Milestone? in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • Feb. 15, 2019, 10:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I’ll call this a milestone, though it surely isn’t one I’m celebrating.
Last night I had only one dream. It was a long dream. It was a work dream. I was in trial trying to juggle dozens of cases of varying importance… one was a couple that had illegally removed hundreds of bottles from a recycling plant so that they could re-submit them for Deposit reclamation. It was complicated, though, because when officer served the warrant, the couple had a friend over who was carrying meth and a gun… so the friend opened fire on the police, the police responded. The woman Bottle Thief was shot in the arm and wanted to hold the police accountable even though it could not be proven whether the bullet came from her guest or the officers. She was adamant, throwing a fit in court… meanwhile I’m just trying to keep things moving because I have so many cases that I can’t afford to spend an extra hour debating this damned topic. I woke up feeling exhausted. So that’s how my day starts. Feeling exhausted.

So I’m at work, looking over a case trying to resolve inconsistencies in the law. If a person goes armed with intent and assaults someone… that is two crimes. But the law for assault with a dangerous weapon specifically states “This section shall not apply if the person is charged with Going Armed with Intent” so… once again, thank you legislature for writing laws specifically to benefit criminals. Technically, I know that isn’t what they were doing. This is Iowa. They were writing laws specifically to protect Gun Owners. That is true. Iowa is so jerk-off-the-NRA (thank you Joni Earnst) that we have laws expressly stating that The Blind and the Mental Ill can possess firearms. Hooray Gun Rights. Meanwhile, the same legislature is going (way) out of their way to try to make Abortion illegal. Because we need more guns in this country and more malnourished, poverty-stricken, unwanted babies. Cuz that’s the other thing.... Iowa has a rough history with our often underfunded DHS. So… the legislature is trying to say “IF YOU ARE PREGNANT YOU MUST HAVE A BABY” but then underfund DHS and freak out with surprise when we have a long stretch (like recently) of children essentially being starved to death. This utter enslavement to Partisan Politics over Logic is maddening and frustrating.

Ufda. My head hurts. I’m exhausted. I was thinking just now that I’d like a day to regroup and feel better… then I realize that the Tuesday where I napped during the workday since I worked from home was this week! What the fuck?! How does this week feel like a month?! I’m blaming the weather. That may not be fair, necessarily, but I’m doing it anyway. The biting cold enhanced by Weather Alert Warning Windchill cutting through my body, shredding my legs and back with reminders of frozen pain.... the very idea that Mr. Freeze me now has to change into a sweatshirt and sweatpants when I get home lest I remain too cold. I understand people are already saying “I wish Winter was over” but… I’m rarely that person. Especially in a season like this. Our winter has been mild, terribly mild, until recently. We hadn’t even really had snow or winter weather by Christmastime so ultimately, we’ve only really had two real months of winter. But the Winter hasn’t been a normal winter. The absolutely brutal cold (-58) and the Highway Closing snow and wind conditions. Of course, if I was a 72 year old incompetent douche-bag, I’d start declaring bullshit about Global Waming. But as I am a 34 year old semi-competent asshole, I’ll state the brutal cold and extreme weather conditions confirm Climate Change. And as the brutal cold affects my personal pain… I feel a little better about blaming it for making every week feel like a month. Though, conversely, when all of this is over… I have a feeling we’ll still be unhappy with the weather and time will still march at a breakneck pace.

