Prompt 2 - Original in Writing Prompts

  • Feb. 13, 2019, 10:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Do butterflies like butter?

The ingredients were important. Max chose them with care.
Butter was the color of sunshine. Honey the color of gold. And flowers were the colors of, well flowers.
Max had selected a dandelion bloom for his experiment because a theme seemed more sound.
He wanted an unadulterated yellow.
Even though he didn’t know that word, unadulterated, that’s what he wanted.

Sunshine was like the name. And gold was what bugs liked so there was repetition there too.
At least bees liked it, the honey. They made it. His uncle Joe said it came from their lugees.
Max paused to smile before mixing the gold and sunshine together.
Then he took some onto his finger and smooshed the bloom, splattering a bit into the air, onto his nose and face.
It tasted good he thought, licking the extra away, then dropped the bloom into a jar.
The jar already had a stick and a leaf. Its lid had a hole.
Now if only he could catch a butterfly the age-old question might be answered.


Deleted user February 15, 2019

I like butterflies want to go to a butterfly Preserve I like this writing because I can see it and I want to paint it

Siraka Deleted user ⋅ February 17, 2019

Oh thank you.
That's a very nice thing to hear.
Do you have a particular medium or style you like to pain in?
I know very little about art beyond the documentaries I've seen.

Deleted user Siraka ⋅ February 18, 2019

Well I got my hands on some acrylic paints and a few low quality canvases but I would like to switch the oil paints the problem is I need an easel because I basically live in my bedroom and I have a cat and she is very inquisitive and also destructive LOL I mean she doesn't live in the bedroom with me but I don't really have a separate room for painting

LoveSuicide February 18, 2019

I can't believe it's not butter, the butterfly thought to itself, staring blankly in horror at the realization that margarine might as well be the true nectar of it's short life. Ah, but only on its own. Butter mixed with honey had so much more authenticity to its flavor profile, the fake stuff just did not uphold. So there it is, the rub as they say, the butterfly just needs the appropriate accoutrements to favor butter, as on its own it struggled.

On its own it struggled.

Which is true to life for almost everyone, it thought.

<hr>

I dig your writing! Glad you are sharing. Best wishes!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.