunity, but boy am I getting requests from all over Seattle! I could spend a Saturday there just walking nonstop and make $$$. If you draw a straight line from my apartment to West Seattle, its only about 10.5 miles away, so that’s why I’m getting those requests. In actuality, the Puget Sound separates me from West Seattle, so I’d either have to take the ferry across or drove around (about an hour commute, either way you slice it). So I’m happy to see that there is at somewhat of a demand over here.

Not sure what my income goals with this is yet. Right now its purely a side gig that I can only do on evenings and weekends. I guess my first goal is to make back the $25 I had to pay for the background check. I get why they put that expense on the walker; they could have 500 people apply to be a walker, send in 500 background checks with payment for all 500 and then have 0 of those 500 actually be serious about dog walking. Putting the expense on the individual gets the committed.

So we’ll see how this goes! I’m excited about it.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.