alt text

1) Trump to declare emergency over Mexico border wall
Stupid fucking idiot. Here’s a huge sense of tragic humor to explain to people who may not know… the majority of people I personally know (and the majority of people I professionally know) that are declaring that “There absolutely is an emergency at our border!” are people who DO NOT LIVE in a Border State. They are people in Montana, Iowa, Wyoming, Missouri, Illinois, Virginia… places nowhere near the Southern Border. When the officials AT the Southern Border are asked? Most say “there is no emergency.” The difference, as I would suggest it? People along the border aren’t deeply threatened or upset by the reality of POC and non-English speakers. People in states NOT along the border see “brown people speaking Spanish” as an invasion of their lily-white worlds and wholly unacceptable. To them, I would say the following… the United States’ language demographics were “about 13% spoke non-English languages” for most of its existence. However, after World War 2, those numbers went down significantly. Those growing up between 1950 and 1975 enjoyed a country where “about 5 to 7% spoke non-English languages”. In other words, the baby boomers absolutely freaking out about foreigners… are pushing back against the United States returning to its typical homeostasis. Sorry, Racist Boomer… THE MELTING POT has looked like our current world a LOT MORE than it looked like the one you grew up in. Then you’ll get the Fox-Fed Folks who scream, “But current trends suggest white people will be a minority in this country within the century!” The ass part of me says, “Is that a problem? Does our country inherently treat minorities poorly? OH. It does? Maybe that is something we should all work to change, then. Seeing as how those in power may become a minority at some point, and all.”

What is MOST disgusting though? Senior Democrats accused the president of a “gross abuse of power” and a “lawless act”. Several Republicans also voiced concern at the plan. HOWEVER Turtle McConnell “absolutely supports the President”. Turtle needs to be REPLACED. Checks and Balances, Turtle! If the President is going to unilaterally go around Congress to (essentially) pilfer disaster relief funds from places hit by hurricane and fire… in order to fund an “expensive and inefficient” Border Wall? There needs to be a resounding cry from Congress to say, “Fuck you, dude!”

The transparent bullshit of it just gets to me as well. “”The president is once again delivering on his promise to build the wall, protect the border, and secure our great country,” White House Press Secretary Sarah Sanders said in a statement on Thursday.” TRANSLATION: Trump believes the only way to keep Right Wing Pundits happy is to build the wall, so he will do it by any means necessary. He is so obsessed with Good Press that if Fox News told him to change his middle name to Icharus, he’d do so.... claiming it was his idea and a genius move for the United States.

2) Jussie Smollett: ‘No evidence’ Empire actor attack was staged
The “Cult of Trump” or “Trump Effect” in its most obvious and disgusting example. Mr. Smollett was attacked, near-lynched, by people saying, “This is MAGA country.” Mr. Smollett is a liberal celebrity, black gay man, and outspoken critic of Trump. All of those descriptions are things that Trump Supporters have previously attacked and have been encouraged to attack by Trump or his supporters. BUT AS WITH EVERYTHING that is seen as “Trump Supporters can be violent bigots”; the MAGA Movement instantly started shouting “Hoax! Fake news!” And that is despicable and dangerous. Because it goes back to this CULT LIKE problem. Trumpists think the President can do no wrong! Really? Aren’t you passionate 2nd Amendment supporters? Didn’t Trump specifically say he was looking into whether he could confiscate guns without due process? EVEN TO YOUR VALUES, you have to admit Trump mistakes and issues. But they don’t. CULT. Trumpists think that Trumpists can do whatever they want because it is for a Noble Cause. Really? You think that you can assault members of the media or POC whenever you want? THAT ISN’T ACCURATE but they still hold firm to their conviction that they can do anything in support of Trump. CULT.

3) Ilhan Omar: Who is Minnesota’s Somalia-born congresswoman?
I only share the above article because of what I’ve seen all over family facebook this week.
This is a Somali born woman who wears a head covering. She is representing Midwesterners in Congress. She is a diverse example of how America is a melting pot with many different backgrounds, viewpoints, beliefs, and needs.
My MAGA Family Members have been showing her picture on Facebook all week with the caption “THIS is what a terrorist looks like!” Disgusting! I’m.. sick of that world. I’m furious about that perspective. And I don’t know what it is going to take for people to realize, once and for all, that MUSLIM is not shorthand for TERRORIST. There are Christian Terrorists, Atheist Terrorists, politically motivated terrorists (as opposed to religiously-motivated). TERRORISM is not ONE GROUP. And if you don’t believe me? I have a friend whose brother was killed in Ireland… by WHITE IRISH terrorists. If you don’t believe me, I have friend who lost a family member in the Oklahoma City Bombing… carried out by a WHITE AMERICAN terrorist.

