Recap of Mental Diet Day 3 in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Feb. 28, 2019, 12:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was a rough one! Rough in the sense that it was hard to maintain a positive attitude about all things all day long. I did a little bit of dwelling, but I’m thinking of it more as as strike than a reason to start the challenge all the way over. See positive thought about a “relapse”? lol

And it was the silliest thing. Our apartment complex sent out a notice stating that “although they pride themselves in being a pet-friendly community…” people haven’t been picking up their dog’s poo, so effective April 1, they are implementing PooPrints in the community. That, in itself, is not what caused the dwelling. FYI, poo prints is a program that can test DNA in a dog’s feces and see who the offending dog (and therefore, its owner) is. Kohen will have to have his cheek swabbed before April 1st, so that they can have his DNA recorded in the system. I pick his poop up so whatevs. People who get “caught” will have to pay a $300 fine and people who refuse to get their dog’s cheek swabbed will have to pay a $35 fee/month until they comply.

What caused the dwelling was that this sparked my curiosity about whether their pet policy had been updated on their website to reflect this new change yet. So I went to their website and checked. Once there, I found that their pet policy states that they charge a $20/pet fee per month. I have never paid this fee and it was not added in when I renewed my lease a few months ago for another year. They prided themselves for not having a “per month” pet fee when I signed my initial lease over a year ago. So that got the dwelling started.

The dwelling thought process was that if I decided to renew my lease AGAIN after this current lease is up (basically a year from now), they will most definitely probably add that in, which will increase my rent an automatic $40/month. So then I started looking at their available apartments for rent right now to see how much they were renting a 1 bedroom apartment like mine to new renters. You guys, I was sooooo fortunate they didn’t raise my rent when I renewed! Right now a 1 bedroom apartment is being leased out for about $150 more/month than what I’m paying.

So the dwelling continued with the thought process of “if I want to continue living here a year from now, I should probably be prepared to spend about $200 more a month than what I’m spending right now.” Or i could move. The thought process further went on about how much I love the PNW/West Coast in general and how much EASIER the cost of living would be if I had a second person’s income in my life.

But at the same time, I really pride myself in being able to “pay my own way” and I love not needing to “rely” on someone else. It would be great if I could find a good person to come home to every evening who loved and respected me though.

All of these thoughts because of PooPrints! Such a waste of thinking because who really can anticipate what will happen a year from now, right?

But I got an amazing night of sleep last night and woke up before my alarm went off, feeling really and truly rested. And tomorrow is pay day and the day my $99 tax refund hits my account. Its supposed to be amazing weather all weekend. Maybe I’ll go skiing on Sunday.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.