02/25/2019 in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Feb. 25, 2019, 12:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve decided to go on a “mental diet” of sorts. The latest self-help book I’m reading is called “Awaken the Giant Within”. I’ll write an official review after I’m done reading it (its 585 pages!), but I came across a challenge that goes a little something like this: For the next 10 days, the rules are this: I’m not allowed to wallow in a negative/underserving thought for longer than 2 minutes, and if I do, no matter what day of the challenge I’m on, I have to start ALL OVER.

This is especially challenging at work! Its just so easy to be a negative person here! My neural pathways to negative thoughts while at work are more like neural tree trunks. Work isn’t the only place I have an abundance of negative thoughts, but its a biggee.

I’m crossing my fingers that I don’t have to start this challenge over too many times!

People occasionally tell me “you’re such a happy person!” and I think to myself “you don’t know the steady stream of negative thinking that courses through my brain on the daily!”

I did MY taxes last Thursday, and its the first time that i got to file single since 2010, AND its the first time in like 3-4 years that I got a refund! Its only $99, but considering we owed $1,082 last year (I looked it up), I’m really super duper happy about the $99! I’d been stressing really bad about it, and putting off purchases I’d like to/need to make until after I knew what the final number would look like.

I’m trying to decide what I want to do for my birthday this year. My one idea is taking the day off from work (its on a Monday) and treating myself to a day of skiing (especially now that I know I don’t owe the IRS over $1k in taxes.) But then my opposing thought is “well you could just celebrate it one day early on Sunday and then you don’t have to use a day of PTO”. And my opposing thought to THAT is “But I never celebrate it on the actual date.” so, we’ll see. Its not until April 8th, so I have time to decide.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.