alt text

1) Republicans pay the price for Trump’s wall crusade
What dumbasses most misunderstand about this bullshit: “If the move is not permanently blocked by the courts it could also come back to haunt Republicans, since it could provide a precedent for a future Democratic president to enact liberal priorities on an executive whim.” I know that the average American seems to have limited to zero understanding of how the government or courts work. That being said, this matters. If the President can successfully declare a “National Emergency” despite what experts say, with the sole goal of keeping a campaign promise despite Congressional oversight.... imagine what that could mean for THE OTHER PARTY?! You support the wall and want to see it finished no matter what it means for the Country? Then in a few years time, you might see a Democrat President use the same power move to force “Free College for All” or “Free Healthcare for All” or “Mandatory Living Wage Laws.” What poisons your enemies can always be used to poison you later. Don’t forget that.

2) FCC: Nearly half the calls you receive this year will be spam
Just a depressing inclusion as to why I let everything go to voicemail despite my older colleagues and friends thinking “Isn’t that rude?” No. It is security. Trust me.

3) GOP’s hypocritical outburst of outrage
A decent article for an Iowan who has long sat uncomfortably at the seat of “Kick King Out” only to watch the GOP frequently make excuses for the man. Now that they’ve finally conceded to doing a bare minimum slap on the wrist for him, they demand that Liberals punish every member of their party that says something wrong? Please. Steve King will be re-elected in 2020, the GOP will pretend he’s never said anything abjectly horrible before, and will continue to say “We are allowed to hate Jews, Muslims, and POC… Democrats aren’t.”

alt text

17 Minor Things That Make A Major First Impression
Photoplasty. Going through the list, I didn’t honestly connect with most of it. But I do shamefully admit that number 6 is something I can relate to.

4 Secrets Of Your Favorite Websites

4 Ways Hollywood Is Still Getting Sex Wrong
I get that parents are fucking terrified of their children discovering that sex is something more than Baby Making. But I think the United States has been on this prudish bullshit long enough to provide significant proof that “Abstinence Only Education” is about as functional at stopping STDS and Pregnancy as Give All The Guns To Everyone has been about stopping School Shootings. In a world in which American sex ed is barely allowed to mention pleasure at all, we should be honestly and frankly discussing sex from all angles. “Sex will give you a disease, get your pregnant, and ruin your life.” Is a dumb fucking message. “Sex is fun, but for many people there are a lot of emotions involved. For others, any past sexual abuse will potentially ruin their ability to have healthy sexual experiences until they recover from that abuse. Even still, consent needs to be discussed thoroughly and from an early age.” But if we actually TAUGHT any of that… parents might think we were telling their children that sex is a natural part of being human.... and HOW DARE WE?!
To the end of this article, I’d even just say Blue Valentine. I haven’t seen the movie, but the politics behind its rating grabbed my attention! In many movies, suggesting Woman Going Down on Man (or even showing Woman Going Down on Man) gives the movie a PG-13 or R rating. Ha ha, woman serving man sexually… classic. But when Blue Valentine wanted to reverse genders on Going South, the MPAA slapped an NC-17 rating on the damned thing. When the producers discussed how to get the rating down to a more theater friendly R, they were told that they “couldn’t show a woman receiving oral sex.” Really? A woman serving man, that’s Theater Friendly. A man serving woman, that’s NC-17? REALLY?!

alt text

People Call Out Trump’s Hypocrisy On National Emergency With His Own Anti-Obama Tweet
Donald Trump, in 2014, discussing a President Obama executive action relating to Immigration: “Repubs must not allow Pres Obama to subvert the Constitution of the US for his own benefit & because he is unable to negotiate w/ Congress.” Meanwhile, President Donald Trump (gag me) is going to take “extra-Constitutional steps” to declare a national emergency, circumvent congress, and pilfer the Disaster Funds for his own bullshit.

