Jokes on Me in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Feb. 14, 2019, 6 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Remember not too long ago that time when I was talking about my PTO balance and asking people if they’ve ever left their job before having another one lined up? Fate stepped in the way, of sorts, to serve a friendly reminder.

Friday was the first day of our Snowmaggedon Pacific Northwest Storm. Today, THURSDAY, is the first day I’ve been able to successfully get out of my apartment complex! I had to use 24 hours of PTO Monday - Wednesday because I couldn’t get to work and the stuff that needed to be done really needed to be done in the office.

Wanna know whats also funny? All last week I was feeling mentally burnt out and kept thinking to myself “I just need a week off to not have to think”. Well, I almost got that whole week, but that wasn’t exactly what I had in mind for my time off lol. Yesterday I was ready to come back.

We got soooooo much snow! My last measurement was around 17” but it snowed more after that. We aren’t equipped for that kind of snowfall around these parts! There are only 2 county plows and it took them forever just to get the main roads done. We don’t use salt. My apartment complex sent a long e-mail out yesterday saying they weren’t going to hire a contractor because they weren’t contracted with any, and all of the contractors in the area were already too busy serving their in-contract clients. Well, I don’t think that was well-received by the community because this morning they sent another e-mail saying the community was plowed overnight (but it really doesn’t look like it!). The contractor did a shit job. I did get out though due to my motivation to not have to use any more PTO, and I noticed that no one else was coming/going out of the complex this morning. My car is shit in the snow, and I was scared of sliding into someone trying to get out of the complex and vice versa. People were sliding all over yesterday and getting stuck.

I have a lot of pics on my FB of the storm/roads, so I’m not feeling very motivated to post them here as well.

Anywho, I lead a very boring life when “trapped” at home. I did manage to take the dog on a walk every day but one. One day it was just too shitty out. I also started The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (almost finished! I was gifted the series over Christmas from a book club woman, so I still have two more to go!) and completed a few puzzles.

I think my dog was more than ready for me to go back to work though. I do feel mentally refreshed though. And a little more appreciative of my employment status. I am NOT a motivated individual at home.

My therapy appointment that was supposed to be Monday was rescheduled to Saturday. Assuming we don’t get any more snow, I should be able to make that. I’m in need of it.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.