From Tony Schwartz: Trump will declare a national emergency for two reasons: he cannot ever bear to acknowledge defeat, and he is terrified of Ann Coulter. That’s it. The only emergency is in his amygdala.

alt text

This is a shitty thing to say but one thing I genuinely don’t like about my job? Telling police how to do theirs. We’re on the same team, I’m constantly telling them what I need in order to do my job and secure convictions for them. But sometimes? I mean… I do NOT want to be like my predecessor who basically just… took over investigations. That’s bullshit! I will not do that. But here’s kind of an important police work thing:
Witness claims he saw a gun being waived around at the bar.
Arrest the defendant.
Ask the witness to describe the gun.
Get a warrant for Defendant’s weapons and confiscate any gun that matches the description.
Determine if the Witness can identify the gun (if multiple fit description)
Put the gun into evidence.

My guys stopped at “Ask the witness to describe the gun.” SO… I consider that a bit of a problem as I have to prove my case BEYOND THE SHADOW OF A DOUBT… not just “Well, this guy says....” If we CAN grab the gun as evidence of a gun crime, we SHOULD grab the gun as evidence of a gun crime.

alt text

Bugger. I’m dehydrated I think and my headache is continuing. There’s work I’m doing so I’m not just… being lazy today. But yeah. Between feeling exhausted, the headache, the dry mouth… I’d rather be home right now. And no, I’m not sick. Mostly because I can’t be. My Saturday is too full for that.
Drive to Des Moines
Battle Angel Alita 3D Movie
Lunch at Joe’s Crab Shack
Dropping off Presents at Game
Drive to Ames
Dinner in Ames
Bill Engvall Comedy Show at Stephens Auditorium
Drive back home to go to bed.

Interesting aside… considering my own marriage, I often think about women married to drug addicts and the struggle they go through. How they’re always willing to give their partner “just one more chance.” The argument is that I am the same way. But, based on limited perspective, I’d have to disagree. If my wife were actively harming her body, or opting to NOT go to treatment, or spending all of our money on the very thing killing our relationship… I’d have ZERO issues walking away from that. If my wife were actively hitting me, or beating me up, or threatening me with extreme physical violence… I’d have ZERO issues walking away from that. If my wife were sleeping around, getting a reputation for being the village bicycle, or bringing random guys INTO my home… I’d have ZERO issues walking away from that. Instead… our issues are about communication, reciprocal appreciation and service, and sexual dysfunction. With the EXCEPTION of my Wife, almost every woman I ever dated had some form of sexual abuse, sexual harassment, or sexual assault in her past. Issues about Communication, Service, and Sexual Dysfunction were expected by me. I’d come to anticipate that as a “highly likely element” to marriage. So yes… the lack of marital sex and everything else that goes with it… that sucks. And yes… when I started dating Wife and discovered (1) that she had not been sexually abused; and (2) had been with 15 guys before me; and (3) was upset with her last boyfriend’s complete disinterest in her.... I rather expected something different. But out sexual dysfunction doesn’t really equate to Heroin Use or Physical Abuse or Cheating to me.

Well, I might write more today but I’m going to publish this now.

Things for the weekend:

Tonight will be exercise, soaking in the hydrotherapy tub, and early to bed.
Saturday is packed blooming solid.
Sunday? I hope to write some sexy entries in my Explicit Book, do some work (work work), play video games and… do whatever else comes to mind. Next week doesn’t look insanely awful, per se. A lot of little thing to take care of but if I can’t get those thing taken care of next week? That will make for an unfortunate brutal March 14th!!

Ugh. The “joy” of being an attorney. It feels like just last week, we were preparing for our January 7th trials and now? We’re already into March and April!!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.